Secret Society Girl (Ivy League #1)

 
0.0
 
4.7 (3)
1484 0
Secret Society Girl (Ivy League #1)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
July 18, 2006
ISBN
0385340028
Buy This Book
      
In a fabulous blend of the bestselling traditions of Prep and The Devil Wears Prada, Secret Society Girl takes us into the heart of the Ivy League’s ultraexclusive secret societies when a young woman is invited to join as one of their first female members.

Elite Eli University junior Amy Haskel never expected to be tapped into Rose & Grave, the country’s most powerful—and notorious—secret society. She isn’t rich, politically connected, or…well, male.

So when Amy receives the distinctive black-lined invitation with the Rose & Grave seal, she’s blown away. Could they really mean her?

Whisked off into an initiation rite that’s a blend of Harry Potter and Alfred Hitchcock, Amy awakens the next day to a new reality and a whole new set of “friends”—from the gorgeous son of a conservative governor to an Afrocentric lesbian activist whose society name is Thorndike. And that’s when Amy starts to discover the truth about getting what you wish for. Because Rose & Grave is quickly taking her away from her familiar world of classes and keggers, fueling a feud, and undermining a very promising friendship with benefits. And that’s before Amy finds out that her first duty as a member of Rose & Grave is to take on a conspiracy of money and power that could, quite possibly, ruin her whole life.

A smart, sexy introduction to the life and times of a young woman in way over her head, Secret Society Girl is a charming and witty debut from a writer who knows her turf—and isn’t afraid to tell all....

User reviews

3 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Not Your Average Secret Society Novel!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Stephanie

Amy Haskel is a junior at the esteemed Eli University, editor of the college literary magazine&and not much else. Which is why she is utterly surprised when she is tapped by one of the famed Eli secret societiesin fact, by THE most notorious secret society of all, Rose & Grave, for which admittance promises eternal job security, prime networking, and lifelong happiness, more or less.

Encouraged by her friend-with-benefits Brandon Weare to stop overthinking for once, Amy accepts Rose & Graves tap, and soon finds herself swept up in the strange new world of initiation and the company of people she would never have associated with if it werent for the common bond of their society: sons of governors and bitchy girls who did her wrong, for example. Surrounded by the rich, beautiful, accomplished, and famous, Amy feels extremely out of place, and wonders if she had been mistakenly tapped.

All of a sudden, a crisis descends that threatens to tear apart the whole society. Until Amys tap class, Rose & Grave had been exclusively a male-only society, and many of the old-fashioned patriarchs want to keep it that way. Amy and her new society siblings must scramble to come up with a plan that will keep Rose & Grave intact&and their futures out of the gutter.

SECRET SOCIETY GIRL marks the beginning of a series that is unlike most female-protagonist, secret-society books in that it is actually intelligent and funny. I found myself laughing out loud at many spots, and Amy is a wonderful protagonist, a girl with a backbone. Of course, there are still plenty of romantic entanglements to satisfy our natural desire for, well, desire. Im excited to pick up the next book in the series and devour it like I did this one!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Secret Societies
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by the book muncher

Wow, what a great novel. That's all I can really think of to say about this book. It was just phenomenal.


Diana Peterfreund has woven a creative story that incorporates secret societies, college life, brotherhood, and the importance of sticking up for your friends.


This novel is narrated by Amy Haskel (a.k.a. Bugaboo), an insider in the Rose & Grave secret society. As she is introduced into this society, you learn about her love life as well as her studies. I have to say that Amy's exploits are very interesting, and she is most definitely my favorite character.


Secret Society Girl and its sequal have become two of my favorite books, and I would highly recommend them.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Funny, Original, Wonderful Novel!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Jocelyn

Amy Haskel, a junior at fictional Ivy League school Eli University, thinks shes sure to be tapped for Quill & Ink, a not-exactly-secret literary society. She cant imagine that any more prestigious society would be after her. Especially Rose & Grave, the oldest and most notorious secret society in the country. After all, Rose & Grave doesnt tap women. And even if they did, it wouldnt be women like Amy. Right?

Apparently, wrong. That year is the first that Rose & Grave taps women. Including Amy. But where does she fit in? Shes not a legacy, or a leader, or a genius. Shes just...Amy Maureen Haskel, from Shaker Heights, Ohio. Editor of the schools lit magazine. Good student. But nothing special.

Taking her the advice of her friend (with benefits) Brandon to not overthink something for once, she says yes. And before she knows it, shes part of the most powerful secret society around. With the society name Bugaboo. But thats just the start of it.

I wish Id picked up SECRET SOCIETY GIRL sooner! Once I did, I was hooked. The world Diana Peterfreund creates in this novel is totally different from mine, and maybe a little far-fetched, but still completely real once you start reading. Her characters all step right off the pageeven the most minor background characters are three-dimensional. Peterfreund really breathes life into her protagonist, though! Amys voice is witty and funny and perfectly suited to the character that the (rather brilliant) author creates.

Ive been gushing about the characters so much this sounds like a character-driven book with no plot, but that would be the wrong impression. SECRET SOCIETY GIRL is nothing if not a suspenseful page-turner! Theres not a dull moment in this book. I couldnt put it down! This smart, wickedly funny novel is a new favorite of mine.

I cant wait to get my hands on the sequel, UNDER THE ROSE. Diana Peterfreunds promising debut novel can only be the tip of the iceberg where this incredibly talented writer is concerned.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The definitive collection of art, poetry, and prose, celebrating fat...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh-grader Tristan Strong feels anything but strong ever since he...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still reeling from her recent battle (and grounded until she...
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cog looks like a normal twelve-year-old boy. But his name...
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the mystical realm of Bríandalör, every day the brave...
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth installment in the Making of America series,...
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hazel knows a lot about the world. That’s because when...
Sublime Karma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Brie’s stepfather moves the family for what he...
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Promised to the Light. Hunted by the Dark. Two...
Crown of Coral and Pearl
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nor once dreamed of seeing the wondrous wealth and...
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war...
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kazi and Jase have survived, stronger and more in...
The Lady Rogue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Magician meets A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and...
A Very Pikmi Halloween (Pikmi Pops)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pikmi Pops(TM) are the latest collectible craze! Join these cute...

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"Tristan Strong isn't doing too well. He lost his best friend, Eddie, in a bus accident, lost a boxing match,..."
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
"Cog looks like an ordinary twelve year old boy, but he is an advanced android that the scientists at uniMind..."
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
"Hazel lives on a farm with her two mothers and her older brother Rowan. They have a heard of goats..."
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
"Albiorix is a young Medieval wizard from the mystical realm of Bríandalör who is Hall Master for the role playing..."
The Owls Have Come to Take Us Away
 
3.0
"THE OWLS HAVE COME TO TAKE US AWAY is a middle grade sci-fi/horror (though not too scary) that follows a..."
A Very Pikmi Halloween (Pikmi Pops)
 
4.0
"Celebrate Halloween with the Pikmi Pops in this cute story about friendship. Wubbs the Bat and Vampy the Bat are..."
Apocalypse Taco
 
4.0
"APOCALYPSE TACO is a horror graphic novel that follows two middle school aged boys, Axl and Ivan. Axl and Ivan..."
Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue
 
4.0
"Kitty wants to be a superhero like her mom, but she's afraid to go out in the dark. Her mom..."
Little Penguin's New Friend
 
4.0
"'Little Penguin's New Friend' by Tadgh Bentley is a cute story about the making of a friendship despite misconceptions about..."
Naked Mole Rat Saves the World
 
4.0
"NAKED MOLE RAT SAVES THE WORLD tells the story of kit, whose name is lowercase because she was too small..."
The 12th Candle
 
4.0
"Sage lives out west in the town of Goldview, and her family is cursed. Years ago, her mother and her..."
Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball (Amelia Fang, #1)
 
4.0
"AMELIA FANG AND THE BARBARIC BALL is the first book in the Amelia Fang series, a fantasy/magical middle grade series..."
Amelia Fang and the Unicorns of Glitteropolis (Amelia Fang, #2)
 
4.5
"AMELIA FANG AND THE UNICORNS OF GLITTEROPOLIS is ultimately about harmful stereotypes, problems with misinformation, and the subversion of overly..."
Small World
 
5.0
"SMALL WORLD is a gorgeous celebration of growing up and following your dreams. When Nanda was born, her world was..."
On the First Day of Summer Vacation
 
3.5
"ON THE FIRST DAY OF SUMMER VACATION uses the tune of The 12 Days of Christmas to present the fun..."
Ada Twist and the Perilous Pants (The Questioneers, #2)
 
5.0
"Budding scientists, rejoice! The Questioneers is the perfect series to show you the how and to have some extra scientific..."
Bad Bella
 
4.0
"Bella lives with the McBrides, who have several small children and often forget Bella's needs. She gets in trouble for..."
Dear Justice League
 
5.0
"In this short, middle grade graphic novel, DC superheroes from the Justice League answer e mails from young fans. Superman..."
Shake It Off! (Wish #8)
 
4.0
"Bria has made some poor choices concerning friends and social media back home in Chicago, so her parents have decided..."
Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
 
4.0
"BABIES CAN SLEEP ANYWHERE is a cute rhyming book about sleep. The book goes through where animals sleep (e.g. puppy..."