Overnight Sensation

 
5.0
 
1.0 (1)
1692 0
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
ISBN
0451217586
Buy This Book
      

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Pop singers, butt cleavage, and boyfriends - Oh my!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Trace, first introduced to us in So Lyrical is back again and this time shes a regular Overnight Sensation. Shes finally on her way for a visit with her dad Shamus where shes determined to spiritually bond with her long-last parent. There are lots of things to distract her from her mission, however.

For one, theres Zander, whos accompanying her on the trip. Ever since their brief breakup in book number 1, Trace has been acting on her best behavior, waiting for the other shoe to drop. Shes trying to be the perfect girlfriend, which basically means shes just not being herself. She grits her teeth whenever he does something that annoys her and generally just puts a smile on even though shes seething inside in a sea of resentment (note to girls: dont ever do this to yourself! Remember, if they dont like you for who you really are, it just aint worth it).

Then, theres her dads job. She *thought* he was a washed up musician, but it turns out hes the producer of the latest hot new pop idol, Kandy. Who, of course, Trace cant stand. His new gig is to produce a reality TV show paring Kandy with another musician: Caden, one of the bad boys of rock.

Trace makes a good friend named K.C&.who, as luck would have it, turns out to really be Kandy (without all her makeup)! I feel comfortable giving that plot point away, since the readers not at all surprised to find that out. Trace can be a little thick sometimes when shes concentrating on other things&like her Zander angst and various other hot guys.

A lot of hilarity ensues, including a DDR dance off, and a wacky club scene where Trace winds up dressed in skin-tight leather and covered in oil. Oh, and splashed across the Internet with her butt hanging out of her pants.

If you liked So Lyrical, youll love Overnight Sensation. However, you dont have to have read the first book to enjoy this one. Recommended for girls of all ages, but especially those age 14 and up or anyone dealing with their own relationship issues. You cant help but laugh out loud, even when you want to give Trace a shake and tell her to Get a grip, girl!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overcooked Sensation
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot 
 
1.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by safia

This sequel to So Lyrical is a bit overdone with Trace visiting her long-lost father in LA, where he's a big-time producer of the latest teen pop sensation, Kandy Kane. Trace brings along her boyfriend and they fight, fight, fight. Trace somehow ends up revealing her butt cleavage on national television after falling on top of Kandy Kane. Blah, blab, blah...

Overall, it's too predictable and a big YAWN. So Lyrical was soooo much better.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...

Latest Member Reviews

The Twin
 
3.7
"When Ivy and Iris were ten, their parents divorced. Ivy lived with their father and Iris with their mother. Then..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."