Anacaona: Golden Flower, Haiti, 1490 (The Royal Diaries)

 
4.0
 
4.7 (2)
3049 0
Anacaona: Golden Flower, Haiti, 1490 (The Royal Diaries)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
April 01, 2005
ISBN
0439499062
Buy This Book
      
With her signature narrative grace, Edwidge Danticat brings Haiti's beautiful queen Anacaona to life. Queen Anacaona was the wife of one of her island's rulers, and a composer of songs and poems, making her popular among her people. Haiti was relatively quiet until the Spanish conquistadors discovered the island and began to settle there in 1492. The Spaniards treated the natives very cruelly, and when the natives revolted, the Spanish governor of Haiti ordered the arrests of several native nobles, including Anacaona, who was eventually captured and executed, to the horror of her people.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The 'Noble and Good' Flower of her people
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Anacaona, a poem and song composer is raised along with Behechio, to become a ruler of their people, the Xaraguá (part of modern day Haiti). She is popular among her people, and is also called “Golden Flower.” The Xaraguá, as well as the tribes around them are known as the Taíno, which in their language mean "noble and good." The Xaraguá live in harmony and treat each other as well as other tribes with respect. But when the Kalinas, a fierce group from another area attack and raid the Xaraguás and others near them, she asks permission from the ruler of the Xaraguás, Matunherí, to train warriors for protection. But soon Anacaona will see that there are more dangers out there besides the Kalinas.

After her coming of age ceremony, the cacique (ruler) of Maguana, Caonabó, expresses his interest in marrying her. Should she accept? Being a ruler and being the wife of a ruler are two different things. Anacaona has feelings for Caonabó, but is she willing to leave her beloved Xaraguá? Anacaona chooses to marry Caonabó, leaving the leadership of the Xaraguá to Behechio. Anacaona must adjust to life in Maguana; she is happy with her new life, and soon has a daughter which Anacana and her husband names Higuamota.

Just as everything seems to be going smoothly, there is news of “pale men” in another region. Are they threats or just spirits? Whoever they are, the lives of the Taíno people are changed forever. When these “pale men” frighten Taíno people with “lightening sticks” and demand more and more gold, Anacaona, Caonabó, and Manicaotex take action. Anacaona, Caonabó, Manicaotex and their warriors must use wits to defeat the “pale men” who have superior technology and weapons. But will they succeed? And if they do, how long will their victory last? Can Anacaona and the Taíno people avoid the “pale men” for long? Read this Royal Diary to find out!

The Royal Diaries: Anacaona, was pretty good and quite interesting. It gives readers a snapshot of life in Haiti before the 1500’s. Anacaona is a brave, compassionate, and strong figure that her people admire. The author does a good job bringing this part of Anacaona’s life alive. If you liked other books in The Royal Diaries series, you may enjoy this one. However, this addition to the Royal Diaries series has some violence and graphical scenes—I wouldn’t recommend it to younger readers.
D2
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (2)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Anacoana The golden flower
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
It is a great book but Parents should be advise their are scenes where it may not be suitable for younger audiences
Good Points
Anacoana a poem and song writer live in a place in Haiti.She is to raised to be a ruler in the place she is raised.Anacoana is loved by her people. She is married off to Caonaba who is a chief.When white men comes to the place where she live and they start to attack her people.Eventually she is killed by the white settlers kill her.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
The golden flower of her people
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Jessica M.

The story takes place in Haiti in the 1490's. The main character, of course, is Anacaona. She, along with her brother Behechio are to be chosen either cacia or cacique by their uncle. Anacaona tells about her everday life in her personal "journal". She is always full of concern about her people. Though she is married off to Chief Canonabo` later in the book, she still has her new people's best interest at heart. This is why Anacaona grew to be a great leader. Even though she had an early death, her life was still intriguing. Anyone who is a big fan of this series should read this book.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...

Latest Member Reviews

Bird Show
 
4.3
"If birds had a fashion show, they would show off their unique plumage! BIRD SHOW is a brightly colored book..."
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
"MY BOOK OF FEELINGS is a great conversation starter for emotions with toddlers. The book features spinning emoji faces of..."
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
"A wonderful book about an amazing woman. The Story: Kamala Harris has lived quite the life. Raised as..."
What's Inside a Flower?
 
4.7
"WHAT'S INSIDE A FLOWER? is a gorgeously illustrated non-fiction picture book read about flowers. The book covers the basics from..."
Raven Squawk, Orca Squeak
 
4.7
"RAVEN SQUAWK, ORCA SQUEAK is a gorgeously illustrated board book that explores a bit of nature through texture, sounds, and..."
Speak Up
 
5.0
"A wonderful story to teach kids a powerful lesson. They can make a difference. Their voice matters. "Speak..."
Life in a Frozen World: Wildlife of Antarctica
 
5.0
"What a fascinating book. Life in a Frozen World delves into the world of Antartica where animals struggle against..."
William Still and His Freedom Stories
 
5.0
"We all know some of the bigger names of the Underground Railroad but there are so many amazing stories of..."
Ensnared in the Wolf's Lair: Inside the 1944 Plot to Kill Hitler and the Ghost Children of His Revenge
 
5.0
"Hitler's rise to power and his stranglehold on the German people is something that has been all too much in..."
The Dog Patrol: Our Canine Companions and the Kids Who Protect Them
 
5.0
"This short, well photo-illustrated book packs a lot of information into its pages! It covers the major topics of dog..."
My First 100 Space Words
 
3.3
"MY FIRST 100 SPACE WORDS is a cute, illustrated collection of space-related words, including planet names, satellites, space junk, and..."
The ABCs of Black History
 
5.0
"THE ABCS OF BLACK HISTORY is a fantastic picture book of a poetic walk through the alphabet related to Black..."
Incredible Animals
 
5.0
"INCREDIBLE ANIMALS is a fascinating collection of animals by special skills, including clever camouflage, devoted parents (such as penguins), and..."
Eyelike Stickers: Trains
 
5.0
"EYELIKE STICKERS: TRAINS is an unbelievably cool collection of stickers. These 400 stickers include many photographs of trains, as well..."
Amazing Places
 
4.7
"AMAZING PLACES is a delightful exploration of 15 manmade wonders, including the Taj Mahal, pyramids, and Moai (Easter Island). The..."
About Seabirds: A Guide for Children
 
5.0
"'About Seabirds: A Guide for Children' by Cathryn Sill, illustrated by John Sill, lends credibility to the power of nature..."
The Cat in the Box
 
3.3
"THE CAT IN THE BOX attempts to explain Schrodinger's work regarding quantum paradox. While the original thought experiment explained this,..."
5-Minute Really True Stories for Bedtime: 30 Amazing Stories: Featuring frozen frogs, King Tut’s beds, the world's biggest sleepover, the phases of the moon, and more
 
5.0
"5 MINUTE REALLY TRUE STORIES FOR BEDTIME is a very cool collection of bedtime themed stories. It spans topics from..."
Earth-Shattering Events: Volcanoes, earthquakes, cyclones, tsunamis and other natural disasters
 
5.0
"Earth-Shattering Events by Robin Jacobs is a wonderfully thought-out book that details different natural disasters: what they are, how we..."
Gut Garden: A journey into the wonderful world of your microbiome
 
4.7
"Gut Garden by Katie Brosnan is a well-thought out journey through our digestive system, introducing kids to the bacteria and..."