Peter and the Starcatchers

 
0.0
 
4.8 (4)
1499 0
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
ISBN
0786854456
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

4 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Prequel to Peter Pan
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Seth Linn

Prequel to Peter Pan by Seth Linn


 Peter and the Starcatchers, a national bestseller by Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson, takes place on the island of Mollusk. This book is a prequel to the story of Peter Pan. It tells how Peter Pan learned to fly. Although this is the story of Peter Pan, it is much darker than the original Disney version.


      As I said the book takes place on the island of Mollusk, as known by the natives. Peter and the Lost Boys are there because their ship, the Never Land, sunk in a horrible storm. There was a trunk aboard, and a girl named Molly believes it is on the island. Molly and Peter, however, are not the only ones after the trunk. Black Stache, a feared pirate, and Mr. Slank, first officer of the Never Land are both after it.


       Peter is a very unique character. He is battling all these people and he doesnt even know it. He has a great burden on his shoulders because he is the leader of the Lost Boys and feels responsible for all of them, especially the youngest ones, Thomas and Prentiss. Peter is full of emotions, from rage and fear to countless others, though he doesnt show them because he needs to look tough for the Lost Boys.


        If you enjoy action, you should definitely consider this book because many occasions could be classified as the climax, only to come to an even more action-packed part. If you would like to know more about Peter Pan, where he came from, and what hes like, then you should read it. If you enjoy fantasies with magical creatures, then this is the book for you. All in all, I believe this is a must read for action fans and Peter Pan fans.   

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
a phenomenal prequel!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Abi

Ever wonder exactly how Peter ended up in Never Never land? Why he could fly? Where the mermaids came from? How that crocodile came to be so huge? Why Peter never ages? This book explains it all! The prequel to Peter Pan, this lovely story tells the tale of an Orphan named Peter and his friends, a girl named Polly, a secret society, and a magical substance called "starstuff".

This is a long one, a good rainy day kind of book. It's a cute story that people of most ages would appreciate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Story Behind the Story
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Leah



Ever asked yourself how Peter Pan came to be? How the island is magical? How mermaids borned? Well Peter and the Starcatchers is exactly that. The answer to all of your questions about how Neverland came to be and How the lost boys were formed. There is a more "scienctific" if you can even call it that, expelenation on why Peter never grows up and the origin of the feud between him and Capt. Hook. Peter is an orphan being shipped to a new land. No one knows however that there is a magnifiscent treasure on board as well. The rivaling boat that covets the treasure tries to get it with no avail, they both end up on a mysterious island searching for the trunk with the magical start dust with wonderus powers. Funny and MAgicall!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
This is the back story...
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by librariane

Like Peter Pan? Like Pirates of the Caribbean? Then grab this book and block off a few hours to enjoy this in one sitting! It does read quickly and is rather fun. Barry and Pearson take the traditional story of Peter Pan and give it a bit of a twist. Many things of how Peter came to be a flying boy who never grew up are explained, as well as the mermaids, Neverland and the pirate who is most often known as Captain Hook. The characters are all delightful, there is plenty of humor and the storyline is unique, yet familiar (is that possible?). Im putting this in the YA area of the library for a few minor details (the pirates have a secret weapon: a sail in the shape of a bustier) and because they may enjoy the text more.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"If you've already read Wind's great novel, Queer as a Five Dollar Bill (2019), you know that there is solid..."
Singled Out: The True Story of Glenn Burke
 
4.5
"Maraniss, whose Strong Inside covered Black basketball player Perry Wallace, turns his incredible research skills the the story of Glenn..."
The Train Your Brain Mind Exercise: 156 Puzzles for a Superior Mind
 
3.0
"The book sets expectations a bit high by touting the claim of unique puzzles for all skill levels, with a..."
Goodbye: A Story of Suicide
 
3.0
"A (quasi-creative?) non-fiction graphic novel, aimed at a Middle Grade or lower YA audience. It addresses the topic of bullying..."
1789: Twelve Authors Explore a Year of Rebellion, Revolution, & Change
 
4.0
"What worked: Fascination collection of essays that show the impact of the year 1789 in the world.In this anthology, twelve..."
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
"A compilation of excerpts from fifteen noteworthy speeches, selected from across American history. The chosen pieces represent great variety,..."
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Sabina: In the Eye of the Storm
 
5.0
"'Sabina: In the Eye of the Storm' by Bella Kuligowska Zucker is an incredibly moving tale of the author's search..."
Beauty Mark: A Verse Novel of Marilyn Monroe
 
5.0
"What worked: Haunting, tragic tale of the life of Marilyn Monroe, told in verse which gives a powerful punch to..."
Hope in the Mail: Reflections on Writing and Life
 
5.0
"HOPE IN THE MAIL is an autobiographical account of the author’s life as it relates to her writing. Wendelin Van..."
Super Sons: The PolarShield Project
 
3.0
"An alternate reality take on the Super Sons series, featuring the middle-school aged offspring of Batman and Superman. When "climate..."
You Too?: 25 Voices Share Their #MeToo Stories
 
4.0
"What worked: Great compilation of personal essays inspired by the #YouToo movement. Each of the authors included in this anthology..."
This Is 18
 
5.0
"This is a fascinating view into what it's like to be a 18 year old girl throughout the world shown..."
They Called Us Enemy
 
4.0
"This graphic novel is an early life personal account of a major historical event (the internment of Japanese Americans durring..."
Poems to Live Your Life By
 
4.0
"POEMS TO LIVE YOUR LIFE BY is a collection in which each poem has been hand-picked by Chris Riddell, for..."
Breaking Through: How Female Athletes Shattered Stereotypes in the Roaring Twenties
 
5.0
"One hundred years ago. When I was growing up, this seemed like an impossibly long time in the past. The..."
No Map, Great Trip: A Young Writer's Road to Page One
 
4.0
"'No Map, Great Trip: A Young Writer's Road to Page One' by Paul Fleischman tells the story of the author..."
When the World Didn’t End: Poems
 
4.0
"Caroline Kaufman, otherwise known as @poeticpoison, has published her latest poems in WHEN THE WORLD DIDN’T END. The collection, which..."
Suffragette: The Battle for Equality
 
4.0
"While there are a number of excellent books about women's suffrage available, including Kops' Alice Paul, Zimet's Roses and Radicals,..."
Imperfect: A Story of Body Image
 
3.5
"A memoir in graphic novel form, offering the personal account of a young Muslim girl’s nearly lifelong battle with perception,..."