Rhymes With Witches

 
0.0
 
3.5 (6)
1501 0
Age Range
14+
ISBN
0810958597
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

6 reviews

 
(3)
 
(1)
3 stars
 
(0)
2 stars
 
(0)
 
(2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
View most helpful
Rhymes with Ducks...:(
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot 
 
1.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by MssJos

To be honest, when I picked up this book it was because I thought the cover and title were intriguinig. My gut said "don't do it, put it back, you won't like it." Unfortunately, my gut was right.

Here's what got me, the tag-line on the cover said "A creepy, can't-put-it-down thriller." And Lauren Myracle is a a NY Times best selling author right?

However, despite the promise on the cover, I found I could easily put this book down. And I did, about six different times (which is a lot for me as I usually read YA novels in one or two sittings). And I found myself skimming just to get through it! Skimming! ME! I NEVER SKIM! Sometimes I even read books twice to be sure I have consumed every single word! (You find a lot of typos this way too actually). Anyways, needless to say, I wasn't impressed.

Jane is a freshmen in high school who feels as if she is invisible to the popular crowd. Infact, she spends most of her lunch periods hiding in the library reading the Ramona books we all loved as kids. Despite this, she somehow gains the attention of the "Bitches" the most popular clique in school. Before long, Jane is inducted, but she soon realizes that there is more to maintaining popularity than she was prepared for. (Sound familiar anyone?) Turns out, the "Bitches" are using some freaky black magic that involves a crazy teacher and some feral cats. The most important rule of the group is to ciphon out someone else's popularity in order to gain more of their own. As Jane puts it: "For one to rise, another must fall." Jane has to decide h0w much she is willing to take from someone else to maintain her own popularity.

Okay, so besides the fact that we all feel like we have heard this somewhere before, this book sounds okay right? Wrong. The whole time I was reading, I felt like the author had watched Mean Girls, The Craft, and maybe even Jawbreaker all in one afternoon and then sat down and chugged this novel out. (The author actually cites Flowers for Algernon as her inspiration). Sigh. I have a hard time giving books negative reviews and generally I can find something positive to say about most every book I read--not really the case with this one. It was predictable and in some places just inconsistent and weird. Like for instance, Jane's dad has been out of the country "finding himself" for three years and now her mom is riding around on a motorcycle with a woman named Kitty...see what I mean?

Maybe if I was in Myracle's intended audience's age-range, say 14ish, I might have enjoyed this. Or not. The only redeeming qualities came in the form of Bitsy, a member of the "Bitches" with an English accent, and the breakdown of the sections (Beg, Speak, Roll Over). Jane had so much potential as a character but Myracle never really tapped in to it fully... Like I said, it just seemed like a familiar story and Myracle's attempts at being creative and original came in some strange and awkward forms.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Worst Book I Have Ever Read
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot 
 
1.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by ema

This book is about a girl who wants to be popular, until she learns the price. In her school it doesn't mean making fun of someone and dressing the right way. Oh no. In her school it means doing something evil.

When i started out reading this book I thought it was a clever take on an old story. But something happens in the middle of the book. It's like the author got tired of writing it and wanted to wrap it up quickly. The ending is horrible and it leaves loose ends. It doesn't even make sense. It was extremaly disapointing and in my opinion the worst book i have ever read. (And that is saying something)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
READ IT
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by anna

omg you have ni idea how good this book is untill you read it! its one of my favorites and i would read it again i hope there is another one coming out soon=]





Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Clever title...but not as good as it sounds
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Grace

Rhymes with Witches, by Lauren Myracle, is a dark story about the school's most popular, admired, and feared girls: the Bitches. Jane, an "invisible", unpopular girl worships and wants to be one of them, just like all the other girls in school. But, when she surprisingly is chosen by the Bitches to become one of them, she has to unwillingly pay a price. Will she endure it, or go against the Bitches?

First of all, I think this book has an AWESOME title. It has a double meaning, if you didn't already get it: it's about witches AND the Bitches, which is the word that rhymes with witches ;) But, after that, and the beginning of the story, this book isn't all that good. It started out really well and scary, but at the end, it just...ended. Not very well. And I don't really understand the plot of the story, what happens at the end and what it all is supposed to mean.

But that's just my opinion. I suggest that you read this book for yourself and find out what you think about it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
AWSOME!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by juana del angulo

What if the ruling teen queens at your school really were, well, witches? And not the Glinda the Good kind, either. Lauren Myracle assumes this sinister premise in the darkly humorous Rhymes with Witches. High school freshman Jane is more than plain -- shes practically invisible. And she longs for nothing more than to join the ranks of the Bitches, the top female echelon at school. But the Bitches are selective, and only one girl from each class is chosen to rule supreme. So Jane is puzzled but ecstatic when the Bitches name her their freshman successor. Soon she is being worshipped by all kinds of beautiful people who didnt even know her name last week. But as Jane soon realizes, it isnt easy being a Bitch. She is informed by her new "sisters" that there are certain sacrifices to be made -- sacrifices that could wreck high school havoc and ruin lives. Is Jane willing to do anything to stay on the top of the popularity heap? Or will she risk it all to save innocent others from the clutching claws of the Bitches? Part I Know What You Did Last Summer and part Heathers, Rhymes with Witches builds slowly, but the incredibly creepy climax will leave many female readers glancing nervously over their shoulders at the so-called popular set. Meow! (Ages 12 and up)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Awesome!!!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Kristen Danielle

This book was so awesome!!! ok, so Jane really wnts to be popular, but she's practically invisible, until the Bitches (the most popular girls from schol) notice her. They first give her a test run at a party, and she passes. So they tell her she's in, as long as every week she makes a sacrifice. But not one of tose creepy things that killing baby lambs or anything. she has to steal sumthing from a girl every week and deposite it on the desk of Lurl the Pearl (a teacher). By doing this this weill take away the other girls popularity and it will be bestowed upon you. After a few weeks of this, she cant take seeing what her popularity is doing to other people and trys to set everything straight. Altho, if she does undo waht she's done, she will once again be invisable... what's a girl to do?
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...

Latest Member Reviews

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."