Absolutely, Positively Not

 
5.0
 
4.0 (3)
2685 0
Absolutely, Positively Not
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
June 01, 2005
ISBN
0439591090
Buy This Book
      
There is one thing Steven knows for sure: He's absolutely, positively NOT gay.

Steven's a 16-year-old boy with two obsessions: sex and getting his driving license. The problem is, Steven's not thinking girls when he's thinking sex. Could he be -- don't say it -- gay? Steven sets out to get in touch with his inner he-man with Healthy Heterosexual Strategies such as "Start Hanging Out with the Guys," and "Begin Intensive Dating." But are Steven's tactics going to straighten him out, or leave him all twisted up?

Absolutely hilarious. Positively sidesplitting. But absolutely, positively NOT GAY!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Absolutely, positively funny
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Absolutely, Positively Not handles a weighty issue in a funny manner. Steven is absolutely, positively sure that hes not gay. He cant be, right? I mean, after all, he makes sure to collect magazine clippings of voluptuous girls in bikinis (pay no attention to the mens underwear catalog stashed under the bed) and tries his hardest to hang out with the jocks (though he really doesnt get how they can eat the way they do&so disgusting&).

When he cant help but keep noticing how handsome Coach Bowman is (but wouldnt anyone??), he decides some drastic action is needed. He must go forth and date. A lot. So embarks a quest wherein he dates some of the most popular girls in school. Shoot, after awhile, they start calling him. But&can you really call it a date when youre providing a shoulder to cry on or helping them with their studying or cleaning out their basements?

Meanwhile, hes also got other drama in his life like getting his drivers license. He fails the test&more than once. And winds up taking a dog (no, not an ugly girl&what are you thinking?? An actual dog&Kelly, his best friend Rachels dog) to a fancy dance.

When he can finally admit to himself that, okay, maybe he is possibly gay, he then has to figure out how to tell his best friend and his parents. Rachel, who he tackles first, makes it easy. Steven! Its about time! she screams and even her parents congratulate him on finally going public. Steven can hardly comprehend it. How in the world did Rachels entire family know he was gay when he was so absolutely positively sure he wasnt?

By the end of the book, Steven has found that it takes being true to yourself to be a real man and honesty, while not necessarily easy, is always the best policy.

I really enjoyed this book. I think theres something to be said for humor and others have definitely agreed: the book won the Sid Fleischman Humor Award. Stevens problems are very real and he finds solutions for them while readers are entertained greatly along the way. I think youll like Steven, no matter your personal orientation. Recommended for readers aged 12 and up. Even though the topic is coming out, the tone is light.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

3 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Funny
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Samantha Watt

I had to read this for the Reading Bowl and my goodness this was great!

It was so funny like thoughout the book till the end that he tried to find ways to tell himself that he wasn't gay.

He was though, and I like the ending where there was someone else in his school. It was sweet.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
it was kinda ok
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Ruth

it was funny..i can tell you that. the plot was unclear at first. the books is all about accepting and learning about yourself.it also talks about teens and just in general how people are afraid about the image they portray to the outside world. the books shows how people shouldn't care about what other people say. if you think that sounds interesting then read it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Absolutely, Positively Not Not
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Aisha

I just read this book today and it was very good. I've read a lot of YA queer fiction, and I wasn't quite sure what to think when halfway through, the main character was still trying to convince himself he wasn't gay.

It's a really light read, nothing too heavy -- no falling in love, nothing ultradramatic, just a sixteen year old boy discovering something he always knew about himself -- with a twist.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."