Hawkes Harbor

Hawkes Harbor
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
16+
Release Date
September 01, 2004
ISBN
0765305631
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

1 review
Already have an account? or Create an account
Wicked
Overall rating
 
4.0
Plot
 
4.0
Characters
 
0.0
Writing Style
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Bookworm9

Through an unchronological narrative, readers meet Jamie Sommers, a young man with quite a past. After leaving an orphanage and spending years at sea as a quasi-pirate, Jamie becomes a servant for the mysterious Grenville Hawkes. During this service, he is shot by police during an apparent kidnapping attempt, and is eventually commited to a mental hospital, where his doctor is perplexed by Jamie's peculiar behavior. Jamie himself can't remember much of his past-- but he'll have to confront it.

I won't reveal the plot twists of this book, but it certainly has many. Fans of "The Outsiders" and Hinton's other YA novels shouls not expect this one to be similar...it's definitely an adult book. But for older Hinton fans who appreciate her troubled but likable young men characters, this is an interesting read.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0