The Bone Spindle (The Bone Spindle #1)

The Bone Spindle (The Bone Spindle #1)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
January 11, 2022
ISBN
978-0593325827
Buy This Book
      
Sleeping Beauty meets Indiana Jones in this thrilling fairytale retelling for fans of Sorcery of Thorns and The Cruel Prince.

Fi is a bookish treasure hunter with a knack for ruins and riddles, who definitely doesn’t believe in true love.

Shane is a tough-as-dirt girl warrior from the north who likes cracking skulls, pretty girls, and doing things her own way.

Briar Rose is a prince under a sleeping curse, who’s been waiting a hundred years for the kiss that will wake him.

Cursed princes are nothing but ancient history to Fi—until she pricks her finger on a bone spindle while exploring a long-lost ruin. Now she’s stuck with the spirit of Briar Rose until she and Shane can break the century-old curse on his kingdom.

Dark magic, Witch Hunters, and bad exes all stand in her way—not to mention a mysterious witch who might wind up stealing Shane’s heart, along with whatever else she’s after. But nothing scares Fi more than the possibility of falling in love with Briar Rose.

Set in a lush world inspired by beloved fairytales, The Bone Spindle is a fast-paced young adult fantasy full of adventure, romance, found family, and snark.

Editor review

1 review
The Bone Spindle is an in-depth treasure hunt with a swoon worthy romance.
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot
 
5.0
Characters
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
What I loved:
The Bone Spindle is the first book in a Sleeping Beauty retelling with a twist. The twist is that our sleeping beauty is a man, destined to wake him is a female doomed by a mysterious butterfly curse. Fi and Shane are treasure hunters, and the whole story surrounding the briar rose (our sleeping beauty) is told as they hunt for magical treasure. Both have fled from lives they did not want, one bearing a curse, one carrying a broken heart. The twists that happen besides the obvious are almost anticipated but not quite. The emotional journey you take as you read about these characters can be overwhelming in some cases. You may need to tread lightly in some aspects of the story.
Final Verdict:
The magic and world-building as the lay of the land are described brilliantly. I could see the castle and the forest of the thorns that had to be transversed to get to Briar Rose. I enjoyed this retelling and am excited to see where the rest of this series goes.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account