Horror Hotel

Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 01, 2022
ISBN
9780593483480
Buy This Book
      
This addictive YA horror about a group of teen ghost hunters who spend the night in a haunted LA hotel is The Blair Witch Project for the TikTok generation.

When the YouTube-famous Ghost Gang—Chrissy, Chase, Emma, and Kiki—visit a haunted LA hotel notorious for tragedy to secretly film after dark, they expect it to be just like their previous paranormal huntings. Spooky enough to attract subscribers—and ultimately harmless.

But when they stumble upon something unexpected in the former room of a gruesome serial killer, they quickly realize that they’re in over their heads.

Sometimes, it’s the dead who need our help—and the living we should fear.

Underlined is a line of totally addictive romance, thriller, and horror paperback original titles coming to you fast and furious each month. Enjoy everything you want to read the way you want to read it.

Editor review

1 review
Love letter to teen slasher movies
Overall rating
 
3.0
Plot
 
3.0
Characters
 
3.0
Writing Style
 
3.0
Chrissy, Chase, Kiki, and Emma run a YouTube channel dedicating to haunted locations and terrifying stories. Chrissy is psychic, which in her case means she can see the dead and get a read on the thoughts of the living. When they select an infamous LA hotel as their next video shoot in order to get more subscribers, Chrissy is hesitant but on board. Once they arrive, they quickly realize just how haunted and dangerous the hotel is. The hotel isn't just known for a past murderer under its roof. There's one active now.

HORROR HOTEL is a love letter to teen slasher films and includes a fun paranormal twist. What I loved most about this story is how deeply Chrissy feels for the girls and women who were murdered. Even from the beginning, we are introduced to the hotel as the location of where a young woman was killed rather than the location of a mass murderer. Throughout the story, we get little glimpses of Eileen and other victims' lives and personalities. They become the center and hold the most importance, which isn't always common in horror/crime dramas.

While HORROR HOTEL was entertaining and did a great job centering the victims, the main character voices were sometimes hard to distinguish. I had to flip back to the chapter headings to double check whose POV we were in several times. The plot was on the predictable side, especially with the identity of the killer, but it was still lots of fun getting there. For readers new to horror or to the slasher genre, this is a great, accessible entry point.

HORROR HOTEL combines high entertainment with a weighty respect for the departed and ties everything together with a perfect dash of romance. Recommended for fans of CLOWN IN A CORNFIELD and A GOOD GIRL'S GUIDE TO MURDER
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account