Killer Content

New
Killer Content
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
November 30, 2021
ISBN
978-0593427491
Buy This Book
      
Knives Out meets One of Us is Lying! In this twisty thriller a group of famous TikTokers begin turning on each other when one member is found dead at their beachfront Malibu mansion.

35 million followers. One dead body.

The six teenagers who make up the Lit Lair have it made. A beachfront mansion, millions of followers, stunning good looks, and sponsorship deals worth more money than they ever dreamed. They live together, making videos about their perfect lives.

Except it’s not so perfect after one of them turns up dead in the infinity pool. When the group TikTok account starts posting cryptic messages, the police stop looking outside the house for suspects—and start looking straight at them. Everyone in the Lit Lair had reasons why their lives would have been easier without Sydney Reynolds.

But only one of them killed her.

Underlined is a line of totally addictive romance, thriller, and horror titles coming to you fast and furious each month. Enjoy everything you want to read the way you want to read it.

Editor review

1 review
intriguing social media thriller
Overall rating
 
3.7
Plot
 
3.0
Characters
 
4.0
Writing Style
 
4.0
KILLER CONTENT is an intriguing YA murder-mystery. The Lit Lair is a house where TikTok stars live together, making paid promotional content and growing their follower counts. We know that someone from the house has been arrested - and that there has been a suspicious death of one of the members. The book goes back in time to track the 5 people living in the house before and after the death, as the police investigate - and all of them are suspects.

What I loved: This was a really intriguing read, as we track before and after the death, how they deal with it and all the secrets they are keeping. As the case heats up, it really seems like anyone could have done it or been involved. With the TikTok videos they are making and those that keep getting posted, it adds an extra element of influencer sabotage that is interesting to follow. The clues do pile up, and astute readers can figure out some of the reveals before they happen, which is always fun in a murder-mystery. While there are multiple characters and perspectives, it is pretty easy to quickly discern and remember the different players, which works well with the plot.

What left me wanting more: It felt a bit long in the middle, as some of the drama gets drawn out while we are waiting to figure out who did it. I also would have enjoyed having the whodunnit perspective earlier to add some of the thrill behind the crime. We get this perspective later, once you know who did it and they begin to discuss, but some of the dangling (anonymous, to keep the surprise) would have drawn this out more and kept the reader focused on the main plot and eager for the reveal.

Final verdict: Overall, KILLER CONTENT was an intriguing YA thriller with an influencer twist. Recommend for fans of PRETTY LITTLE LIARS, ONE OF US IS LYING, and EVEN IF WE BREAK.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account