This Woven Kingdom

This Woven Kingdom
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
February 01, 2022
ISBN
978-0062972446
Buy This Book
      
Clashing empires, forbidden romance, and a long-forgotten queen destined to save her people—bestselling author Tahereh Mafi’s first in an epic, romantic trilogy inspired by Persian mythology.

To all the world, Alizeh is a disposable servant, not the long-lost heir to an ancient Jinn kingdom forced to hide in plain sight.

The crown prince, Kamran, has heard the prophecies foretelling the death of his king. But he could never have imagined that the servant girl with the strange eyes, the girl he can’t put out of his mind, would one day soon uproot his kingdom—and the world.

Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Tomi Adeyemi, and Sabaa Tahir, this is the explosive first book in a new fantasy trilogy from the New York Times bestselling and National Book Award-nominated author Tahereh Mafi.

Editor review

1 review
This book is an adventure in cultural differences and magic.
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot
 
5.0
Characters
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
What I loved. This Woven Kingdom is written with such detail that you want to keep reading from the first page to the last that you don't put the book down until the final heart-wrenching words. So engaging is the book. I read it in one day, and that is not easy for a 512-page book. The author has a way of painting the scenes, so you feel your right in the story watching as it unfolds in your mind. The war between Jinn and Clay has many twists and turns, and the characters have many layers that you keep engaged and guessing the whole time.

What Left Me Wanting More: I wanted more of the backstory between the Jinn and Clay. Clay is the humans in this story, and Jinn is those with unique abilities, and though a sort of peace reigns between Clay and the Jinn, they are the lowest of the lower class. Their power is also bound unless in war or defense of a Clay. I felt so much for the Jinn in this story, as they are considered lesser than the clay but more powerful. The Prince is quite a unique character, and you can tell he wants so much to change the way his future kingdom is and fears for the loss of his grandfather if the predictions for the future come to pass.

The Final Verdict: This story does not hold back in the levels of emotions it draws from the readers as we are emersed in the story. The twists and turns kept me reading tell I got to the cliffhanger. Yes, they're one of those, so much so that I kept trying to flip the pages in my kindle, but there were no more pages. It is a delight to read and does not disappoint in the least.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account