Midnight Jewel (The Glittering Court Book 2)

Midnight Jewel (The Glittering Court Book 2)
Age Range
Release Date
January 01, 2017
Buy This Book
In MIDNIGHT JEWEL, Richelle Mead goes beyond the glitz and glamour of the Glittering Court, delving into the dark, political underbelly of Cape Triumph through the eyes of one girl who dares to fight for her freedom.

A refugee of war, Mira was cast out of her home country and thrust into another, where the conditions were inhospitable at best. In a life-altering twist of fate, she is given the chance to escape once more, and she takes it, joining the Glittering Court.

Both a school and a business venture, the Glittering Court is designed to transform impoverished girls into upper-class ladies who appear destined for powerful and wealthy marriages in the New World. There, Mira finds herself subjected to persecution, not only from her fellow Glittering Court jewels, but from her suitors, as well—men she would potentially be expected to give her life to.

By day, she goes through the motions, learning the etiquette and customs that will help to earn her anonymity, even making a couple true friends in the process, the forthright ladies’ maid Adelaide and the ambitious laundress Tamsin. But by night, Mira hatches a different plan entirely—one that, if exposed, could get her hanged in the highest court of Adoria.

MIDNIGHT JEWEL is the extraordinary story of a girl with few options who courageously forges a new path, finding love, passion, lifelong friendships, and maybe even a way to freedom.

Editor review

1 review
A Swashbuckling spy adventure meets Mail order bride
Overall rating
Writing Style
What I Loved: In the first book in the Glittering Court Trilogy, we know that Adelaide’s friend Mirabel is keeping secrets and sneaking out at night. Mira's secrets are revealed in this second installment, Midnight Jewel.
She is a refugee of the war-torn country of Sirminica and faces many prejudices in her new country of Osfrid.
She takes an opportunity to travel to the new world of Adoria and settle in the colonies by joining the Glittering Court, a school dedicated to turning low-born women into ladies and marrying them off to the newly rich.
On the voyage over to the colonies, her fate becomes intertwined with Grant Elliott, a seemingly simple merchant. Then she blows his cover as a spy for The Adam’s company. She uses her position as a girl looking for a husband to help him uncover a plot to start a war with the Icori and break from the King’s rule. She proves her intelligence and strength with her nightly escapades of sneaking, spying, breaking and entering, and even working with pirates.
Through it all, she sees the uneven justice in the colonies. There is no set police force to ensure the very poor can have justice that the wealthy enjoys. Through spying and pirating she refines her morals and her desire to help the people.
She helps Grant not only with his case but with holding on to love and facing his reservations about relationships.
What Left Me Wanting More: As a companion book to Adelaide’s story, this story takes place back at the beginning of events for Adelaide. Since we presumably already are familiar with events from that book the first few 60 pages skims forward quickly on the plot. That leaves this story a bit difficult to settle into, even though it was good once it focused more on Mira’s adventures.
Final Verdict: I did enjoy Mira’s swashbuckling spy adventure once it settled into her story. This story would not be as easy to read out of order or without the first book for context. This story takes place in an alternate world and different religious context, but it had the feel of when England was establishing American colonies and fighting for land rights with the Indians.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account