Loveless

Loveless
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
December 18, 2021
ISBN
978-0008244125
Buy This Book
      
For fans of Love, Simon and I Wish You All the Best, a funny, honest, messy, completely relatable story of a girl who realizes that love can be found in many ways that don't involve sex or romance.

From the marvelous author of Heartstopper comes an exceptional YA novel about discovering that it's okay if you don't have sexual or romantic feelings for anyone . . . since there are plenty of other ways to find love and connection.

This is the funny, honest, messy, completely relatable story of Georgia, who doesn't understand why she can't crush and kiss and make out like her friends do. She's surrounded by the narrative that dating + sex = love. It's not until she gets to college that she discovers the A range of the LGBTQIA+ spectrum -- coming to understand herself as asexual/aromantic. Disrupting the narrative that she's been told since birth isn't easy -- there are many mistakes along the way to inviting people into a newly found articulation of an always-known part of your identity. But Georgia's determined to get her life right, with the help of (and despite the major drama of) her friends.

Editor review

1 review
Full of Love
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot
 
5.0
Characters
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
LOVELESS is a special book unlike anything I’ve read before, and is now very near and dear to my heart. From page one, we’re taken on a journey with Georgia as she tries to discover where she fits in the world. Georgia wants to be like everyone else she sees getting caught up in kisses and romance. But she’s never experienced it herself. When she has an opportunity to kiss the guy she’s convinced herself she’s been crushing on for years, she panics and realizes she has zero desire to be romantic with him in any way. The story takes us to her university experience with her two best friends, Jason and Pip. Her new roommate Rooney takes her under her wing right away and tries to match her up with various guys at clubs and parties. But Georgia isn’t feeling it with any of them. She’s not attracted to any of the guys or girls either.

My heart broke for Georgia as we see her struggling to figure out why she’s not like everyone else around her. As she begins to learn more about the LGBTQIA+ world, she learns about being asexual/aromantic. It’s hard for her to accept at first, but as she grows, she learns that she isn’t the only one in the world like her. Most importantly, she learns that love can come in many forms.

What worked:
Georgia is such a sweet character. She was a joy to read about, and I was left with a book hangover, craving more of her and her friends when I finished the book. She’s incredibly loving and decent to her friends. She’s not afraid to allow herself to become vulnerable and she’s accepting of others who may not be like her. She doesn’t judge Pip for being gay or Rooney for jumping from guy to guy. Georgia just loves them as they are. That’s her strongest point as a character and it’s completely beautiful to read about. For a book called LOVELESS, it’s awfully full of love. Watching Georgia discover that for herself was amazing to read about and completely warmed my heart.

What left me wanting more:
This book was perfectly perfect. I can’t think of anything like it that I’ve read before. It’s a masterfully written unique story full of heart. As a grown woman, I can’t say that anything left me wanting more. It might feel a bit adult for younger audiences though. The characters are in college for most of the book, but it’s labeled as YA. There’s quite a bit of drinking and more adult themes of sexuality. I’d recommend this book for older teens.

The final verdict:
LOVELESS is a beautiful story of love and devotion between friends and a young girl’s journey to find where she fits in the world. You won’t be able to put it down, and you won’t be disappointed. You may even learn something new along the way.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account