Gods & Monsters (Serpent & Dove, 3)

Gods & Monsters (Serpent & Dove, 3)
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
July 27, 2021
ISBN
978-0063038936
Buy This Book
      
Evil always seeks a foothold. We must not give it one.

The electrifying conclusion to the New York Times and Indiebound bestselling Serpent & Dove trilogy is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Kendare Blake.

Lou has spent her whole life running. Now, after a crushing blow from Morgane, the time has come to go home—and claim what is rightfully hers.

But this is no longer the Lou her friends knew. No longer the Lou who captured a chasseur’s heart. A darkness has settled over her, and this time it will take more than love to drive it out.

From Serpent & Dove to Blood & Honey and concluding with Gods & Monsters, Shelby Mahurin's stunning fantasy trilogy delivers thrills and romance.

Editor review

1 review
Hope is the Cure
Overall rating
 
4.7
Plot
 
4.0
Characters
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
What I Loved: Gods and Monsters is the third book in the trilogy that began with The Serpent & Dove. The relationships between the characters have become strong and lasting. It is discovered that Lou has been possessed by Nicholina and the only way to save her is to visit the enchanted waters of L’Eau Melancolique. The waters force the drinker to speak their truths. This forces the friends to acknowledge feelings that they would rather avoid. They also finally face the death of a friend and find closure.
Reid makes a great sacrifice when their group faces off against Morgan and her allies. This allows Lou and Reid to fall in love over again without the secrets she kept from him when they were first married. What was so enchanting about the first book was their love story and it was equally fun to see the deeper connection forged from their past and their current experiences bringing them together.
What Left Me Wanting More: The story ended on a hopeful note with the official wedding of Reid and Lou surrounded by their surviving friends and allies. I do wish the final few chapters explored more the new relationship between witches, chasseurs, the church, and the royal family.
Final Verdict: Hope is the cure and these characters finally find themselves able to have hope for a better future. It was a nice ending to the trilogy as Monsters are faced and the Gods ally to help the characters succeed.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account