Atlantis: The Accidental Invasion

Atlantis: The Accidental Invasion
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
10+
Release Date
April 20, 2021
ISBN
978-1419738531
Buy This Book
      
Perfect for fans of Percy Jackson and Mr. Lemoncello’s Library, Atlantis: The Accidental Invasion launches an exciting, action-packed new series about the underwater lost city

Kaya, raised in the undersea, high-tech world of Atlantis, has always been fascinated by the legends about life above the water. Despite the government’s insistence that they’re only stories, she can’t help but dream about the Sun People—and when a group of officials known as Erasers move to bury those legends for good, Kaya sets out to the surface to uncover the truth once and for all.

In the world above, giant tsunamis threaten Earth’s coasts, and all Lewis wants is to spend more time with his scientist father. When he stows away on his dad’s top-secret research trip, he finds himself thrown headfirst into an adventure much bigger than he bargained for.

Fast-paced and action-packed, The Accidental Invasion brings readers into a world unlike anything they’ve seen before. Bonus content includes real scientific information about genetic modification, earthquakes, nuclear power, and plate tectonics.

Editor review

1 review
An Underwater Adventure
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot
 
5.0
Characters
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
Atlantis has been a source of fascination for me since I was a little girl. The mysterious people who had technology far more advanced than they should have and then their disappearance proved to be one of the more exciting mysteries of the ancient world. Gregory Mone captures that fascination in his newest book Atlantis: The Accidental Invasion.

Here we meet Kaya, an Atlantian who has spent her life underwater, dreaming of what life is like on land and for the Sun People above. Her government, however, insists the Sun People are a myth and employ Erasers to eradicate the legends for good. Determined to learn the truth, Kaya sets out for the surface.

Lewis lives above the water with his scientist father. Wanting to spend more time with him, Lewis sneaks onto his father's research trip. What he discovers though is far more than he ever expected.

I loved the dual POV in this book, seeing the world from someone who lives in it and from someone with fresh eyes is intriguing. The pace of the plot flowed quickly, and I found myself finishing this one in one sitting, though I've since gone back and started reading it with my ten year old. Even he enjoys it, asking for "just one more chapter" at the close of each one.

Final Thoughts: Atlantis: The Accidental Invasion blends science facts with fiction creating an exciting new adventure in the mythical world that will keep kids (and adults alike) coming back for more.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account