That Weekend

Featured
That Weekend
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
June 29, 2021
ISBN
978-1524718367
Buy This Book
      

From the author of The Cheerleaders, comes a thriller about best friends on a weekend getaway that goes horribly, dangerously wrong. THREE BEST FRIENDS, A LAKE HOUSE, A SECRET TRIP -- WHAT COULD GO WRONG? It was supposed to be the perfect prom weekend getaway. But it's clear something terrible happened when Claire wakes up alone and bloodied on a hiking trail with no memory of the past forty-eight hours. Now everyone wants answers--most of all, Claire. She remembers Friday night, but after that . . . nothing. And now Kat and Jesse--her best friends--are missing. What happened on the mountain? And where are Kat and Jesse? Claire knows the answers are buried somewhere in her memory. But as she's learning, everyone has secrets--even her best friends. And she's pretty sure she's not going to like what she remembers.

Editor review

1 review
riveting and shocking YA thriller
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot
 
5.0
Characters
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
THAT WEEKEND is an absolutely stunning, shocking, and riveting YA thriller read. The book begins with Claire breaking up with her cheating boyfriend, and her rescue by her best friend, Kat, and Kat's boyfriend and Claire's long-term crush, Jesse. Although Claire was supposed to join the two with her boyfriend for a camping trip after Prom, she ends up forgoing prom and heads up the mountain with them. She remembers that night, but when she is found stumbling down the mountain with a head injury and covered in blood, she does not remember anything that happened during the next couple days.

As she tries to piece together her memory from that weekend, she fears for what happened to Kat and Jesse - they have not been found. As time moves away from the last time she saw them, fears for their fate increase. With lots of twists and unexpected reveals, this book was absolutely unputdownable.

What I loved: This was a gripping read, and I had to know what would happen next. I found it impossible to predict, and the unreliable narrator of Kat, who desperately wants to remember but cannot, made it all the more unexpected and hard to guess at what would be discovered next. Ultimately, this was a satisfying read, and I loved all the shocking reveals along the way.

The characters were quite compelling, even if often unlikable. Although they seemed like great friends at the start, the reveals along the way change those impressions, and it's anyone's guess as to what really happened on the mountain that weekend. Themes around abuse, the power of wealth, and little twists of fate made it quite intriguing.

Final verdict: Shocking and riveting, THAT WEEKEND is a YA thriller that will keep readers on their toes. Recommend for fans of THEY WISH THEY WERE US, SADIE, ONE OF US IS LYING, and THE COUSINS.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account