Dark and Shallow Lies

Featured
Dark and Shallow Lies
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
August 31, 2021
ISBN
978-0593403969
Buy This Book
      

A teen girl disappears from her small town deep in the bayou, where magic festers beneath the surface of the swamp like water rot, in this chilling debut supernatural thriller for fans of Natasha Preston, Karen McManus, and Rory Power. La Cachette, Louisiana, is the worst place to be if you have something to hide. This tiny town, where seventeen-year-old Grey spends her summers, is the self-proclaimed Psychic Capital of the World—and the place where Elora Pellerin, Grey's best friend, disappeared six months earlier. Grey can't believe that Elora vanished into thin air any more than she can believe that nobody in a town full of psychics knows what happened. But as she digs into the night that Elora went missing, she begins to realize that everybody in town is hiding something—her grandmother Honey; her childhood crush Hart; and even her late mother, whose secrets continue to call to Grey from beyond the grave. When a mysterious stranger emerges from the bayou—a stormy-eyed boy with links to Elora and the town's bloody history—Grey realizes that La Cachette's past is far more present and dangerous than she'd ever understood. Suddenly, she doesn't know who she can trust. In a town where secrets lurk just below the surface, and where a murderer is on the loose, nobody can be presumed innocent—and La Cachette's dark and shallow lies may just rip the town apart.

Editor review

1 review
The past is prologue
(Updated: August 28, 2021)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot
 
5.0
Characters
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
What I Loved: Dark and Shallow Lies is raw and utterly compelling as Grey returns to her second home in La Cachette, Louisiana. There she must face the uncertainty of her best friend and most beloved almost twin, Elora’s disappearance. Among the swampy heat of her childhood, she starts to come into her powers that aren’t quite what she thinks they are. Ginny Myers Sain sets an unrelenting pace that is haunting as each of Grey's friends do what they can to help and move on best they can. Elora may have been the one to disappear that night, but slowly the rest are fading away under the strain of their emotions. Friends become suspects while a mysterious ally becomes something more than a friend, but possibly her greatest enemy.
There are so many twists and turns as this story unfolds that I literally couldn’t stop reading till the end. The magic is inherent to the setting and natural for the progression of events. Grey faces down a literal Level 5 Hurricane and her closest loves to finally find the truth of what happened the night Elora disappeared. The ending was complete, although not everyone made it out of the catastrophic truths that are revealed.
Final Verdict: Dark and Shallow Lies may happen in a sleepy southern community, but the secrets it holds are all-consuming. The pain of the past doesn't end suffering, but it must be faced to move on. This tale will stick with you once the pages are all turned. Highly recommend it, but you know maybe not on a dark and stormy night!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account