Simone Breaks All the Rules

Featured
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
253 0
Simone Breaks All the Rules
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
June 01, 2021
ISBN
1338681729
Buy This Book
      

Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in a Crown and To All the Boys I've Loved Before, this hilarious and heartfelt Own Voices rom-com from bestselling author Debbie Rigaud is pure Black girl joy. Simone Thibodeaux is about to switch things up. Check her life: It’s sealed in a boy-proof container. Her Haitian immigrant parents send Simone to an all-girls high school and enforce strict no-dating rules. As for prom? Simone is allowed to go on one condition: Her parents will select her date (a boy from a nice, Haitian immigrant family, obviously). Simone is desperate to avoid the setup -- especially since she has a serious crush on another boy. It's time to take action. Simone and her fellow late-bloomer friends make a senior year bucket list of all the wild things they haven't done yet. Like: going out dancing, skipping class (what), and oh yeah -- deciding their own prom destinies. But as the list takes on a life of its own, things get much messier than Simone expected. Can she figure out which rules are worth breaking and which might save her from heartbreak?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Romance with a Cultural Twist
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Simone's Haitian immigrant parents are very strict; she and her sister Anne have to go to an all girls school that requires uniforms, aren't allowed to socialize in the same way that their peers do, and even have their prom dates arranged by their mother! Anne is at college now (NOT living on campus), and Simone is a senior. When her mother plans to set her up with the younger brother of Anne's prom date, she has had enough. It's bad that she can't tell her parents that she wants to live on campus when she attends nearby Rutgers, but to have an arranged date? No. She enlists her schoolmates Amita and Kira, who have their own overly controlling parents, to make a list of activities that they want to try to accomplish during their senior year. They aren't wild activities-- go to a party, ride bikes, go to New York City, and maybe kiss a boy-- but they are daring for the girls, whose parents are very interested in everything they do. Amita has a boyfriend, Pritpal, but her parents still expect her to go to prom with her cousin, Krish. Kira's parents are especially concerned about her social media usage, and tell her that she can go to prom, but that she should make a statement by going by herself. The girls, who are not used to bringing friends home, make small steps towards their freedom. Simone connects with Gavin, who attends the brother school to hers, and the two arrange to go to her prom together. Simone decides to bring her arranged date, Ben, in on the plan, and hopes that he will be willing to attend with Kira. The only problem? While Gavin is cute, interesting, and seems into Simone, Ben is ALSO cute, interested in projects that Simone finds appealing, and is steeped in the Haitian culture that Simone seems painfully distant from. How will the girls balance belly button piercings and fake tattoos with clubbing and hanging out with boys with the deeper issues of personal freedom and understanding with their parents?
Good Points
Ah, parents. Do any of us get it right? Add a layer of different cultural expectations, and modern teens just have even more to rail against. Anne and Simone are both smart, thoughtful girls who understand why their parents put strictures on their behavior, but still feel that these are unnecessary. I like that Simone does not plan to do anything that's bad for her, just things with which her parents disagree. That she finds like minded friends in Amita and Kira is quite fun, and outspoken cousin Gabby is a good foil. The New Jersey/New York Metropolitan area setting (is that the term?) is well described, although I could have used street names so I could have looked up the areas on Zillow! Both Gavin and Ben are good guys who care about Simone and understand the parental pressures she faces. I especially appreciated that the guy who did NOT go to prom with Simone was given his own romantic interest instead of just being ignored. Middle school students are enthralled with the idea of prom, and this was a great book to give them some insight on issues high schoolers can face when contemplating the event themselves. Sort of like an Emery's Sally and Jean Burnaby for the new millenium!

This is a great choice for fans of Kasey West, or Sarah Dessen, or Watson's Love is a Revolution, and Richardson's The Meet-Cute Project. It's great to see these romantic "beach reads" with more cultural connections and settings that are quite different from the suburban Ohio ones my readers inhabit, especially ones that are more middle school appropriate when it comes to language and situations. Even as an adult, I don't like to read about alcohol and drug use or descriptive... physical situations. I loved Rigaud's 2009 Perfect Shot and hope to see more books by her soon!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

In A Flash
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A riveting and dramatic story of two devoted sisters, Italian...
Welcome to California: A Little Engine that Could Road Trip
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Engine That Could is on the move and...
The Alpactory: Ready, Set, Go!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to the Alpactory! These wacky alpacas are here to...
I Like to Share!
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the joys of learning to share in this exuberant...
The Infinity Courts (The Infinity Courts, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Westworld meets Warcross in this high-stakes, dizzyingly smart sci-fi about...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
If Only...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling author-illustrator Mies van Hout employs vivid creatures in a...
Like a Giant
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautiful story about imagination and taking your time to...
A Rosa Le Encantan Los Carros/Rosa Loves Cars
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Averiguemos con quâe juguetes juegan Rosa y sus amigos hoy!...
The Duck Who Didn't Like Water
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
See a duck take to the water of friendship in...
Goodnight, Little Llama
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Little Llama, who is about to make a very...
The Boy and the Sea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A picture book meditation on curiosity, wonder, and finding one’s...
In Your Cozy Bed
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
A soothing bedtime board book from the creators of In...
Chicks Rock!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rocker Chick overcomes stage fright to find her voice in...
The Beach (Bluey)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Read along and join Bluey's latest adventure! ...
All About Bluey
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Bluey! This lovable and imaginative Blue Heeler puppy is...

Latest Member Reviews

The Infinity Courts (The Infinity Courts, #1)
 
5.0
"THE INFINITY COURTS is a stunning and dazzling YA fantasy about morality, humanity, and the afterlife. Nami is truly excited..."
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
3.7
"CURSE OF THE SPECTER QUEEN was an intriguing YA historical fiction with code-breaking, good friends, and imminent danger. Sam works..."
The Sky Above Us
 
3.7
"What worked: Unique coming-of-age story that tackles grief and tragedy. Told through the eyes of six teens, this story starts..."
Instructions for Dancing
 
5.0
"INSTRUCTIONS FOR DANCING is an engaging YA contemporary about romance, family, and coming of age. Evie stopped believing in love..."
The Tragedy of Dane Riley
 
4.3
"THE TRAGEDY OF DANE RILEY is a compelling YA contemporary read about family, grief, depression, and mental illness. Dane is..."
The Shadow War
 
3.3
"What worked: Intriguing mix of Sci-fi with historical set during WWII. There is a lot going on in this engaging..."
Kneel
 
5.0
"Russell and his friend Marion live in Louisiana, and hope to use their skills at football to work their way..."
A Season of Sinister Dreams
 
4.3
"A SEASON OF SINISTER DREAMS is an engaging YA fantasy that follows two young women, Evra and Annalise. Annalise lives..."
I Can See Clearly
 
3.3
"Luc Ponti comes from a strong Italian family, and his father (an NCAA point guard, Princeton grad, Special Forces and..."
Fire with Fire
 
4.7
"Dani Rivera may excel at every part of her dragon slaying training, but she would rather focus on being normal..."
Better Together
 
5.0
"BETTER TOGETHER is a delightful and charming YA contemporary read about sisterhood, family, and healing. Siri lives with her mother..."
Get a Clue: A Bookish Boyfriends #4
 
4.3
"In this fourth book set at Reginald R. Hero High, we meet Huck and Win, the brother of Curtis from..."
The Fault In Our Stars
 
5.0
"I had enjoyed this book to great extent. I loved the relationship connection between the two characters and how the..."
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
"THE CRUELEST MERCY is an intriguing second book in an enthralling YA fantasy series. After the rush and danger of..."
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
4.0
"What worked: This was a fun take on Crazy Rich Asians meets descendants of Empress Regent of China. Gemma..."
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
"THE BOX IN THE WOODS is a fantastic continuation of Stevie's story with a whole new cold case to solve...."
 
4.7
"Miles "Pudge" Halter seeks for a "Great Perhaps", and attends Culver Creek, a boarding school. Yet, he finds himself with..."
 
5.0
"To say that this book was one of my most anticipated releases for 2021 is an understatement. After the impact..."
 
5.0
"Oh my goodness what a way to end this series! I honestly took a little longer to finish this book..."
 
5.0
"I absolutely loved this sequel. The first one was such a good set up for this book. Nita is free..."