Sister of the Bollywood Bride

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
244 0
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 25, 2021
ISBN
978-0316705424
Buy This Book
      

For fans of Morgan Matson's Save the Date comes a charming novel about one teen's summer tackling disasters including, but not limited to, family, romance, and weather—as she plans her sister's Bollywood-style Indian wedding. Mini's big sister, Vinnie, is getting married. Their mom passed away seven years ago and between Dad's new start-up and Vinnie's medical residency, there's no one but Mini to plan the wedding. Dad raised her to know more about computers, calculus, and cars than desi weddings but from the moment Mini held the jewelry Mom left them, she wanted her sister to have the wedding Mom would've planned. Now Mini has only two months to get it done and she's not going to let anything distract her, not even the persistent, mysterious, and smoking-hot Vir Mirchandani. Flower garlands, decorations, music, even a white wedding horse—everything is in place. That is, until a monster hurricane heads for Boston that could ruin everything. Will Mini come through as sister of the bride and save the day?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

charming YA contemporary
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
SISTER OF THE BOLLYWOOD BRIDE is an engaging YA contemporary read about sisterhood, family, and community with a dash of romance. Mini, short for Padmini, loves fashion and her family. Her sister, Vinnie, has just announced that she is getting married while in the process of switching from medical school to residency. Knowing that her sister does not have time to plan the wedding, Mini decides to take on the task. Since their mother died a few years earlier, Mini feels like she needs to step up to do this wedding for not only her sister, but also in the way her mother would have wanted.

As she plans the wedding, she finds herself rallying her community around her. Planning a wedding is no easy task. The universe seems aligned against her at times, but with her won't-quit attitude, Mini Kapoor is going to put together the best wedding she can and one that will be perfect for her sister Vinnie.

What I loved: There are a lot of great moments around family and sisterhood, not only with Mini and her sister, but also with her mother's sister and her relationships with extended family. Particularly powerful in the book was the show of community as others step in to help Mini to plan the perfect wedding. The book spends a lot of time planning (and then some re-planning) the wedding, but I also particularly enjoyed those moments spent outside it.

Mini feels a lot of pressure to major in something STEM-related like her sister when she goes to school, but her passion really lies with fashion and design. As she works on the wedding, she is also beginning to learn that her passion is also a talent. The romance was also really cute, and I loved their meet-cute and the way things slowly developed. I would have loved even more of this cute rom-com couple!

The book manages to mix in a lot of humor throughout, and it was a very charming read. I would definitely recommend for people who enjoy rom-coms and particularly wedding-themed reads.

Final verdict: Overall, SISTER OF THE BOLLYWOOD BRIDE is a sweet YA contemporary read that shows the power of community, family, and persistence. Recommend for fans of SAVE THE DATE, WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI, and ALWAYS AND FOREVER.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Beach (Bluey)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Read along and join Bluey's latest adventure! ...
All About Bluey
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Bluey! This lovable and imaginative Blue Heeler puppy is...
Instructions for Dancing
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
THE INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The critically...
Jonathan: Prince of Dreams
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still recovering from the tragic loss of his mother, typical...
Missing the Beat
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The dream job? Check. The best friends? Check....
Meeting the Star
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The spotless reputation? Check. The gorgeous movie star?...
Making the Play
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The school of her dreams? Check. The perfect...
Runaway : Immortals of Indriell
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
They claim her mother died a hero. They...
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this sequel to The Kinder Poison—which People magazine...
Kneel
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This fearless debut novel explores racism, injustice, and self-expression...
The Tragedy of Dane Riley
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teen confronts his feelings about his father’s death,...
Heartbreakers and Fakers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of The Best Laid Plans comes...
Fiver Finds Home
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet the world’s first blue dwarf giraffe! With five...
A Season of Sinister Dreams
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Furyborn meets A Curse So Dark and Lonely in...
Even and Odd
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Even and Odd are sisters who share magic. Lately, though,...
Bee a Good Human: A Pollinators' Guide to a Better Life
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Combining inspiration, humor, and entomology, Instagram artist Ali Beckman (@SoFlyTaxidermy)...

Latest Member Reviews

The Beach (Bluey)
 
4.5
"BLUEY: THE BEACH is a charming picture book about bravery and adventure. Bluey is excited to be at the beach..."
All About Bluey
 
4.0
"ALL ABOUT BLUEY is a cute board book that introduces the character and some simple facts about her. Whether..."
Even and Odd
 
5.0
"Even and Odd are sisters born a year apart who share their magical power. Odd isn't thrilled with hers, and..."
Goodnight, Little Bunny
 
4.5
"GOODNIGHT, LITTLE BUNNY is an interesting picture book read about a bunny's first trip out of the burrow. Bunny is..."
Flying Over Water
 
5.0
"When Jordyn's mother offers to help Noura Alwan's family settle in Tampa, Florida, Jordyn hopes that it will improve her..."
Rukhsanna Guidroz
 
5.0
"In 2012, Samira and her family are members of the Rohingya people. Because of the oppressive government in Myanmar (or..."
Not Now, Cow
 
5.0
"NOT NOW, COW is a charming and funny picture book about seasonal clothes. The animals are getting ready for each..."
Cucu! en el Mar/Peekaboo! in the Ocean
 
4.5
"CUCU! EN EL MAR/ PEEKABOO! IN THE OCEAN is an adorable bilingual lift-the-flap board book. Each page features an animal..."
Family Reunion
 
4.0
"FAMILY REUNION is a colorful picture book that captures all the joy of seeing family, even when you think you..."
The Dog Who Saved the World
 
5.0
"Georgie and her friend Ramzy enjoy hanging out in their seaside English town, romping with Georgie's rescue dog, Mr. Mash,..."
Mission Multiverse
 
4.0
"In the near future, Dev's family has moved from California to Conroy, Ohio because of the problems being caused on..."
The Neighborhood Surprise
 
4.0
"THE NEIGHBORHOOD SURPRISE is a sweet picture book about community coming together. Mrs. Fig is one of the favorite neighbors..."
Jet the Cat (Is Not a Cat)
 
5.0
"JET THE CAT (IS NOT A CAT) is a charming picture book about a cat who does not quite fit..."
Clique Here: A Wish Novel
 
5.0
"Lily has decided she really needs to leave her private school after an embarrassing incident with mean girl Courtenay, so..."
The Unexplainable Disappearance of Mars Patel
 
4.0
"Mars Patel idolizes Oliver Pruitt, a powerful tech giant who also runs Pruitt Prep. Mars and his friends Toothpick, JP,..."
Llama Llama Meets the Babysitter
 
4.0
"LLAMA LLAMA MEETS THE BABYSITTER is an overall fun new installment in the Llama Llama series. Following the usual format..."
You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
"YOU ARE FANTASTIC! is a brightly colored and cheerful read celebrating YOU! The book walks through some metaphorical compliments, such..."
Early One Morning
 
3.5
"EARLY ONE MORNING is a picture book walk around a farm. A little boy heads out to find a couple..."
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
"LITTLE SAP is a beautifully illustrated story about growing up, seasons, and forests. Little Sap can't wait to be a..."
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
"THE LITTLE THINGS is a charming and powerful story about the contagious nature of kindness. A little girl heads to..."