Sister of the Bollywood Bride

Featured
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 25, 2021
ISBN
978-0316705424
Buy This Book
      

For fans of Morgan Matson's Save the Date comes a charming novel about one teen's summer tackling disasters including, but not limited to, family, romance, and weather—as she plans her sister's Bollywood-style Indian wedding. Mini's big sister, Vinnie, is getting married. Their mom passed away seven years ago and between Dad's new start-up and Vinnie's medical residency, there's no one but Mini to plan the wedding. Dad raised her to know more about computers, calculus, and cars than desi weddings but from the moment Mini held the jewelry Mom left them, she wanted her sister to have the wedding Mom would've planned. Now Mini has only two months to get it done and she's not going to let anything distract her, not even the persistent, mysterious, and smoking-hot Vir Mirchandani. Flower garlands, decorations, music, even a white wedding horse—everything is in place. That is, until a monster hurricane heads for Boston that could ruin everything. Will Mini come through as sister of the bride and save the day?

Editor review

1 review
charming YA contemporary
Overall rating
 
4.0
Plot
 
4.0
Characters
 
4.0
Writing Style
 
4.0
SISTER OF THE BOLLYWOOD BRIDE is an engaging YA contemporary read about sisterhood, family, and community with a dash of romance. Mini, short for Padmini, loves fashion and her family. Her sister, Vinnie, has just announced that she is getting married while in the process of switching from medical school to residency. Knowing that her sister does not have time to plan the wedding, Mini decides to take on the task. Since their mother died a few years earlier, Mini feels like she needs to step up to do this wedding for not only her sister, but also in the way her mother would have wanted.

As she plans the wedding, she finds herself rallying her community around her. Planning a wedding is no easy task. The universe seems aligned against her at times, but with her won't-quit attitude, Mini Kapoor is going to put together the best wedding she can and one that will be perfect for her sister Vinnie.

What I loved: There are a lot of great moments around family and sisterhood, not only with Mini and her sister, but also with her mother's sister and her relationships with extended family. Particularly powerful in the book was the show of community as others step in to help Mini to plan the perfect wedding. The book spends a lot of time planning (and then some re-planning) the wedding, but I also particularly enjoyed those moments spent outside it.

Mini feels a lot of pressure to major in something STEM-related like her sister when she goes to school, but her passion really lies with fashion and design. As she works on the wedding, she is also beginning to learn that her passion is also a talent. The romance was also really cute, and I loved their meet-cute and the way things slowly developed. I would have loved even more of this cute rom-com couple!

The book manages to mix in a lot of humor throughout, and it was a very charming read. I would definitely recommend for people who enjoy rom-coms and particularly wedding-themed reads.

Final verdict: Overall, SISTER OF THE BOLLYWOOD BRIDE is a sweet YA contemporary read that shows the power of community, family, and persistence. Recommend for fans of SAVE THE DATE, WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI, and ALWAYS AND FOREVER.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account