This Is My America

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
417 1
This Is My America
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
July 28, 2020
ISBN
978-0593118764
Buy This Book
      
The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching yet uplifting first novel that explores the racist injustices in the American justice system.

Every week, seventeen-year-old Tracy Beaumont writes letters to Innocence X, asking the organization to help her father, an innocent Black man on death row. After seven years, Tracy is running out of time--her dad has only 267 days left. Then the unthinkable happens. The police arrive in the night, and Tracy's older brother, Jamal, goes from being a bright, promising track star to a "thug" on the run, accused of killing a white girl. Determined to save her brother, Tracy investigates what really happened between Jamal and Angela down at the Pike. But will Tracy and her family survive the uncovering of the skeletons of their Texas town's racist history that still haunt the present?

Fans of Nic Stone, Tiffany D. Jackson, and Jason Reynolds won't want to miss this provocative and gripping debut.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Unforgettable
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
WHAT I LOVED:

Tracy's family is an outsider in multiple ways in their Texas town: they're one of the few Black families, they're relative newcomers (they settled there after being uprooted by Hurricane Katrina), and her dad was convicted of murdering two white people. He's on death row with less than a year until his execution date and he was wrongly convicted.Tracy will do anything to save him: ruin her brother's big TV interview, tangle with white supremacists, and even risk her own life. The girl has backbone for days, but it isn't something to praise. She's this way because the racism she saw and experienced made her this way. She should be able to enjoy her childhood, but systemic racism never let her have one in the first place.

God, this book is tense. The stakes are high, the danger Tracy is in because of her situation and her Blackness being all too real. The question is never whether her father really killed that couple or if her brother killed the girl he was seeing in secret; both guys definitively didn't. Instead, the question is whether Tracy can prove their innocence in such a way the racist local police force can't do anything about it. Toward the end, the story had me so gripped that I had to switch from the excellent audiobook to a print version. Narrators can only speak so fast and I can read a whole lot faster than that!

Omnipresent as it is, white supremacy is practically a character itself throughout the novel. The more uninformed, unaware folks say racism will die out with old people, but that isn't the case and This Is My America won't let you kid yourself about that. In contrast to police workshop-running Tracy, some of her classmates are big Blue Lives Matter supporters and are meeting in secret to form their own hate group. One of those kids? The sheriff's son. Later on, Tracy finds a photo of the Klan lynching a Vietnamese man. Included in the photo are the sheriff's father as well as the grandfather and mother of Drew, Tracy's best friend and semi-crush.

So no, racism won't just "die out." Unless white people in particular actively fight to end it, newer generations will inherit that hatred and continue it. I've seen it in 25-year-old Madison Cawthorn, the current youngest member of Congress who spouts hatred and has been accused multiple times of sexual harassment. I saw it the day Joe Biden was announced as the 2020 presidential election winner, when two boys who weren't even ten stood outside my neighborhood park with a big Trump banner in their hands. Without doing the work, we'll keep seeing the young adopt this hatred from the adults in their lives.

As far as I know based on historical records of lynchings in Georgia, my grandfather, a known member of the KKK in the mid-1900s, didn't participate in a documented lynching. However, his family had been living in the same tiny town since at least the early 1800s and there were several lynchings in that town in the late 1800s. Even if he didn't, his grandparents almost certainly did and he still engaged in a campaign of terrorism against the Black people around him.

FINAL VERDICT:

The roots of my family tree were watered by the blood of the enslaved and the lynched and the terrorized, and I will never forget that. This Is My America is a novel you will never forget. It will make white readers have a self-reckoning and give everyone hope that racism can be defeated. We'll need everyone and everything we have, but we can do it.

I also recommend reading Johnson's author's note for her explanation of certain narrative choices she made. It will make you appreciate this future classic that much more.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Poison Ivy: Thorns
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
There's something unusual about Pamela Isley--the girl who hides behind...
Lies My Memory Told Me
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
From the thrilling voice of Sacha Wunsch comes a heart-stopping...
Signs of Survival A Memoir of the Holocaust
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
RENEE: I was ten years old then, and my sister...
So. Many. Feelings Stickers: 2,700 Stickers for Every Mood
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
2,700 stickers for every mood! ...
Hi-Five Farm!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ready, set, off we go! ...
Sugar and Spite
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jolina can't take Claudine's bullying any longer! The taunts and...
Leaving England
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometime around now an unnamed virus has laid London and...
Top Choice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A female-run society. An ambitious girl driven to become its’...
The Dead and the Dark
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Courtney Gould’s thrilling YA debut The Dead and the Dark...
Heart Fire
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the realm of Ryuu within the snow...
When Jackie Hit The Road
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Jackie planned for every situation on her solo road-trip...
Starvation
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
John Green meets Laurie Halse Anderson in this award-winning, "haunting,"...

Latest Member Reviews

Poison Ivy: Thorns
 
4.3
"Let me start with the artwork. This was so beautifully done and I loved every single panel. It really pulled..."
Lies My Memory Told Me
 
4.7
"What I Loved: In Lies my Memory Told Me, Nova is the daughter of the people who created Enhanced Memory...."
The Dead and the Dark
 
5.0
"THE DEAD AND THE DARK is a deliciously creepy paranormal thriller/horror. Logan lives with her two fathers, who co-host a..."
The Great Destroyers
 
3.3
"THE GREAT DESTROYERS is an intriguing alternate history that brings robot fighting into the Cold War. Jo is a teenager..."
Fresh
 
4.3
"FRESH is an entertaining and thought-provoking coming-of-age story. Elliott is a middle child, heading to college far from home at..."
Illusionary (Hollow Crown, #2)
 
5.0
"ILLUSIONARY is a beautifully written sequel in a strong YA fantasy duology. The book begins after the first ended, with..."
Bluebird
 
5.0
"It's 1946 and Eva and her friend Brigit leave behind destroyed Berlin for New York City. Eva carries a deadly..."
Incendiary (Hollow Crown #1)
 
4.3
"INCENDIARY is an intriguing YA fantasy with rebellion, magic, and intrigue. Renata was stolen from her parents as a child..."
Love and Other Sins
 
5.0
"Read it in one sitting and can’t wait to read the next one!!"
 
4.3
"This was definitely an interesting book. I really enjoyed all of the witchy aspects of the book! It starts off..."
Small Favors
 
4.7
"SMALL FAVORS is a compelling, spooky, and atmospheric YA fantasy/horror that keeps the reader guessing. Ellerie is a young woman..."
Sidelined
 
4.7
"Julian is looking forward to his senior year in Meridien, Texas. He wants to play football and hopefully get scouted..."
Spectacle
 
3.7
"WHAT I LOVED: Nathalie Baudin is an extraordinary girl even before she discovers her psychometric abilities. She’s just sixteen,..."
Somewhere Only We Know
 
4.0
"Everything I know about K-pop comes from thirsty Twitter fancams, what has made it into the American mainstream, and an..."
A Song Below Water
 
4.3
"WHAT I LOVED: Tavia and Effie’s world is ours with just a little myth-made-real on top. The Hart family..."
Tin Heart
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: Marlowe has spent much of her life living on the edge of death thanks to a..."
Off the Record
 
5.0
"Content warnings: rape, sexual harassment, sexual abuse Once upon a time, I had an ambition to become a journalist...."
The Hawthorne Legacy (The Inheritance Games, 2)
 
5.0
"What I Loved: THE HAWTHORNE LEGACY, a sequel to THE INHERITANCE GAMES, is a book full of intrigue and mystery..."
The Cost of Knowing
 
5.0
"THE COST OF KNOWING is a heartbreaking and beautiful read about family, fate, and racism. After losing his parents and..."
Curses
 
3.3
"* I received an eARC of this book through Edelweiss+ for an honest review* “When..."