These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
562 0
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
April 20, 2021
ISBN
978-1335147967
Buy This Book
      

When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates are decided at a young age. While Izaveta remained at court to learn the skills she’d need as the future queen, Asya was taken away to train with her aunt, the mysterious Firebird, who ensured magic remained balanced in the realm. But before Asya’s training is completed, the ancient power blooms inside her, which can mean only one thing: the queen is dead, and a new ruler must be crowned. As the princesses come to understand everything their roles entail, they’ll discover who they can trust, who they can love—and who killed their mother.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

enchanting YA fantasy with fantastic world-building and characters
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
THESE FEATHERED FLAMES is an enchanting YA fantasy about sisterhood, power, and destiny. When twins are born in the royal line, one is destined to become the immortal firebird and the other queen. Although not born every generation, Asya and Izaveta are currently being trained in their destined roles, Asya to be the Firebird and Izaveta to be queen.

Asya is scared of who she will become - the Firebird is a magical creature that ensures the cost of magic is paid. When someone casts a spell, they should give something to the spell. If their price is not high enough, the Firebird is called and takes something from them to maintain the balance. The price can be a limb or even their life.

Izaveta is being trained in manipulation and power by their mother, who has mastered the indifference and cruelty needed to rule the country. She does not recognize who she used to be when she grew up with her twin sister. Her life is a game of people.

When the Queen (their mother) dies, the twins must come into their destined roles, a dangerous process when the country is seemingly conspiring against them to destroy the Firebird and the Queen.

What I loved: This was an absolutely captivating and atmospheric read. The world-building of this unique queendom and the parts the two sisters play was really intriguing. It was easy to get caught up in each of their roles and lives. The book is told from the perspectives of both twins, and I appreciated the ability to get into their minds and see all the sides of the situation. Neither twin has fully embraced their destiny, and their conflicts along with those of the world around them, propel the plot forward in unexpected ways. I appreciated the twists that I did not see coming and which blew me away towards the end.

There were also some really thought-provoking themes in the book about power, morality, destiny, religion, and sisterhood. Where would you draw the lines of acceptable actions if you felt that the end was right? How much power would you need to stop something you felt was wrong? The interplay of characters and the potent roles held by the twins was really fascinating. Many of the decisions they must make are in the moral gray, and they each acknowledge this but also try to decide who they want to be. As their personalities and desires solidify into the characters they have become, the book crescendos, and the pieces will fall where they must.

Betrayals, lessons learned, and intense themes add to the compelling writing and characters throughout. The roles of side characters, some of whose roles have yet to be fully revealed (second book now, please!), added to the world and stories therein to make this a captivating read. The romances that build in the book were secondary to some of the other plots, but I really enjoyed them, particularly the f/f romance that has enemies-to-lovers vibes.

Final verdict: Atmospheric, compelling, and with intriguing themes, THESE FEATHERED FLAMES is a captivating YA fantasy. With unexpected betrayals, strong character development, and intense world building, this book is absolutely riveting and highly devourable. Highly recommend for fans of THE MERCIFUL CROW, RED QUEEN, and THE WINTER DUKE.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Dead and the Dark
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Courtney Gould’s thrilling YA debut The Dead and the Dark...
The Great Destroyers
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Blood, sweat, and death. Welcome...
Fresh
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A hilarious and vulnerable coming-of-age story about the thrilling new...
Illusionary (Hollow Crown, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this thrilling adventure, our magical heroine embarks on a...
Bluebird
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 1946, Eva leaves behind the rubble of Berlin for...
Merci Suárez Can't Dance
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh grade is going to be a real trial...
When You Know What I Know
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This harrowing, and ultimately hopeful novel in verse sensitively...
Between Perfect and Real
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving YA debut about a trans boy finding...
The Cost of Knowing
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dear Martin meets They Both Die at the End...
Gold Spun
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
If Nor can't spin gold, she can always spin...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Dayna Walsh is struggling to cope with her somatic...
Small Favors
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ellerie Downing is waiting for something to happen. Life...
If You Go Down to the Woods Today (Brown Bear Wood)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Journey through a magical woodland, with poems to read and...
Bunny Will Not Jump!: Ready-to-Read Level 1
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the endless imagination of Jason Tharp comes a hilarious...
Milo's Christmas Parade
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new picture book from Jennie Palmer starring Milo, a...
Slow Down: 50 Mindful Moments in Nature
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Slow down to watch 50 nature stories that command calm...

Latest Member Reviews

The Dead and the Dark
 
5.0
"THE DEAD AND THE DARK is a deliciously creepy paranormal thriller/horror. Logan lives with her two fathers, who co-host a..."
The Great Destroyers
 
3.3
"THE GREAT DESTROYERS is an intriguing alternate history that brings robot fighting into the Cold War. Jo is a teenager..."
Fresh
 
4.3
"FRESH is an entertaining and thought-provoking coming-of-age story. Elliott is a middle child, heading to college far from home at..."
Illusionary (Hollow Crown, #2)
 
5.0
"ILLUSIONARY is a beautifully written sequel in a strong YA fantasy duology. The book begins after the first ended, with..."
Bluebird
 
5.0
"It's 1946 and Eva leaves behind destroyed Berlin for New York City. Eva carries a deadly secret. One that others..."
Incendiary (Hollow Crown #1)
 
4.3
"INCENDIARY is an intriguing YA fantasy with rebellion, magic, and intrigue. Renata was stolen from her parents as a child..."
Love and Other Sins
 
5.0
"Read it in one sitting and can’t wait to read the next one!!"
 
4.3
"This was definitely an interesting book. I really enjoyed all of the witchy aspects of the book! It starts off..."
Small Favors
 
4.7
"SMALL FAVORS is a compelling, spooky, and atmospheric YA fantasy/horror that keeps the reader guessing. Ellerie is a young woman..."
Sidelined
 
4.7
"Julian is looking forward to his senior year in Meridien, Texas. He wants to play football and hopefully get scouted..."
Spectacle
 
3.7
"WHAT I LOVED: Nathalie Baudin is an extraordinary girl even before she discovers her psychometric abilities. She’s just sixteen,..."
Somewhere Only We Know
 
4.0
"Everything I know about K-pop comes from thirsty Twitter fancams, what has made it into the American mainstream, and an..."
A Song Below Water
 
4.3
"WHAT I LOVED: Tavia and Effie’s world is ours with just a little myth-made-real on top. The Hart family..."
Tin Heart
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: Marlowe has spent much of her life living on the edge of death thanks to a..."
Off the Record
 
5.0
"Content warnings: rape, sexual harassment, sexual abuse Once upon a time, I had an ambition to become a journalist...."
The Hawthorne Legacy (The Inheritance Games, 2)
 
5.0
"What I Loved: THE HAWTHORNE LEGACY, a sequel to THE INHERITANCE GAMES, is a book full of intrigue and mystery..."
The Cost of Knowing
 
5.0
"THE COST OF KNOWING is a heartbreaking and beautiful read about family, fate, and racism. After losing his parents and..."
Curses
 
3.3
"* I received an eARC of this book through Edelweiss+ for an honest review* “When..."
Between Perfect and Real
 
5.0
"BETWEEN PERFECT AND REAL is a heartfelt read about finding yourself and coming out. Dean knows that he is a..."
You Were Made for Me
 
3.3
"YOU WERE MADE FOR ME is a comedic YA contemporary/magical read about two friends, Katie and Libby, who somewhat accidentally..."