The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
779 0
The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
April 13, 2021
ISBN
978-0358434559
Buy This Book
      

Seventeen-year-old Kiva Meridan has spent the last ten years fighting for survival in the notorious death prison, Zalindov, working as the prison healer. When the Rebel Queen is captured, Kiva is charged with keeping the terminally ill woman alive long enough for her to undergo the Trial by Ordeal: a series of elemental challenges against the torments of air, fire, water, and earth, assigned to only the most dangerous of criminals. Then a coded message from Kiva’s family arrives, containing a single order: “Don’t let her die. We are coming.” Aware that the Trials will kill the sickly queen, Kiva risks her own life to volunteer in her place. If she succeeds, both she and the queen will be granted their freedom. But no one has ever survived. With an incurable plague sweeping Zalindov, a mysterious new inmate fighting for Kiva’s heart, and a prison rebellion brewing, Kiva can’t escape the terrible feeling that her trials have only just begun. From bestselling author Lynette Noni comes a dark, thrilling YA fantasy perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, and Sabaa Tahir.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

stunning, must-read YA fantasy
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
THE PRISON HEALER is a stunning and captivating YA fantasy read. This book takes place in a prison, Zalindov, which operates as its own entity between kingdoms, for the worst of prisoners, generally murderers and rebels. No one gets out once they are in, and most do not live long. Kiva has been in the prison for 10 years, since she was 7 years old. After her father died in the prison, she eventually took on the role of the prison healer, working the infirmary for other inmates whose work assignments or prison guards have injured.

Kiva has kept her head down and done with what she has needed to do to survive, including not making attachments to the other inmates (with the exception of Tipp another child who ended up there due to circumstances) and informing on them to the warden who rules the prison like a king. Things are changing for Kiva, beginning with a new inmate that she cannot seem to shake, a guard who seems to have morals, and then with the rebel queen arriving in need of care.

When Kiva gets a missive telling her to keep the queen alive and threats from the rebels in the prison reinforce this need, Kiva has an impossible task - the queen is on death's door and about to face a trial by ordeal, a set of tests that no one survives. When Kiva volunteers in her place, she knows that her days may be numbered - unless, she can somehow survive these impossible trials and claim freedom on the other side.

What I loved: The writing in this book completely enchanted me. I was captivated by Kiva's story and the trials she undergoes, as an inmate at the mercy of the prison system, as part of the ordeals, and as she tries to stop a plague ravaging the prison system. She is a highly compelling character who keeps her cards close to her chest, even to the reader who is experiencing it all from her perspective. As the key characters convalesce in the story, they all become near and dear to the reader's heart, as they have to Kiva. This definitely leads to some feelings and tears during the story. I also super-loved the way that everything slowly develops. The ending held so many shocking reveals that I was left reeling, and I loved the unexpected twists.

The book also includes some intriguing themes about prisons, the way they are run, the power dynamics within them, and the problems with systems around them. I found it very thought-provoking and would definitely love to discuss in a book club or group format. Other themes around royalty, rebellion, power, addiction, and morality around healing/survival were also really interesting. There is a lot happening in the kingdoms, and Kiva cannot help but see it in the prisons and become involved as she treats the rebel queen. The right to rule and determination of a ruler is a minor but intriguing theme through these royal figures (also through the prince and princess that come to see the first trial) that I am curious to see developed in future books.

Rebellion here has serious consequences, and as a theme throughout history when power becomes oppressive, it's also interesting to discuss. In this book, morality is gray, as Kiva does what she must to survive and this does not always agree with others' moral codes. She also feels a duty as a healer, even when the odds are stacked against her and patients may not seem worth saving to some. How she copes with these thoughts and her job were also intriguing subplots that would merit discussion. This would really be a fascinating choice for a book club.

Final verdict: Atmospheric, shocking, and immersive, THE PRISON HEALER is a must-read YA fantasy that combines compelling characters, intriguing themes, and surprising plot twists into a stunning read. Highly recommend for fans of THE RED QUEEN, LEGEND, and THRONE OF GLASS.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Shatter City
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When the world sees Frey, they think they see her...
If You Miss Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A healing story of loss and love, this beautiful picture...
Learning about the Garden with Sleeping Beauty (Fairytale Encyclopedia)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Roses were very dangerous for Sleeping Beauty―that everybody knows. But...
Squirrel Do Bad (Trubble Town, #4)
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of the “Pearls Before Swine” comic strip...
Playing the Cards You'reDealt
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ten-year-old Anthony Joplin has made it to double digits! Which...
Discovering the Underground with Snow White (Fairytale Encyclopedia)
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
There are not only dwarves in the underground. This hidden...
Rock by Rock: The Fantastical Garden of Nek Chand
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This luminous picture book tells the fascinating true story of...
Bisa's Carnaval
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the sights and sounds of Brazil through the eyes...
Redemptor (Raybearer, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The highly anticipated sequel to Raybearer, the instant New York...
Dark and Shallow Lies
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A teen girl disappears from her small town deep in...
Imposters
 
4.0
 
5.0 (1)
Frey and Rafi are inseparable . . . but very...
Better Than the Movies
 
4.7
 
5.0 (1)
Liz Buxbaum has always known that Wes Bennett was not...
African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Meet the ten remarkable kings, queens, inventors, scholars, and visionaries...
Count to LOVE! (A Bright Brown Baby Board Book)
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Cuddle up with your little one and get ready to...
The Mystery of the Meanest Teacher: A Johnny Constantine Graphic Novel
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
THE MYSTERY OF THE MEANEST TEACHER: A JOHNNY CONSTANTINE GRAPHIC...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A shocking thriller about a group of friends who go...

Latest Member Reviews

Shatter City
 
4.0
"SHATTER CITY by Scott Westerfeld is the second book in the IMPOSTERS series. It begins with Frey stuck inside Shreve..."
Redemptor (Raybearer, #2)
 
5.0
"REDEMPTOR is a stunning conclusion to an atmospheric and imaginative YA fantasy duology. Picking up where the first book left..."
Dark and Shallow Lies
 
5.0
"What I Loved: Dark and Shallow Waters is raw and utterly compelling as Grey returns to her second home in..."
Imposters
 
5.0
S Santana
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
Our Way Back to Always
 
5.0
S Santana
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
Better Than the Movies
 
5.0
S Santana
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
Imposters
 
4.0
"IMPOSTERS by Scott Westerfeld is a YA dystopian novel, set in the future after many different and unique time periods..."
Breeder
 
4.0
"BREEDER by Honni van Rijswijk is a YA Dystopian, Post-Apocalyptic novel in which natural disasters and war have killed off..."
Better Than the Movies
 
4.7
"BETTER THAN THE MOVIES by Lynn Painter is just about the cutest YA Rom-Com to ever exist. The story follows..."
Made in Korea
 
3.7
"MADE IN KOREA by Sarah Suk is a YA Contemporary that follows Valerie, a young entrepreneur, who’s obsessed with the..."
Mary, Will I Die?
 
3.0
"It started off as a prank among friends five years ago. All they had to do was say Bloody Mary..."
Small Favors
 
4.0
"Amity Falls is a small, quiet, religious town surrounded by forests. Ellerie Downing lives there with her sisters, brother, and..."
 
3.0
"WHAT I LOVED: Thanks to my brother being big into Dungeons & Dragons, I have some familiarity with tabletop gaming..."
Our Way Back to Always
 
5.0
"OUR WAY BACK TO ALWAYS is a beautiful YA contemporary romance about two best friends, Sam and Lou. After a..."
Poison Ivy: Thorns
 
4.3
"POISON IVY: THORNS is an intriguing graphic novel that takes us back to the origin story for Poison Ivy. Pamela,..."
The Devil Makes Three
 
4.3
"THE DEVIL MAKES THREE is a dark YA horror that creeps up on you. The book follows two teens, Eliot..."
Poison Ivy: Thorns
 
4.3
"Let me start with the artwork. This was so beautifully done and I loved every single panel. It really pulled..."
Lies My Memory Told Me
 
4.7
"What I Loved: In Lies my Memory Told Me, Nova is the daughter of the people who created Enhanced Memory...."
The Dead and the Dark
 
5.0
"THE DEAD AND THE DARK is a deliciously creepy paranormal thriller/horror. Logan lives with her two fathers, who co-host a..."
The Great Destroyers
 
3.3
"THE GREAT DESTROYERS is an intriguing alternate history that brings robot fighting into the Cold War. Jo is a teenager..."