Coming Up for Air

 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
288 0
Coming Up for Air
Age Range
12+
Release Date
December 15, 2020
ISBN
978-0593127087
Buy This Book
      
For fans of Nina LaCour and The Spectacular Now, a powerful coming-of-age story about a girl with creative aspirations and the boy who charms his way into her life, centering on themes of addiction, loss, and the tumultuousness of first love--and how to find strength when everything falls apart.

Ever since her mom's cancer scare, Hadley hasn't been one for taking risks. And after seeing her sister go through one too many heartbreaks, she definitely has no interest in dating. Hadley just wants to keep her head down and enjoy the rest of high school with her friends, focusing on her photography and getting into the art school of her dreams.

Then enters Braden, star of the swim team and precisely the kind of person Hadley avoids, all bravado and charm and impulsivity. From their first moment together, they are perfect sparring partners, equally matched. And it's intoxicating. Braden sees her, really sees her, and Hadley decides it might be time to break all her rules.

Braden shows Hadley how to live again, and soon Hadley is happier than she'll ever admit out loud. But that's before her family is faced with devastating news, and Braden starts hiding a growing, dark secret. As it threatens to shatter everything they've built, Hadley must confront her own actions and determine if she has the strength to walk away.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

raw, genuine, and compelling coming-of-age read
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
COMING UP FOR AIR is an intense and heart-wrenching YA contemporary with some heavy themes. The book is told between two years, junior and senior, but primarily in the past to show the lead up to the present. Hadley has sworn off dating after her break-up with Noah and to avoid becoming like her sister, Remy, who seems to go through guys and break-ups frequently. She is happy to hang out with her BFFs, Becca, Tyler, and Becca's boyfriend, Greg.

When she is getting some community service hours by staffing the table at the boy's swim meet, taking Becca's shift when she has a conflict, she gets to see the new swim team member, Braden, a guy her sister warned her is bad news. And he's in his Speedo without a ride, as the other team members took his clothes and left him behind in a hazing ritual. He convinces Hadley to give him a ride, and the more they get to talking, the more they find to like.

While the beginning was quite a romance ride, things begin taking a turn later in the book, and Hadley has to decide who she wants to be and who she wants to date.

What I loved: While the first part of the book is heavily romance, the later half of the book is much more, with many difficult themes. Hadley is definitely coming-of-age as she tries to decide who she will be and what that will entail. The book felt very atmospheric, and the writing pulls the reader into Hadley's life seamlessly. The romance was every bit as intense as it felt for Hadley, and we also get swept away in the emotions of it all - and then in the emotions as everything changes. This book deals with some difficult themes of cancer, athlete injury, addiction, and unhealthy relationships. It felt raw, genuine, and compelling throughout.

What left me wanting more: As a small point, I would have liked to see more of the resources for teens who may find themselves in similar situations. Importantly, we do eventually get the tell parents part, but I think there are also other resources needed for both teens. I also wasn't sure about the way the book ended romantically, particularly after such a emotional read that I would have liked to see a more introspection and independent ending, but that may just have been me.

Final verdict: Raw, genuine, and compelling, COMING UP FOR AIR is a sweeping YA contemporary coming-of-age novel that I would highly recommend. Recommend for fans of A CONSTELLATION OF ROSES, BREATHLESS, and HEROINE.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites,...
Ember of Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
I am a weed. Unloved by my abusive, alcoholic...
Made in Korea
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Frankly in Love meets Shark Tank in this feel-good...
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fourteen-year-old Iranian-American Parvin Mohammadi sets out to win the...
Havoc (Haven, #2)
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the first time in his life, Rain Ryland...
Finding Junie Kim
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Junie Kim just wants to fit in. So she keeps...
Parachutes
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Speak enters the world of Gossip Girl in this modern...
The Bachmann Family Secret
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jaret Bachmann travels with his family to his beloved...
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Morgan Matson's Save the Date comes a...
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving bilingual ode to the unshakeable bond between a...
Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...

Latest Member Reviews

Finding Junie Kim
 
5.0
"Junie Kim faces racist comments from a school bully at her middle school. Along with that her school is vandalized..."
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
"NOSOTROS MEANS US is a beautiful bilingual picture book about the enduring and unconditional love between mother and child. The..."
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
"Gus is the pack leader at Miss Lottie's house, and has kept the peace well with excitable Roo, loyal and..."
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
"HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL: THE MUSICAL: THE SERIES: THE ROAD TRIP is a fun book that compliments the show by diving..."
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
"I'LL MEET YOU IN YOUR DREAMS is a gorgeously illustrated picture book about parental love that spans space and time...."
No Adults Allowed (Super Sidekicks #1)
 
4.5
"This is a cute read! No Adults Allowed is the first book in a new series from author Gavin Aung..."
The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
"THE LAST FALLEN STAR is a thrilling epic fantasy. Riley Oh is a saram, a person without magic, adopted by..."
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
"I DON'T WANT TO GO TO SCHOOL features Dinosaur and Mouse, who are both scared of their first day of..."
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
"‘The Mother of Monsters’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, tells the story of Ntombi, the chief's daughter. She..."
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
"‘Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, is great for younger elementary readers and anyone who..."
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
"BASEBALL BABY is a delightful board book about baseball. The book begins with heading to the park to play baseball..."
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
"I AM NOT A PENGUIN is a silly picture book that manages to teach young readers about pangolins. A pangolin..."