Sweet & Bitter Magic

Featured
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
511 0
Sweet & Bitter Magic
Age Range
12+
Release Date
March 09, 2021
ISBN
978-1534453852
Buy This Book
      

In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery of Thorns and Girls of Paper and Fire, a witch cursed to never love meets a girl hiding her own dangerous magic, and the two strike a dangerous bargain to save their queendom. Tamsin is the most powerful witch of her generation. But after committing the worst magical sin, she’s exiled by the ruling Coven and cursed with the inability to love. The only way she can get those feelings back—even for just a little while—is to steal love from others. Wren is a source—a rare kind of person who is made of magic, despite being unable to use it herself. Sources are required to train with the Coven as soon as they discover their abilities, but Wren—the only caretaker to her ailing father—has spent her life hiding her secret. When a magical plague ravages the queendom, Wren’s father falls victim. To save him, Wren proposes a bargain: if Tamsin will help her catch the dark witch responsible for creating the plague, then Wren will give Tamsin her love for her father. Of course, love bargains are a tricky thing, and these two have a long, perilous journey ahead of them—that is, if they don't kill each other first...

Editor reviews

1 reviews

enthralling YA fantasy
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world, magic is held by a select few witches and sources, who must be turned over to the Coven for training when they are young. Witches control the magic, which is held in balance with nature, and sources supply and augment magic. The balance of magic is key, and when magic is done that throws off this balance, it can have deadly consequences for nature and the people around.

Tamsin has learned this lesson when she performed this awful magic in the past, leaving her with loads of guilt, a curse that means she cannot feel love for people, food, or anything around her, and cast out by the Coven she had planned to serve. She was banished to a small village where she barters her magic for other people's love that give her a bit of feeling for a small amount of time.

Wren lives with her father whose depression has incapacitated him, and her life revolves around taking care of him. She is an undocumented source and lives in fear of being discovered. A plague begins going around the country that is causing nature to rebel and people to lose their memories before ultimately dying as a result of dark magic. When Wren sees her father begin to succumb to the plague, see seeks out the help of the witch in town in hunting down whoever is doing the dark magic to stop them.

With an agreement made, the two set out to join the hunt for the witch who is casting the dark magic. However, along the journey, Tamsin must confront her past and the guilt that weighs her so heavily, and Wren must confront her own history and relationship with her family.

What I loved: The world-building and theories around magic were really intriguing. I found the themes of balance with nature and the give-take of magic to be really thought-provoking. The themes around love were really stunning and gave a lot of fuel for discussion. Love can be quite complex within family, romantic, and even just the relationships with things that bring joy. This book brings up this complexity in so many ways by beginning with a character who is unable to feel it any longer and carrying into how this has led to where she is and where she will be able to go in the future. Love has its own power, and that is really palpable here.

The characters were quite compelling, and both Wren and Tamsin had unique points-of-view that I enjoyed following in the alternating sections. I appreciated both of their perspectives on magic, nature, and witches that made it such an interesting story. The adventure was slow-building, but becomes quite action-packed near the end. Some twists along the way help to maintain interest. I also appreciated that the main romance is f/f, and I was definitely cheering for the two to come together.

What left me wanting more: As small points, I did feel like the pacing was slow in the early parts of the story and I wanted a bit more of the build up to the romance. As someone very excited about the LGBT romance, I think I wanted a bit more of the attraction/tension leading up to it, but there is enough that it is very far from instalove.

Final verdict: Lush, magical, and compelling, SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is an enthralling YA fantasy with intriguing themes and enchanting characters. Highly recommend for fans of THE MIDNIGHT LIE, A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR, and BLOODLEAF.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And not...
The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Riley Oh can't wait to see her sister get initiated...
Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Bite-sized facts about forests from around the globe, pointing out...
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this sweeping debut, Asha Bromfield takes readers to the...
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this tender, nuanced coming-of-age love story, two boys—one who...
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
At the Midnight Ball, leave your inhibitions at the...
The Forest of Stolen Girls
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1426, Joseon (Korea). Hwani's family has never been the...
Go the Distance
 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
What if Meg had to become a god? After...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates...
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about bodies of water from around the globe,...
This Is My America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching...
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magnificent, hand-painted illustrations by a rising star of Czech watercolor...
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Arizona! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
It's Mouse's first day of school. It's Dinosaur's first day...
Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I'm Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter meets Emergency Contact...

Latest Member Reviews

Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
"GUTTER GIRL is a unique YA contemporary romance that follows two main characters, Jace and McKenna. McKenna is an outcast..."
Go the Distance
 
4.0
"Go the Distance by Jen Calonita is the latest installment in Disney’s Twisted Tale series. This time the story focuses..."
Unchosen
 
4.7
"UNCHOSEN by Katharyn Blair is a YA Dystopian novel set in the future after the Crimson, a virus-like curse, turns..."
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
"HURRICANE SUMMER is a sweeping coming-of-age story that captures the difficult and at times dangerous transition to womanhood. Tilla is..."
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
"ALL KINDS OF OTHER is an intriguing YA contemporary that follows two boys as they start at a new school...."
This Is My America
 
5.0
"WHAT I LOVED: Tracy's family is an outsider in multiple ways in their Texas town: they're one of the..."
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
"COUNTING DOWN WITH YOU is a heart-wrenching and visceral YA contemporary read. Karina (Myra is her familial name) is a..."
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
"IN DEEPER WATERS is an intriguing and fast-paced YA fantasy. Tal is the fourth of five royal children in a..."
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
"THESE FEATHERED FLAMES is an enchanting YA fantasy about sisterhood, power, and destiny. When twins are born in the royal..."
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
"THE OTHER SIDE OF PERFECT is an engrossing YA contemporary about loss, grief, moving on, friendship, and sisterhood. Alina has..."
Indivisible
 
5.0
"INDIVISIBLE is a heartfelt and riveting YA contemporary about family, feeling different, and immigration in the US. Mateo is a..."
My Last Summer with Cass
 
5.0
"“A good friendship is like a work of art.” Megan and Cass have been friends forever. Their..."