Follow Your Arrow

Featured
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
569 0
Follow Your Arrow
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
March 02, 2021
ISBN
978-1338640465
Buy This Book
      

For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is a riveting and irresistible take on love, life, and identity -- both online and off. CeCe Ross is kind of a big deal. She and her girlfriend, Silvie, are social media influencers with zillions of fans and followers, known for their cute outfits and being #relationshipgoals. So when Silvie breaks up with her, CeCe is devastated. She's lost her first love, and now she can't help but wonder if she'll lose her followers as well. Things get even messier when CeCe meets Josh, a new boy in town who is very much Not Online. CeCe isn't surprised to be falling for a guy; she's always known she's bi. And Josh is sweet and smart and has excellent taste in donuts... but he has no idea that CeCe is internet-famous. And CeCe sort of wants to keep it that way. But when CeCe's secrets catch up to her, she finds herself in the middle of an online storm, where she'll have to confront the blurriness of public vs. private life, and figure out what it really means to speak her truth.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

thought-provoking YA contemporary
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a name for herself as an influencer. While she initially started her profile to shout her political positions, it has turned into a lifestyle blog about fashion and LGBT rights. CeCe is bisexual, and she has been with her influencer girlfriend Silvie, for years. Together, as #Cevie, they are highly shipped and a OTP. Although they have been arguing more lately, CeCe really loves her - which is why she is thrown for a loop when Silvie says she wants to break up.

Feeling a little lost, CeCe begins to define herself, who she wants to be, and balance social media. When she meets a cute violinist who abhors social media, CeCe is conflicted about how much of her other life to share. Even though CeCe knows she is bi, her social media following doesn't seem like they will understand. When everything catches up to her, CeCe finds herself at the crossroads, where she will have to decide who she is and who she wants to be- on social media and IRL.

What I loved: The inclusion of the posts and comments from social media added something special to this story with some important themes. The book discusses how that B in LGBT+ fits into the spectrum and the prejudices those individuals face in identifying with some really poignant insights. This discussion really captures the challenges around being bisexual and the way this is accepted (or not) by the larger world poignantly.

I also appreciated the challenges and anxieties that CeCe faces in being true to herself - something that often seems difficult to do. Other themes such as the impact of social media on self-esteem and the feeling of being on both sides of the social media crosshairs feel really poignant in today's atmosphere, particularly given the challenges that teens may have in navigating them. This book could set the stage for some important conversations about social media and how to handle a virtual life psychologically and safely.

Another major theme was CeCe and wanting to be true to who she is, while also dealing with some social anxieties. I would have liked to see more resources for her in handling this, but I do appreciate the penultimate message of the importance of authenticity and being your true self.

In terms of the romance, it was cute and slow-building, but I think there was also strength in showing resilience after a surprising breakup. CeCe is shocked by Silvie's declaration, and dealing with the fallout is something most people will face at some point. This was mostly handled with grace throughout, while also showing the emotional difficulties of a breakup.

Final verdict: FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is an engaging YA contemporary about being authentic, living your life for yourself, and the pressures of social media. This would be a great book to help frame discussions around internet use as well as LGBTQIA+ issues.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after classes...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...
Made in Korea
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Frankly in Love meets Shark Tank in this feel-good romantic...
Take Me Home Tonight
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ferris Bueller’s Day Off meets Nick and Nora’s Infinite...
The People We Choose
 
3.3
 
5.0 (1)
When 17-year-old Calliope meets her new neighbor Max, their...
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this sweeping debut, Asha Bromfield takes readers to...
Slingshot
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
An exciting debut contemporary young adult novel perfect for...
The Keeper of Night
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Death is her destiny. Half...
The Girls are Never Gone
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Conjuring meets Sadie when seventeen-year-old podcaster Dare takes an...
White Smoke
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Haunting of Hill House meets Get Out in this...
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this tender, nuanced coming-of-age love story, two boys—one...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Antipodes is a unique work of fiction, set in present-day...

Latest Member Reviews

10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."
Made in Korea
 
4.7
"MADE IN KOREA is a sweet romantic-comedy about competition, family, and reaching for your dreams. Valerie runs a very successful..."
The Keeper of Night
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF DR.IFADE CONTACT ON WHATS_APP NUMBER +1(551)333-5249. OR HIS EMAIL ..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"PERFECTLY PARVIN is a laugh-out-loud, charming YA contemporary fiction read. Parvin is about to begin her freshman year of high..."
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
The Love Song of Ivy K. Harlowe
 
3.0
"THE LOVE SONG OF IVY K. HARLOWE is a new adult read about love, pining, and friendship. Andie is 19..."
The People We Choose
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
The People We Choose
 
3.3
"THE PEOPLE WE CHOOSE is an intriguing YA contemporary about how we define family. Calliope is nearly 18 years old,..."
Choices
 
5.0
"It's no secret that I adore Michelle's books, so it was fun reading one of her earlier books. ..."