Everything that Burns (Enchantee, #2)

Featured
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
372 0
Everything that Burns (Enchantee, #2)
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 02, 2021
ISBN
978-1250295552
Buy This Book
      

Gita Trelease's Everything That Burns is the transporting sequel to All That Glitters, hailed by NPR as a “soaring success”! Camille Durbonne gambled everything she had to keep herself and her sister safe. But as the people of Paris starve and mobs riot, safety may no longer be possible... ...Not when Camille lives for the rebellion. In the pamphlets she prints, she tells the stories of girls living at society’s margins. But as her writings captivate the public, she begins to suspect a dark magic she can’t control lies at the heart of her success. Then Louis XVI declares magic a crime and all magicians traitors to France. As bonfires incinerate enchanted books and special police prowl the city, the time for magic―and those who work it―is running out. In this new Paris where allegiances shift and violence erupts, the answers Camille seeks set her on a perilous path, one that may cost her the boy she loves―even her life. If she can discover who she truly is before vengeful forces unmask her, she may still win this deadly game of revolution.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

captivating YA historical fantasy
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
EVERYTHING THAT BURNS is an enchanting YA historical fantasy. Camille now has the things she thought she wanted - a grand house, safety for her and her sister, and a printing press to print her father's revolutionary ideas. However, she seems to be unable to sell his pamphlets, and she is watching Paris go up in flames. The Revolution is taking hold, but it is leaving key people behind. One such group is that of young girls in a home together that is going to be destroyed because it is unsightly. However, it is all they have.

When Camille decides to help them by telling their stories, her passion for the project cannot help the infusion of magic she accidentally gives. When they capture people's attention across Paris, people begin to look at the changes a bit more closely. However, at the same time, the King's lies about magicians are spreading like wildfire, and magicians have become the enemy of the crown and the Revolution. They are lynched and murdered whenever found, and their trials are a farce - anyone can be accused of practicing magic with little evidence.

Camille and her friends who are born with magic, a defining feature like eye color, are afraid of the fervor that is taking hold. Even if she tries her hardest not to practice magic, Camille still feels at odds with the principles of the Revolution and the persecution and deaths that it seems to bulldoze past.

What I loved: A major theme of the book is about the cost of progress and which ends will justify what means. I found this an intriguing discussion, particularly after a march in which Camille sees the hope - and the unfortunate losses that are created along the way. Her pain, anguish, and internal conflict show throughout this and other passages, as she sees the Revolution with good ideas but also so much hatred for those who are different (in this case, mainly magicians). Freedom is a lofty goal, but for whose freedom people choose to fight is not always inclusive. This is a theme that can resonate throughout history.

Other themes in the book were equally as thought-provoking around racism in the military with Lazare, the power of art with Rosier and Sophie, and the power of parental approval that can be so hard to achieve. There come some powerful self-defining moments when characters must decide who they are and who they want to be, away from expectations, parents, and society. With the girls, there is also a theme about poverty and the powerlessness that one can have in arriving in such a situation. We also see how they can be misused by people in society and how dangerous these interactions could be, because the person who the authorities and communities will listen to is not always the person holding the truth.

The writing really sweeps the reader away in its lyrical nature. The flow is really perfect, and this was a book that was easy to get lost in. I was enchanted by Camille, her sister Sophie, and those around them. The romance really took a backseat, though we do see some of it with Camille and Lazare, but it was a nice addition - I did not feel that the story needed more, and I liked what was there.

What left me wanting more: As a small point, I did want a bit more resolution in terms of the Revolution and the themes around the morality struggles therein. We do get resolution on the other plots though, and generally, we can also see where the Revolution would go.

Final verdict: Enchanting, lyrical, and fierce, EVERYTHING THAT BURNS is a captivating YA historical fantasy with thought-provoking themes. I would definitely recommend considering this one for a book club read. Highly recommend for fans of THE GILDED WOLVES, THE BEAUTIFUL, and A GOLDEN FURY.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites,...
Ember of Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
I am a weed. Unloved by my abusive, alcoholic...
Made in Korea
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Frankly in Love meets Shark Tank in this feel-good...
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fourteen-year-old Iranian-American Parvin Mohammadi sets out to win the...
Havoc (Haven, #2)
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the first time in his life, Rain Ryland...
Finding Junie Kim
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Junie Kim just wants to fit in. So she keeps...
Parachutes
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Speak enters the world of Gossip Girl in this modern...
The Bachmann Family Secret
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jaret Bachmann travels with his family to his beloved...
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Morgan Matson's Save the Date comes a...
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving bilingual ode to the unshakeable bond between a...
Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...

Latest Member Reviews

Rent a Boyfriend
 
5.0
"I'm not even sure where to begin with this review, to be honest, because I loved this book so much...."
Reclaimed
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY EX HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF REAL AND EFFECTIVE SPELL BY doctor0lovespell@gmail.com My name..."
New Moon (Twilight #2)
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY EX HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF REAL AND EFFECTIVE SPELL BY doctor0lovespell@gmail.com My name..."
The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1)
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY EX HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF REAL AND EFFECTIVE SPELL BY doctor0lovespell@gmail.com My name..."
Twilight (Twilight #1)
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY EX HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF REAL AND EFFECTIVE SPELL BY doctor0lovespell@gmail.com My name..."
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY EX HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF REAL AND EFFECTIVE SPELL BY doctor0lovespell@gmail.com My name..."
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY EX HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF REAL AND EFFECTIVE SPELL BY doctor0lovespell@gmail.com My name..."
Parachutes
 
4.7
"WHAT I LOVED: Claire is a rich Chinese girl living the high life in Shanghai with both her parents even..."
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
"SISTER OF THE BOLLYWOOD BRIDE is an engaging YA contemporary read about sisterhood, family, and community with a dash of..."
On the Way to Birdland
 
5.0
"Reviewed By Vincent Dublado for Readers’ Favorite A touching coming of age novel by Frank Morelli, On..."
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"THE HOLLOW INSIDE is a shocking and riveting YA thriller. Phoenix and her mother Nina have been living out of..."
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."
Made in Korea
 
4.7
"MADE IN KOREA is a sweet romantic-comedy about competition, family, and reaching for your dreams. Valerie runs a very successful..."
The Keeper of Night
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF DR.IFADE CONTACT ON WHATS_APP NUMBER +1(551)333-5249. OR HIS EMAIL ..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"PERFECTLY PARVIN is a laugh-out-loud, charming YA contemporary fiction read. Parvin is about to begin her freshman year of high..."
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."