Don't Tell A Soul

Featured
Don't Tell A Soul
Age Range
12+
Release Date
January 26, 2021
ISBN
9780525581208
Buy This Book
      

Stay up all night with this modern day Rebecca! Perfect for fans of Truly Devious—a haunting story about a new girl in an old town filled with dark secrets . . . that might just kill her. People say the house is cursed. It preys on the weakest, and young women are its favorite victims. In Louth, they're called the Dead Girls. All Bram wanted was to disappear—from her old life, her family's past, and from the scandal that continues to haunt her. The only place left to go is Louth, the tiny town on the Hudson River where her uncle, James, has been renovating an old mansion. But James is haunted by his own ghosts. Months earlier, his beloved wife died in a fire that people say was set by her daughter. The tragedy left James a shell of the man Bram knew—and destroyed half the house he'd so lovingly restored. The manor is creepy, and so are the locals. The people of Louth don't want outsiders like Bram in their town, and with each passing day she's discovering that the rumors they spread are just as disturbing as the secrets they hide. Most frightening of all are the legends they tell about the Dead Girls. Girls whose lives were cut short in the very house Bram now calls home. The terrifying reality is that the Dead Girls may have never left the manor. And if Bram looks too hard into the town's haunted past, she might not either.

Editor review

1 review
A haunting tale of finding and believing truth
Overall rating
 
3.7
Plot
 
3.0
Characters
 
4.0
Writing Style
 
4.0
*Audiobook review*

After a scandal in the city, Bram leaves to stay with her uncle James in his manor at Louth, a small town near the Hudson River. Louth has seen its own series of scandals though, and they call them the Dead Girls, a series of young women whose lives have been taken or ruined by the manor. As Bram struggles with her own ghosts, she now must deal with the town's as well, all while trying not to become one herself.

What I Liked:

The creep factor: Give me a trope of a small, creepy house/manor/town/etc. any day, and I will be immediately intrigued. Louth/the manor offers an interesting lore in the Dead Girls. Most prominently among them is the story of a young woman who, after being torn apart from her lover, flees into the night in her wedding dress and drowns in the river. When Bram starts seeing a girl in a white dress, I got chills.

The theme of truth: A central theme to DON'T TELL A SOUL is truth: specifically, knowing or finding the truth and then knowing you won't be believed. This is a connecting theme between Bram and another character (name redacted to prevent spoilers). Bram has been repeatedly gaslit and manipulated by those around her. She feels the hurt of not being believed or even listened to. A big question this book asks is where do you go or who do you turn to when no one believes the truth?

The narration: Emma Galvin voices the audiobook and did a lovely job. Galvin has a distinct voice, not quite gravely or raspy but something close to it that well fits a protagonist who has a chip on her shoulder. There weren't many scenes with more than two or three people speaking, but in all of them, Galvin ensures each voice is clear and recognizable.

What Left Me Wanting More:

While there are many things I liked about DON'T TELL A SOUL, I kept wishing for a little more of something. It followed a solid plot, had complex characters, and of course had the wonderful creep factor, but the mystery rarely caught me off guard or surprised me. Some of the twists fell a little flat for me.

Final Verdict:

Kirsten Miller's DON'T TELL A SOUL is an enjoyable mystery about the significance of truth and the hauntings of trauma. Though the story could be enjoyed in any format, Emma Galvin does a particularly nice job at the narration, so I would recommend going the audiobook route, if that's your style.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account