In the Penalty Box

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
917 0
In the Penalty Box
Age Range
14+
Release Date
January 05, 2021
ISBN
978-1682815762
Buy This Book
      

Willow Figure skating was supposed to be my whole world. But one unlucky injury and now I'm down...but I'm definitely not out. I just need to rehab--a boatload of rehab--and who'd have thought I could do it on the boys' hockey team? Of course, the infuriatingly hot captain of the team seems to think I'm nothing but sequins and twirls. What's a girl to do but put him in his place? Game on. Brodie Hockey is my whole world. I've worked my tail off getting my team in a position to win the championships--hopefully in front of major college scouts, too--so what's a guy to do when a figure skater ends up as our new goalie? Of course, the distractingly sexy skater thinks I'm nothing but a testosterone-laced competitive streak. And surely she's only biding her time to heal, then she's gone. Game over.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

cute YA hockey romance
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
IN THE PENALTY BOX is a cute YA contemporary hockey romance. Willow is a figure skater heading for the Olympics, though her dreams have been derailed by a severe injury. While she is recovering, training and doing physical therapy, she has come home to live with her parents and her grandfather. She has lost her sponsors that allowed her to stay in Colorado with her team, but she knows she can recover and rejoin them in a few months.

Brodie is a star hockey player, who spends a lot of his time taking care of his younger brother after his mother died and his dad's alcoholism has gotten out of control. He loves being out on the ice. When he and his team see Willow stop a runaway puck with flair, they know she's their answer to their injured goalie. When she joins the team and proves her natural talent for goal-keeping, Brodie can't help but notice all the other ways he wants her in his life - but he knows there's a time limit on her stay in town.

What I loved: This was a slow-building romance, and I loved the way Willow and Brodie came together. There are also some interesting themes about being a part of a team and sexism faced in traditionally male sports that added to the book. With the outside drama of what is going on in each of their families, this was an interesting read. The romance is definitely the strongest part of the book, and I loved watching this couple slowly come together and get to know each other on a deeper level. I also really enjoyed the inclusion of some text conversations sprinkled throughout that added some fun and extra connections. I also appreciated the dilemmas towards the end that they face as characters and as a couple and how they were resolved.

What left me wanting more: As a really small point, the beginning of the book is pretty slow as they figure out hockey and then their relationship, and there's a side romance for Willow with another character that felt awkward and out of place. These were minor points for me, as I really liked how it all came together in the end.

Final verdict: A cute hockey romance, IN THE PENALTY BOX is a great read with a solid relationship, great friends, and overcoming obstacles. Highly recommend for people who enjoy YA contemporary romance, particularly sports-themed romances.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 2

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Beetle and the Hollowbones
 
5.0
"Beetle is a goblin-witch who isn't loving the small magic her grandmother teaches her. She'd rather hang out with Blob..."