To Whatever End

Featured
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
672 0
To Whatever End
Age Range
12+
Release Date
January 04, 2021
ISBN
9781640635197
Buy This Book
      

Quinn Easterly is cursed. With one touch, she can see the end to someone's life. Everyday deaths, and ones that haunt her in her daydreams. Ones that have always proven impossible to prevent. She has finally learned to go about life as usual until she meets Griffin. With one touch, she sees a death she simply cannot ignore. Not this time. Not when, dying in her arms, he whispers three simple words that change everything. Even if Quinn can’t change the future, can’t save him, she at least has to try. Even if it means taking the bullet meant for him.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

YA romance
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
TO WHATEVER END is a YA contemporary with a magical twist - the main character is able to see the end of her relationship with someone whenever she touches them. Although she is powerless to change the ending, she has not given up hope of being able to do so through her choices. When she meets a guy at a museum, she sees them confessing their love for each other as he is dying in her arms. Although she knows from past experience that she would be unable to change it, she is determined to try.

As they get to know each other, odd things are happening and they seem to be escalating. Whether Quinn will be able to get to the cause of it all is uncertain - and she knows it's only a matter of time before the end of their relationship plays out in real life.

The premise of this was really intriguing, with Quinn being able to see the end of any relationship with a touch (be it friendship, romance, acquaintance). However, we did not get a lot of insight into this "curse" or why it is handed down through the family. I would have liked more knowledge of it and why fate seems so unbreakable. It straddled the line of a thriller, with the crimes and the person behind it all upping the ante along the way, but the pace and cadence of the book was heavily weighted to romance and the focus on her relationship with Griffin.

In terms of the romance, it fell a little flat for me with Quinn being "different than other girls" and spending a lot of time interrogating Griffin to figure out who would try to kill him (with the motive being to change their future ending). They also straddle adulthood with Griffin living on his own and being out of high school, while Quinn is still in and planning to apply to art school. I think with the magic and thriller/mystery elements, the plot was stretched a little thin and needed more weight on one or another.

I do think this would appeal to fans of EVERMORE and BEAUTIFUL CREATURES. Overall, TO WHATEVER END has an interesting premise with elements of thriller/mystery, romance, and a touch of magical realism.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Dayna Walsh is struggling to cope with her somatic...
If You Go Down to the Woods Today (Brown Bear Wood)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Journey through a magical woodland, with poems to read and...
Bunny Will Not Jump!: Ready-to-Read Level 1
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the endless imagination of Jason Tharp comes a hilarious...
Milo's Christmas Parade
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new picture book from Jennie Palmer starring Milo, a...
Slow Down: 50 Mindful Moments in Nature
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Slow down to watch 50 nature stories that command calm...
Once Upon A Pizza: Eight Crazy Ways Pizza Wasn't Really Invented, And One It Might Have Been
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone loves pizza, but how was it invented? ...
A Kid's Guide to Fandom: Exploring Fan-Fic, Cosplay, Gaming, Podcasting, and More in the Geek World!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Help young fans get in touch with their inner geeks...
Awaken    Book 1 The A'vean Chronicles
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
SOME PEOPLE AREN'T DESTINED TO BE ORDINARY. With a...
Pipsqueaks, Slowpokes, and Stinkers: Celebrating Animal Underdogs
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Underdogs, unite! Celebrated nonfiction author Melissa Stewart offers young readers...
Beneath the Waves
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Open this charming read-aloud book and you'll find amazing animal...
Small Favors
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ellerie Downing is waiting for something to happen. Life in...
Fearghus Academy: October Jewels
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
London, 1864. Fifteen year-old Anna Addison finds herself held at...
Chasing Fireflies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everything happens for a reason. ...
Mine
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A twisty, terrifying ghost story about twelve-year-old Lily, her creepy...
Gold Spun
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
If Nor can't spin gold, she can always spin lies....
Off the Record
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The behind-the-scenes access of Almost Famous meets the searing revelations...

Latest Member Reviews

Incendiary (Hollow Crown #1)
 
4.3
"INCENDIARY is an intriguing YA fantasy with rebellion, magic, and intrigue. Renata was stolen from her parents as a child..."
Love and Other Sins
 
5.0
"Read it in one sitting and can’t wait to read the next one!!"
 
4.3
"This was definitely an interesting book. I really enjoyed all of the witchy aspects of the book! It starts off..."
Small Favors
 
4.7
"SMALL FAVORS is a compelling, spooky, and atmospheric YA fantasy/horror that keeps the reader guessing. Ellerie is a young woman..."
Sidelined
 
4.7
"Julian is looking forward to his senior year in Meridien, Texas. He wants to play football and hopefully get scouted..."
Spectacle
 
3.7
"WHAT I LOVED: Nathalie Baudin is an extraordinary girl even before she discovers her psychometric abilities. She’s just sixteen,..."
Somewhere Only We Know
 
4.0
"Everything I know about K-pop comes from thirsty Twitter fancams, what has made it into the American mainstream, and an..."
A Song Below Water
 
4.3
"WHAT I LOVED: Tavia and Effie’s world is ours with just a little myth-made-real on top. The Hart family..."
Tin Heart
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: Marlowe has spent much of her life living on the edge of death thanks to a..."
Off the Record
 
5.0
"Content warnings: rape, sexual harassment, sexual abuse Once upon a time, I had an ambition to become a journalist...."
The Hawthorne Legacy (The Inheritance Games, 2)
 
5.0
"What I Loved: THE HAWTHORNE LEGACY, a sequel to THE INHERITANCE GAMES, is a book full of intrigue and mystery..."
The Cost of Knowing
 
5.0
"THE COST OF KNOWING is a heartbreaking and beautiful read about family, fate, and racism. After losing his parents and..."
Curses
 
3.3
"* I received an eARC of this book through Edelweiss+ for an honest review* “When..."
Between Perfect and Real
 
5.0
"BETWEEN PERFECT AND REAL is a heartfelt read about finding yourself and coming out. Dean knows that he is a..."
You Were Made for Me
 
3.3
"YOU WERE MADE FOR ME is a comedic YA contemporary/magical read about two friends, Katie and Libby, who somewhat accidentally..."
What I Like about Me
 
4.7
"WHAT I LIKE ABOUT ME is a charming and comical YA contemporary read that tackles some important themes. Maisie is..."
Yolk
 
4.3
"YOLK is an intriguing coming-of-age read that tackles, illness, mental illness, eating disorders, and unhealthy relationships. The story is told..."
When You Know What I Know
 
5.0
"'When You Know What I Know' by Sonja K. Solter is a beautiful story of a girl who is soul-searching..."
Better Together
 
4.7
"'Better Together' by Christine Riccio weaves together two well-known and engaging stories—that of 'The Parent Trap' and 'Freaky Friday'. When..."
Indivisible
 
5.0
"Indivisible is a raw and heart wrenching story, one that is important for everyone to read . It is a..."