The Truth about Keeping Secrets

The Truth about Keeping Secrets
Age Range
13+
Release Date
April 07, 2020
ISBN
978-1728209678
Buy This Book
      
From beloved poet and YouTuber Savannah Brown comes this riveting young adult LGBTQ suspense debut, hailed as "Both ominous and deliciously twisted" (Booklist) and "Visceral, pitch-perfect...A captivatingly moody, introspective drama." (Kirkus Reviews)

Sometimes it's safer for the truth to stay a secret.

Sydney's dad is the only psychiatrist for miles in their small Ohio town. He knows everybody's secrets. Which is why it's so shocking when he's killed in an accident.

Grief-stricken Sydney can't understand why the police have no explanation for what happened the night of her dad's car crash. And when June Copeland, the homecoming queen whose life seems perfect, shows up at the funeral, Sydney's confusion grows.

Sydney and June grow closer in the wake of the accident, but it's clear that not everyone is happy about their new friendship.

What is picture-perfect June hiding? And does Sydney even want to know?

This winding mystery of complex grief, imperfect friendships, and burning secrets is perfect for fans of Sadie and Natasha Preston.

Editor review

1 review
YA contemporary about grief with elements of suspense
Overall rating
 
4.0
Plot
 
4.0
Characters
 
4.0
Writing Style
 
4.0
THE TRUTH ABOUT KEEPING SECRETS is a book about grief, the desire for belonging and understanding, and the search for logic amongst the illogical. Sydney's father unexpectedly died in a car crash, and she feels like she has been set adrift, searching for the meaning in life, death, and the why of it all. Through her grief, she is reached by June, a girl who seems to have been one of her psychologist father's patients and who is also affected by his loss.

As Sydney begins to feel a little more anchored, she receives text messages that make her begin to think that maybe her father's death was not an accident. Sydney is not sure what to do with these messages, but she is afraid of what they could mean, and the implication that she could be next.

The majority of the book is an introspective read about loss, grief, and the search to create meaning from the random. Sydney becomes stuck in thoughts about death and dying. Her mother has trouble reaching her, but she finds solace in June, who is also grieving her father's death, and others who have experienced something similar. The last part of the book really dives deeper into the thriller aspects and leads the reader to an intense crescendo. While the mystery of the texts does drive the plot forward, the strength of this book was more as a contemporary about grief, bearing witness to Sydney's struggles and experiencing the aftermath of her father's death. It felt really genuine.

Overall, this YA contemporary was a compelling read about grief and death of a loved one with some mystery/suspense elements. I would recommend for fans of THEY WISH THEY WERE US, ALL THE BRIGHT PLACES, and LONG WAY DOWN.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account