Six Months Later

Six Months Later
Age Range
14+
Release Date
May 01, 2020
ISBN
978-1728209890
Buy This Book
      
From the bestselling author of teen suspense books, Natalie D. Richards, comes a psychological thriller about a girl who wakes up with everything she's ever wanted, but can't remember the last six months of her life, perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying and If I Stay.

When Chloe fell asleep in study hall, it was the middle of May. But when she wakes up, snow is on the ground, and she can't remember the last six months.

Before, she'd been a mediocre student.
Now, she's on track for valedictorian and being recruited by Ivy League schools.

Before, she never had a chance with sports star Blake.
Now he's her boyfriend.

Before, she and Maggie were inseparable.
Now her best friend won't speak to her.

What happened to her? Remembering the truth could be more dangerous than she'd ever imagined.

Editor review

1 review
thrilling page-turner
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot
 
5.0
Characters
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
SIX MONTHS LATER was a YA suspense/thriller that kept me hooked from the beginning. We meet Chloe, who often feels invisible except to her BFF Maggie. She's definitely invisible to her long-term crush, Blake, who is a stellar student and athlete. After she gets into trouble for pulling the fire alarm to help her BFF out, she winds up taking a nap in study hall only to wake up six months later with no memory of what happened in between.

As she learns more about her life, it feels like a dream - she is suddenly a star student, dating Blake, and super-popular. Why then does her gut scream that its a nightmare? As she starts to learn more about this future, she finds herself pulled toward bad-boy Adam and wondering what horrible thing happened to make her BFF Maggie hate her. The answers are even more convoluted than she could have ever anticipated.

What I loved: I was completely hooked by the premise and the mystery of it all. Chloe ends up relying a lot on her instincts, which I really enjoyed - those gut feelings are so important! The main characters were really intriguing, and I loved this idea of a be-careful-what-you-wish-for style plot. Even when everything seems perfect, it can unravel so quickly behind the shiny façade.

Chloe was an unreliable narrator - her lack of memories of the last six months make her vulnerable and critical at the same time. I was drawn in by her unique perspective and the way she must hunt down the clues. I also really enjoyed some of the side themes about beauty being skin deep and motives mattering to the morality of situations (don't judge a book by its cover perspectives). This ended up being a thought-provoking read, and I was totally there for it.

Although it was a secondary plot, this ended up having a really strong romance in it, and I really enjoyed watching it all come together. I also appreciated the themes about friendship and forgiveness in the book that really make the main characters so three-dimensional. The thriller/suspense elements scattered throughout make this a fast-paced page-turner.

Final verdict: SIX MONTHS LATER is a thrilling ride. I highly recommend to people who like YA thrillers and/or fans of THEY WISH THEY WERE ONE OF US, FOLLOW ME BACK, and/or BEFORE I LET GO.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account