Six Months Later

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1075 0
Six Months Later
Age Range
14+
Release Date
May 01, 2020
ISBN
978-1728209890
Buy This Book
      
From the bestselling author of teen suspense books, Natalie D. Richards, comes a psychological thriller about a girl who wakes up with everything she's ever wanted, but can't remember the last six months of her life, perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying and If I Stay.

When Chloe fell asleep in study hall, it was the middle of May. But when she wakes up, snow is on the ground, and she can't remember the last six months.

Before, she'd been a mediocre student.
Now, she's on track for valedictorian and being recruited by Ivy League schools.

Before, she never had a chance with sports star Blake.
Now he's her boyfriend.

Before, she and Maggie were inseparable.
Now her best friend won't speak to her.

What happened to her? Remembering the truth could be more dangerous than she'd ever imagined.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

thrilling page-turner
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
SIX MONTHS LATER was a YA suspense/thriller that kept me hooked from the beginning. We meet Chloe, who often feels invisible except to her BFF Maggie. She's definitely invisible to her long-term crush, Blake, who is a stellar student and athlete. After she gets into trouble for pulling the fire alarm to help her BFF out, she winds up taking a nap in study hall only to wake up six months later with no memory of what happened in between.

As she learns more about her life, it feels like a dream - she is suddenly a star student, dating Blake, and super-popular. Why then does her gut scream that its a nightmare? As she starts to learn more about this future, she finds herself pulled toward bad-boy Adam and wondering what horrible thing happened to make her BFF Maggie hate her. The answers are even more convoluted than she could have ever anticipated.

What I loved: I was completely hooked by the premise and the mystery of it all. Chloe ends up relying a lot on her instincts, which I really enjoyed - those gut feelings are so important! The main characters were really intriguing, and I loved this idea of a be-careful-what-you-wish-for style plot. Even when everything seems perfect, it can unravel so quickly behind the shiny façade.

Chloe was an unreliable narrator - her lack of memories of the last six months make her vulnerable and critical at the same time. I was drawn in by her unique perspective and the way she must hunt down the clues. I also really enjoyed some of the side themes about beauty being skin deep and motives mattering to the morality of situations (don't judge a book by its cover perspectives). This ended up being a thought-provoking read, and I was totally there for it.

Although it was a secondary plot, this ended up having a really strong romance in it, and I really enjoyed watching it all come together. I also appreciated the themes about friendship and forgiveness in the book that really make the main characters so three-dimensional. The thriller/suspense elements scattered throughout make this a fast-paced page-turner.

Final verdict: SIX MONTHS LATER is a thrilling ride. I highly recommend to people who like YA thrillers and/or fans of THEY WISH THEY WERE ONE OF US, FOLLOW ME BACK, and/or BEFORE I LET GO.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Riley Oh can't wait to see her sister get initiated...
Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Bite-sized facts about forests from around the globe, pointing out...
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this sweeping debut, Asha Bromfield takes readers to the...
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this tender, nuanced coming-of-age love story, two boys—one who...
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
At the Midnight Ball, leave your inhibitions at the...
The Forest of Stolen Girls
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1426, Joseon (Korea). Hwani's family has never been the...
Go the Distance
 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
What if Meg had to become a god? After...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates...
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about bodies of water from around the globe,...
This Is My America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching...
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magnificent, hand-painted illustrations by a rising star of Czech watercolor...

Latest Member Reviews

Go the Distance
 
4.0
"Go the Distance by Jen Calonita is the latest installment in Disney’s Twisted Tale series. This time the story focuses..."
Unchosen
 
4.7
"UNCHOSEN by Katharyn Blair is a YA Dystopian novel set in the future after the Crimson, a virus-like curse, turns..."
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
"HURRICANE SUMMER is a sweeping coming-of-age story that captures the difficult and at times dangerous transition to womanhood. Tilla is..."
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
"ALL KINDS OF OTHER is an intriguing YA contemporary that follows two boys as they start at a new school...."
This Is My America
 
5.0
"WHAT I LOVED: Tracy's family is an outsider in multiple ways in their Texas town: they're one of the..."
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
"COUNTING DOWN WITH YOU is a heart-wrenching and visceral YA contemporary read. Karina (Myra is her familial name) is a..."
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
"IN DEEPER WATERS is an intriguing and fast-paced YA fantasy. Tal is the fourth of five royal children in a..."
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
"THESE FEATHERED FLAMES is an enchanting YA fantasy about sisterhood, power, and destiny. When twins are born in the royal..."
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
"THE OTHER SIDE OF PERFECT is an engrossing YA contemporary about loss, grief, moving on, friendship, and sisterhood. Alina has..."
Indivisible
 
5.0
"INDIVISIBLE is a heartfelt and riveting YA contemporary about family, feeling different, and immigration in the US. Mateo is a..."
My Last Summer with Cass
 
5.0
"“A good friendship is like a work of art.” Megan and Cass have been friends forever. Their..."
The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)
 
5.0
"THE PRISON HEALER is a stunning and captivating YA fantasy read. This book takes place in a prison, Zalindov, which..."