Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
960 0
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
December 01, 2020
ISBN
978-1419749964
Buy This Book
      

The first book in an epic and romantic YA series following the fictionalized descendants of the only officially recognized empress regent of China Gemma Huang is a recent transplant to Los Angeles from Illinois, having abandoned plans for college to pursue a career in acting, much to the dismay of her parents. Now she’s living with three roommates in a two-bedroom hovel, auditioning for bit roles that hardly cover rent. Gemma’s big break comes when she’s asked to play a lead role in an update of M. Butterfly filming for the summer in Beijing. When she arrives, she’s stopped by paparazzi at the airport. She quickly realizes she may as well be the twin of one of the most notorious young socialites in Beijing. Thus kicks off a summer of revelations, in which Gemma uncovers a legacy her parents have spent their lives protecting her from—one her mother would conceal from her daughter at any cost.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

charming rom-com with thought-provoking themes
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
HEIRESS APPARENTLY is a YA rom-com with deep themes that make it such an engaging and captivating read. Gemma is taking a gap year after high school to pursue her dream of acting in LA. Her parents do not love this idea, as they think she should go to college first, but they are generally supportive, offering to help pay rent for the 2-bedroom apartment she shares with two other aspiring actresses. As a Chinese American, Gemma does not quite feel like she fits in the US, and the acting roles she auditions for tend to make that all too clear.

That is, until she lands a role that has the possibility to launch her career - if she can come to terms with the racist and homophobic way that the character has been written. She will be working with her idol, Eilene Deng, who is co-directing and has her own vision for the movie, despite the way that Hollywood has planned the script. To make matters more complicated, the movie is being filmed in Beijing, a place that she knows her parents came from but about which they won't speak. Gemma is hoping to connect with her roots while she is there and find a sense of belonging. When she arrives, she learns that she looks like a Chinese celebrity, Alyssa, and soon her plans are thrown for a loop.

What I loved: Although this book has an adorable romance, there are some deeper and important themes that really make the book shine. The portrayal and explanation of the harmful stereotypes in movies of Asian roles and characters is definitely a big one. I found this to be a multi-dimensional element that not only explains why they are hurtful and wrong but also why actors/actresses may be willing to play these roles and the power dynamics in action there. I also found the themes about family really well done. Not only does Gemma have to worry about her parents and how their relationship will change because of her actions, but she also understands extended family, the complicated roles they can have, and the way to forge new relationships. Gemma shows so much empathy to other characters that also play into this need for connection and deeper relationships.

I also appreciated the way that Gemma shows the feeling of "Other" being Chinese American - not really accepted in the US for the first part of that two-word phrase and not fully accepted in China for the second part. These feelings of immigrants and their descendants are, of course, very much at play still today and quite aptly portrayed.

The romance was quite strong as well, showing the importance of support, care, and understanding paving the way to a better relationship. I also really appreciated the historical and cultural context of China through Gemma's eyes - there is some interesting political background and current climate discussions that were a great addition to the book.

Final verdict: With deep, important themes and intriguing premise, HEIRESS APPARENTLY is a captivating read. Highly recommend for fans of FRANKLY IN LOVE, MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE and/or 10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

American Betiya
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A luminous story of a young artist grappling with first...
The Story Blanket
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Babba Zarrah lives in a tiny village in the snow-covered...
Now That Night is Near
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's bedtime, and across the land everyone is settling down...
Mommy Loves You
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
With heart-shaped lift-the-flaps and a surprise mirror at the end,...
Calm Bunny (Yoga Tots)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Charming illustrations and step-by-step instructions take little ones through a...
The Problem with Pierre
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The differences between Bertram and his neighbor Alan were never...
Noisy Tractor (I Can Learn)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Children will love to press the soft, silicone buttons on...
Ravage the Dark (Scavenge the Stars, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Step into an opulent world filled with risk, romance, and...
Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...

Latest Member Reviews

The Story Blanket
 
5.0
"‘The Story Blanket’ by Ferida Wolff and Harriet May Savitz, illustrated by Elena Odriozola, is the story of Babba Zarrah,..."
Now That Night is Near
 
4.0
"NOW THAT NIGHT IS NEAR is a lovely poem in a picture book about going to sleep. A cat travels..."
Mommy Loves You
 
4.5
"MOMMY LOVES YOU is a sweet board book of love between mother and child. The book features mother and baby..."
The Problem with Pierre
 
4.5
"THE PROBLEM WITH PIERRE is a sweet picture book about a picky cat, good friends, and problem-solving. Bertram and Alan..."
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."