Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)

Featured
 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1468 0
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
December 01, 2020
ISBN
978-1419749964
Buy This Book
      

The first book in an epic and romantic YA series following the fictionalized descendants of the only officially recognized empress regent of China Gemma Huang is a recent transplant to Los Angeles from Illinois, having abandoned plans for college to pursue a career in acting, much to the dismay of her parents. Now she’s living with three roommates in a two-bedroom hovel, auditioning for bit roles that hardly cover rent. Gemma’s big break comes when she’s asked to play a lead role in an update of M. Butterfly filming for the summer in Beijing. When she arrives, she’s stopped by paparazzi at the airport. She quickly realizes she may as well be the twin of one of the most notorious young socialites in Beijing. Thus kicks off a summer of revelations, in which Gemma uncovers a legacy her parents have spent their lives protecting her from—one her mother would conceal from her daughter at any cost.

Editor reviews

2 reviews
Heiress Apparently
(Updated: June 12, 2021)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Plot
 
4.0
Characters
 
4.0
Writing Style
 
4.0
What worked: This was a fun take on Crazy Rich Asians meets descendants of Empress Regent of China. Gemma Huang is taking a Gap year after high school to focus on an acting career. This is very realistic portrayal of what some teens do now. Her Chinese mother pressures Gemma be more serious about her future which includes attending college. One thing though her mother insists is that Gemma never go to Bejing. This only has Gemma curious on why her mother doesn't want her to go there.

I liked Gemma's reaction when she steps off the plane in Bejing and is mistaken for a socialite. Readers get a glimpse into another view of China that isn't on social media. Gemma is curious, determined, and not afraid to search out a mystery behind her own parent's past. The interactions with a cousin she never knew about, along with her trying to overcome stereotypes out there on Chinese characters in the movie world are very real. This also includes her standing up to homophobic stereotypes.

The bubbling romance between her and Eric is one that starts off on the wrong foot, but he ends up becoming her ally while she faces Chinese relatives she never knew about.

There is mention of Tienanmen Square and how the Chinese government basically had it erased. I did want to know more on what the consequences would be if an American persisted in knowing more about that day. I felt the author glossed over that and also how important Communist leaders were also erased from a Google search.

Fun YA meets CRAZY RICH ASIANS. This is part of a series on descendants of the Chinese Dynasty. Kuddos on having a Chinese American protagonist in a romantic Rom-Com world.
Good Points
1. Fun YA meets CRAZY RICH ASIANS
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
charming rom-com with thought-provoking themes
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot
 
5.0
Characters
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
HEIRESS APPARENTLY is a YA rom-com with deep themes that make it such an engaging and captivating read. Gemma is taking a gap year after high school to pursue her dream of acting in LA. Her parents do not love this idea, as they think she should go to college first, but they are generally supportive, offering to help pay rent for the 2-bedroom apartment she shares with two other aspiring actresses. As a Chinese American, Gemma does not quite feel like she fits in the US, and the acting roles she auditions for tend to make that all too clear.

That is, until she lands a role that has the possibility to launch her career - if she can come to terms with the racist and homophobic way that the character has been written. She will be working with her idol, Eilene Deng, who is co-directing and has her own vision for the movie, despite the way that Hollywood has planned the script. To make matters more complicated, the movie is being filmed in Beijing, a place that she knows her parents came from but about which they won't speak. Gemma is hoping to connect with her roots while she is there and find a sense of belonging. When she arrives, she learns that she looks like a Chinese celebrity, Alyssa, and soon her plans are thrown for a loop.

What I loved: Although this book has an adorable romance, there are some deeper and important themes that really make the book shine. The portrayal and explanation of the harmful stereotypes in movies of Asian roles and characters is definitely a big one. I found this to be a multi-dimensional element that not only explains why they are hurtful and wrong but also why actors/actresses may be willing to play these roles and the power dynamics in action there. I also found the themes about family really well done. Not only does Gemma have to worry about her parents and how their relationship will change because of her actions, but she also understands extended family, the complicated roles they can have, and the way to forge new relationships. Gemma shows so much empathy to other characters that also play into this need for connection and deeper relationships.

I also appreciated the way that Gemma shows the feeling of "Other" being Chinese American - not really accepted in the US for the first part of that two-word phrase and not fully accepted in China for the second part. These feelings of immigrants and their descendants are, of course, very much at play still today and quite aptly portrayed.

The romance was quite strong as well, showing the importance of support, care, and understanding paving the way to a better relationship. I also really appreciated the historical and cultural context of China through Gemma's eyes - there is some interesting political background and current climate discussions that were a great addition to the book.

Final verdict: With deep, important themes and intriguing premise, HEIRESS APPARENTLY is a captivating read. Highly recommend for fans of FRANKLY IN LOVE, MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE and/or 10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account