Hot British Boyfriend

Featured
 
4.2 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1113 0
Hot British Boyfriend
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 09, 2021
ISBN
978-0063025912
Buy This Book
      

This enchanting debut teen romance novel, which follows one girl across the Atlantic in a quest to find adventure, love (preferably with a guy with a cute accent), and maybe even herself, is perfect for fans of Kasie West and Stephanie Perkins. After a horrifying public rejection by her crush, Ellie Nichols does what any girl would do: she flees the country. To be more precise, she joins her high school’s study abroad trip to England. While most of her classmates are there to take honors courses and pad their college applications, Ellie is on a quest to rebuild her reputation and self-confidence. And nothing is more of a confidence booster than getting a hot British boyfriend. When Ellie meets Will, a gorgeous and charming Brit, she vows to avoid making the same mistakes she did with the last guy she liked. Which is why she strikes up a bargain with Dev, an overachieving classmate who she’s never clicked with, but who does seem to know a lot about the things Will is interested in: If he helps her win over her crush, then she’ll help him win over his. But even as Ellie embarks on a whirlwind romance, she still needs to figure out if this is actually the answer to all her problems . . . and whether the perfect boyfriend is actually the perfect boy for her. Don't miss this paperback original teen romance book, for girls 13-16 and up as well as adult readers who enjoy a well-written and fun teen romance novel.

Editor reviews

2 reviews
Just my cup of tea
Overall rating
 
4.3
Plot
 
4.0
Characters
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
4.0
Ellie lives in Washington D.C. and attends an elite school, even though the tuition is a stretch for her single mother. She and her friend Crystal work at a smoothie shop, and Ellie is super excited to be going to the birthday party of Andy, a schoolmate and customer on whom she has a big crush. She thinks that he feels the same way, so when he starts a big announcement, she assumes it is directed at her. She is wrong, and the resultant social fallout is cruel. Through some parental sleight of hand, she manages (at some cost, partly borne by her long absent father) to get enrolled in a study abroad program. Her mother is a huge Anglophile, and is glad she is able to send Ellie. Ellie just wants to get away from school, since she's not that invested in any friends there, she also loves England, and the idea of a "hot British boyfriend" makes up for her embarrassment. She's a little alarmed that the other students from her school are all very driven honors students. Her roommate, Sage, is involved in research work in London, and Ellie is taking the easiest courses she can find, so she can experience life in the UK. During an outing to a nearby town with Dev and Huan, she meets Will and his friend Frank. Will is every swoonworthy thing Ellie ever imagined. He's a few years older, isn't in school, but is working in real estate for his very wealthy father. He finds Ellie charming, and is soon whisking her away from school to see the sights. Dev is a bit concerned, but since Huan is interested in Frank (and vice versa), she gets help from her friends in maintaining the relationship. This makes school work even more difficult, and also involves Ellie learning a lot about cricket and other things she doesn't really care about, but is willing to cultivate to insure that Will remains interested. Dev helps with her school work as well as her cricket knowledge. The US students are given a lot of freedom, and soon Ellie is meeting Will in London, and even plans a trip with her friends to Venice. Will and Frank plan to meet the school group there, and there is some discussion about whether Will and Ellie will use the opportunity to take their relationship to the next level. Ellie is somewhat relieved when Will's father won't let him come, but her apprehension returns when Will starts to talk about studying in the States. He's everything she wanted in a boyfriend, so why does she feel more comfortable with Dev?
Good Points
While the characters are in high school, middle school readers LOVE reading about other people being embarrassed, so the beginning of the book is rather brilliant. The circumstances that lead to Ellie being able to go to the school are a bit contrived, but work. I loved the school itself, and the fact that Ellie was shown trying to keep up with her school work AND make the most of being in England. Ellie is interested in gardening, and it's fun to watch her explore that a little bit with the woman in charge of the conservatory. Will is so intriguing, but also a bit too good to be true, and Ellie's attempts to understand cricket prove that while women have come a long way, there are still some problems with finding equitable relationships. It's good to see her develop one with Dev. Sage is great as the driven roommate, and Frank and Huan's relationship is never discussed as anything unusual or noteworthy. The travel is, of course, the best part. The cover is brilliant!

Something about Will set off ALL of my warning bells, and I spent the entire book on the edge of my seat thinking he was a creeper like David in the film An Education! I suppose that feeling adds to the frisson of excitement that Ellie finds with him, but as a mother whose daughter studied in Ireland for a while, it just made me nervous!

I'm always looking for teen romances that are appropriate for middle school readers, and this was good in several regards. There was the phrase "having sex" and a discussion of a mother giving her daughter condoms, but nothing graphic. This was an interesting depiction of a girl learning to be on her own and navigate life, and I think this will resonate with my readers who have moved on to high school books and topics. Definitely purchasing, and was tickled to find out that the author lives in my area!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Adorable Romance and Hot British Boys
Overall rating
 
4.0
Plot
 
4.0
Characters
 
4.0
Writing Style
 
4.0
When Ellie is completely humiliated by her best friend an crush, she decides the best way to escape her jeering classmates is by going to a boarding school across the pond. Here, she's going to school with the best of the best. Her classmates that are also doing the study abroad program seem to be more focused on school than the embarrassing video of Ellie, which is another positive.

Ellie's luck starts to look up at an outside market when she meets the adorable and sweet Will. He is the definition of a hot British boyfriend and Ellie is over the moon at the fact that he's interested in her. Not wanting to mess things up this time, she enlists the help of Dev, one of her classmates from America.

Dev and Will can't be more different, but Dev is still willing to help anyway. Will has a job, is older, well-mannered, likes to spend time with Ellie, and is pretty my the perfect boyfriend. Dev is nerdy, supports Ellie's interests, and is quick to help when she needs it. Ellie is sucked up into the world of romance and is enjoying the adventure while waiting to see where her path takes her.

HOT BRITISH BOYFRIEND is a perfect read for those romance readers out there. You will get sucked into Ellie's world with her and swoon with each page you turn. I love both Dev and Will and the ending of the book left me satisfied! Ellie is an innocent character who just wants to find love and I enjoy that about her. She's nerdy which is just another reason to love her.


Final Verdict: I would recommend this adorable read to fans of romance, friendship, nerds, and British boys!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account