The Gilded Wolves (The Gilded Wolves, #1)

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
847 0
The Gilded Wolves (The Gilded Wolves, #1)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 22, 2020
ISBN
978-1250144553
Buy This Book
      

*AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER* From New York Times bestselling author Roshani Chokshi comes The Gilded Wolves, a novel set in Paris during a time of extraordinary change--one that is full of mystery, decadence, and dangerous desires... No one believes in them. But soon no one will forget them. It's 1889. The city is on the cusp of industry and power, and the Exposition Universelle has breathed new life into the streets and dredged up ancient secrets. Here, no one keeps tabs on dark truths better than treasure-hunter and wealthy hotelier Séverin Montagnet-Alarie. When the elite, ever-powerful Order of Babel coerces him to help them on a mission, Séverin is offered a treasure that he never imagined: his true inheritance. To hunt down the ancient artifact the Order seeks, Séverin calls upon a band of unlikely experts: An engineer with a debt to pay. A historian banished from his home. A dancer with a sinister past. And a brother in arms if not blood. Together, they will join Séverin as he explores the dark, glittering heart of Paris. What they find might change the course of history--but only if they can stay alive.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

enthralling YA historical fantasy
(Updated: October 18, 2020)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
THE GILDED WOLVES is a fantastic YA fantasy. Although given a year in the 1800s and a historical setting, the world is completely different and did not feel like a historical fiction to me (I'm not always a historical fiction fan so this was preferred). I would definitely label this as a fantasy vs. historical in terms of genre. Anyway, I absolutely loved it. We follow a group of young people who are led by Severin, the heir of House Vanth. Although he is the financial heir, he has been unable to claim his birthright (embodied by the House ring)- he believes that the results were falsified because of the color of his skin. This birthright would have placed him as one of the leading houses of the Order of Babel.

"Half of winning, my dear wallet, is simply looking victorious."

The Order of Babel safeguards the location of the Babel Fragments, which were scattered throughout the world after the failure of the Tower of Babel. These led to certain individuals developing powers in a certain skill, which is called Forging. Severin has assembled such a group of individuals with these gifts who are bound by their contracts/promises (in a magical type of way) and by the fact that they have become a family. They work together to steal specific artifacts which they believe will further their causes- to seek hidden treasures.

"Is it our shame that we're hiding or our delusions that we can hide at all?"

We follow the book from various points-of-view. Although Severin is probably the main figure, we also follow Laila quite a bit. She is known as L'Enigme, who performs for crowds and is rumored to have slept with many wealthy and influential people. She came from India in search of a specific book and has a long scar down her back which represents her biggest secrets. There are also Enrique and Zofia, who work on Forging specific items with a host of skills. Enrique is personable and has a big personality, while Zofia must decode human interactions and act according to what she has learned (I suspect she is on the autistic spectrum). Zofia is mathematical and loves to use explosives/fire. The last of the group is Tristan who adores his spiders and spends a lot of time in his greenhouses, forging. He grew up with Severin and they are essentially brothers (though not through blood). We get glimpses of the horrors of their upbringing with their foster fathers labeled according to which of the 7 deadly sins they most embodied.

"I think the greatest power is belief, for what is a god without it?"

The group is soon joined by Hypnos, the young heir of House Nyx and also a POC, who strikes a bargain to restore Severin's birthright/ring in exchange for his group's help to locate and obtain an artifact. Hypnos was delightful with many jokes and much hopefulness (for instance when he asks Zofia if they are/can be friends, she asks what it would entail and he replies "Well, on Wednesdays, we sacrifice a cat to Satan."). I absolutely loved his addition to this lovely group of people. As they begin this quest, they find they have stumbled upon something bigger and more dangerous than they could have imagined. And what a journey it is- magic, villains, and traps at every turn!

"Lust is safer than love, but both can ruin you."

This book absolutely captured me from the beginning, and I loved every second of it. The characters were amazing and so diverse, with different ethnicities and sexual orientations. They are all completely endeared to my heart, as Chokshi made us care about all of them (which seems hard to do with so many but I adore them all). There was also a touch of romance between a few of the characters, and it just felt like icing on the cake. I was completely enamored of this world, the writing, and the cast, and I absolutely need the next book in this series stat! While it wasn't a complete cliffhanger (the main part of this book was wrapped up), the overall story continues into the next book, so you will be left wanting the next. Lovers of YA fantasy will not be disappointed- this is an amazing new series, and I am absolutely gushing over how much I loved it!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...
Chess Not Checkers
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Chess not Checkers is a teen novel with adult adventures...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After surviving the Crossing, Zahru has sworn off adventures. While...
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
MAY THE HAZEL BRING YOU WISDOM AND THE ASPEN...
Revolution in Our Time: The Black Panther Party’s Promise to the People
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
With passion and precision, Kekla Magoon relays an essential account...
Kneel
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This fearless debut novel explores racism, injustice, and self-expression through...

Latest Member Reviews

The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
"THE BOX IN THE WOODS is a fantastic continuation of Stevie's story with a whole new cold case to solve...."
 
4.7
"Miles "Pudge" Halter seeks for a "Great Perhaps", and attends Culver Creek, a boarding school. Yet, he finds himself with..."
 
5.0
"To say that this book was one of my most anticipated releases for 2021 is an understatement. After the impact..."
 
5.0
"Oh my goodness what a way to end this series! I honestly took a little longer to finish this book..."
 
5.0
"I absolutely loved this sequel. The first one was such a good set up for this book. Nita is free..."
Not Even Bones
 
4.3
"So, this book was not what I was expecting it to be. First, it takes place in the real world...."
Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet
 
5.0
"What worked: I loved this engaging, heart-felt story with one strong Chicanx protagonist. Think I'M NOT YOUR PERFECT MEXICAN DAUGHTER..."
All our Hidden Gifts
 
4.3
"ALL OUR HIDDEN GIFTS was a riveting and darkly captivating YA fantasy/thriller/horror read. Maeve is a teen girl and not..."
The Lost Girls
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
The Outsiders
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1)
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
Twilight (Twilight #1)
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
For the Wolf (The Wilderwood, #1)
 
4.7
"FOR THE WOLF is a captivating fantasy read that sweeps the reader away to the Wilderwood. Redarys (Red) is the..."
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
"Simone's Haitian immigrant parents are very strict; she and her sister Anne have to go to an all girls school..."
Chasing Lucky
 
4.3
"Josie Saint-Martin and her mother have lived an itinerant lifestyle ever since they left the small Rhode Island seaside town..."
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
4.7
"Curse of the Specter Queen by Jenny Elder Moke is Indiana Jones meets The Mummy (1999) and encompasses everything I..."
The Heartbreak Bakery
 
4.7
"Seventeen-year-old agender Syd loves baking, but when her brownies set off a string of breakups-including her own-she comes up with..."
Heartbreakers and Fakers
 
5.0
"HEARTBREAKERS AND FAKERS is a consuming YA contemporary romance that I absolutely devoured. Penny wakes up on the lawn after..."
Of Princes and Promises (Rosetta Academy, #2)
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD ZULU..."