Hush (Hush, #1)

Featured
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
625 0
Hush (Hush, #1)
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
October 06, 2020
ISBN
978-1250235909
Buy This Book
      

Graceling meets Red Queen in this exciting debut novel by an electrifying new voice "Hush has all the trappings of a great fantasy: a curse, a labyrinthine castle, many secrets, and powerful magic. At the center of it all, a girl unwilling to allow her world to be twisted by lies when she knows the truth. A truly gripping read." - Emily A. Duncan, New York Times bestselling author of Wicked Saints They use magic to silence the world. Who will break the hush? Seventeen-year-old Shae has led a seemingly quiet life, joking with her best friend Fiona, and chatting with Mads, the neighborhood boy who always knows how to make her smile. All while secretly keeping her fears at bay… Of the disease that took her brother’s life. Of how her dreams seem to bleed into reality around her. Of a group of justice seekers called the Bards who claim to use the magic of Telling to keep her community safe. When her mother is murdered, she can no longer pretend. Not knowing who to trust, Shae journeys to unlock the truth, instead finding a new enemy keen to destroy her, a brooding boy with dark secrets, and an untold power she never thought possible. From Dylan Farrow comes Hush, a powerful fantasy where one girl is determined to remake the world.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

enthralling YA fantasy
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
HUSH is an enthralling YA fantasy that kept me guessing all the way through. In Montane, words have particular power, and writing and reading is forbidden because it can poison the body with a disease known as the Blot. Shae's brother was killed by the Blot, and her mother has never quite been the same, not speaking at all anymore. Shae and her mother are outcasts in Aster, where they live, as no one wants to associate with those who the Blot has touched.

Montane is ruled by Cathal and the Bards, a law enforcement-style group that also has the power of Telling, willing things into being through their words - including being able to save people from the Blot and make it rain, ending droughts. Bards tend to be men, and very few women possess the ability, which is not inherited but seems to be random.

After Shae's mother is murdered, she recognizes the weapon as one owned by the Bards. Even though everyone else seems to be telling her that she does not know what she saw and that the truth is otherwise, Shae is determined to find her mother's murderer. The path that she takes will lead her on a journey she could never have predicted with many twists and turns.

What I loved: This world absolutely fascinated me, and I love the ideas here. In this first book, the atmosphere is created, the mystery placed, but answers are slow coming. I was completely caught up in this book, and it definitely left me eager for the next book. There are some interesting themes about trust and judgement, and Shae has some hard lessons still to learn about guarding her heart and the cruelty of the world. Shae is an interesting character, driven by her moods and singular notions that lead her to rush headfirst into- sometimes bad- decisions. I loved her passion and her heart that are still learning and growing. She was an interesting character through whose eyes to view this world.

What left me wanting more: The only thing I wish is that I had more of everything. I wanted more of Shae in Astor, her dreams there, and the way that things happen in this world. I also wanted more of the build-up for romantic relationships, so I could understand why Shae made some of those decisions that she did. I also wanted to learn more about this world, its mythology, and the conflicting histories that are being suppressed. I am hoping we will get more answers in the next book, as I am very eager for more.

Final verdict: Overall, this is a captivating YA fantasy that kept me guessing all the way through. I am definitely interested in learning more about this world and characters in future books. Highly recommend for fans of Tricia Levenseller, Cassandra Clare, and Amanda Hocking.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Incredible Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this illustrated guide, discover fascinating and unusual information about...
Special Delivery
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lovely book to share with children in an expecting...
Eyelike Stickers: Trains
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hundreds of irresistible, reusable, and collectible stickers to mix, match,...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
It is twenty years since the events of La Belle...
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first book in an epic and romantic YA series...
Winter Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
WINTER LIGHT is the story of 15-year-old Mary Donahue...
Talent
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sandee Mason is convinced her life will change if she...
WITHIN THE FOLDS OF A SWAN'S WINGS
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if the one element that has always defined you...
The Good Girls
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
One of Us Is Lying meets Sadie in this twisty,...
Frozen 2: Dangerous Secrets: The Story of Iduna and Agnarr
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Iduna harbors a dark secret. On the surface, she...
All our Hidden Gifts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Maeve’s strangely astute tarot readings make her the talk of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Cassie needs a horse. She’s determined to move up...
A Higher Version of Me (The Destiny Clark Saga Book 9)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Just when everything seems to be perfect, it all falls...
A Happier Version of Me (The Destiny Clark Saga Book 8)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two guys. One girl. A big confusing mess. ...
A Healthier Version of Me (The Destiny Clark Saga Book 7)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
She broke his heart. Will he ever forgive her? ...
A Steadier Version of Me (The Destiny Clark Saga Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He wants her back, but she’s already taken. ...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.3
"If your expecting the same type of books that you’ve been reading in this series, you’d be wrong. This whole..."
The Kinder Poison
 
5.0
"From start to finish I absolutely adored this story. The opening scene was so much fun to read while Zahru..."
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
5.0
"HEIRESS APPARENTLY is a YA rom-com with deep themes that make it such an engaging and captivating read. Gemma is..."
The Good Girls
 
4.0
"THE GOOD GIRLS is an enthralling read. The book begins after the disappearance and seeming murder of the police chief's..."
All our Hidden Gifts
 
4.0
"Maeve finds a pack of tarot cards while cleaning out a closet at her school. What starts off as curiosity,..."
Frozen 2: Dangerous Secrets: The Story of Iduna and Agnarr
 
4.7
"DANGEROUS SECRETS: THE STORY OF IDUNA AND AGNARR is a great MG/YA fantasy romance. Based on Frozen, this book tells..."
Hot British Boyfriend
 
4.0
"When Ellie is completely humiliated by her best friend an crush, she decides the best way to escape her jeering..."
The Camelot Betrayal (Camelot Rising, #2)
 
4.7
"THE CAMELOT BETRAYAL continues Guinevere's story as she seeks to find her footing in a world that keeps throwing her..."
Loveboat, Taipei
 
4.7
"WHAT I LOVED: Ever’s pushy parents have already gotten their way by making her apply to medical school, but..."
The Mermaid, The Witch, and the Sea
 
5.0
"THE MERMAID, THE WITCH, AND THE SEA is a lush, beautiful, and romantic fantasy that follows Flora, now living as..."
Super Fake Love Song
 
4.3
"SUPER FAKE LOVE SONG is a YA contemporary romance about siblings, feeling like an outcast, and friendship. Sunny definitely feels..."
The Companion
 
5.0
"Margot is the survivor of a devastating accident in which her entire family drowns in their car. She is taken..."