Recommended for You

Featured
Recommended for You
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 01, 2020
ISBN
978-1534474192
Buy This Book
      

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before meets You’ve Got Mail in this charming and hilarious rom-com following two teen booksellers whose rivalry is taken to the next level as they compete for the top bookseller bonus. Shoshanna Greenberg loves working at Once Upon, her favorite local bookstore. And with her moms fighting at home and her beloved car teetering on the brink of death, the store has become a welcome escape. When her boss announces a holiday bonus to the person who sells the most books, Shoshanna sees an opportunity to at least fix her car, if none of her other problems. The only person standing in her way? New hire Jake Kaplan. Jake is an affront to everything Shoshanna stands for. He doesn’t even read! But somehow his sales start to rival hers. Jake may be cute (really cute), and he may be an eligible Jewish single (hard to find south of Atlanta), but he’s also the enemy, and Shoshanna is ready to take him down. But as the competition intensifies, Jake and Shoshanna grow closer and realize they might be more on the same page than either expects…

Editor review

1 review
cute bookish YA rom-com
Overall rating
 
4.0
Plot
 
4.0
Characters
 
4.0
Writing Style
 
N/A
RECOMMENDED FOR YOU is a cute YA romantic comedy set in a bookstore. Shoshanna loves working at Once Upon, an independent bookstore at the mall. When the new guy, Jake, starts, Shoshanna is shocked to learn that he doesn't read many books and they get off to a terrible start as a result. When the bookstore owner starts a contest for who sells to the most customers with a cash bonus at the holidays, Shoshanna is determined to win. She needs the money to fix Barbra, her car.

At the same time, Shoshanna is dealing with a difficult home environment as her mothers are fighting more and more frequently. Shoshanna is desperate to save their marriage and the family life that had always been so great. She is also dealing with some drama with her BFFs over a bad decision she made.

What I loved: I love Shoshanna's growth during the story, as she begins to think twice before making what could be a bad decision. She learns a lot throughout, and I loved watching it happen. The inclusion of marital strife in parents was also a great inclusion that adds some depth to the story and is a situation that some teens may really connect with. And, of course, the bookstore setting will delight booklovers everywhere. The holiday setting and Jewish main characters also added a nice touch to the story.

The romance is a bit background, but I love a good enemies-to-relationship story, and this one did deliver amongst the other, heavier themes. I liked both Shoshanna and Jake and was happy with the way their friendship developed.

Final verdict: A cute YA rom-com with a holiday setting, RECOMMENDED FOR YOU will delight booklovers with its charm and bookish fun. Recommend for fans of THE BOOKWORM CRUSH and TWEET CUTE.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account