Recommended for You

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
835 0
Recommended for You
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 01, 2020
ISBN
978-1534474192
Buy This Book
      

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before meets You’ve Got Mail in this charming and hilarious rom-com following two teen booksellers whose rivalry is taken to the next level as they compete for the top bookseller bonus. Shoshanna Greenberg loves working at Once Upon, her favorite local bookstore. And with her moms fighting at home and her beloved car teetering on the brink of death, the store has become a welcome escape. When her boss announces a holiday bonus to the person who sells the most books, Shoshanna sees an opportunity to at least fix her car, if none of her other problems. The only person standing in her way? New hire Jake Kaplan. Jake is an affront to everything Shoshanna stands for. He doesn’t even read! But somehow his sales start to rival hers. Jake may be cute (really cute), and he may be an eligible Jewish single (hard to find south of Atlanta), but he’s also the enemy, and Shoshanna is ready to take him down. But as the competition intensifies, Jake and Shoshanna grow closer and realize they might be more on the same page than either expects…

Editor reviews

1 reviews

cute bookish YA rom-com
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
N/A
RECOMMENDED FOR YOU is a cute YA romantic comedy set in a bookstore. Shoshanna loves working at Once Upon, an independent bookstore at the mall. When the new guy, Jake, starts, Shoshanna is shocked to learn that he doesn't read many books and they get off to a terrible start as a result. When the bookstore owner starts a contest for who sells to the most customers with a cash bonus at the holidays, Shoshanna is determined to win. She needs the money to fix Barbra, her car.

At the same time, Shoshanna is dealing with a difficult home environment as her mothers are fighting more and more frequently. Shoshanna is desperate to save their marriage and the family life that had always been so great. She is also dealing with some drama with her BFFs over a bad decision she made.

What I loved: I love Shoshanna's growth during the story, as she begins to think twice before making what could be a bad decision. She learns a lot throughout, and I loved watching it happen. The inclusion of marital strife in parents was also a great inclusion that adds some depth to the story and is a situation that some teens may really connect with. And, of course, the bookstore setting will delight booklovers everywhere. The holiday setting and Jewish main characters also added a nice touch to the story.

The romance is a bit background, but I love a good enemies-to-relationship story, and this one did deliver amongst the other, heavier themes. I liked both Shoshanna and Jake and was happy with the way their friendship developed.

Final verdict: A cute YA rom-com with a holiday setting, RECOMMENDED FOR YOU will delight booklovers with its charm and bookish fun. Recommend for fans of THE BOOKWORM CRUSH and TWEET CUTE.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Incredible Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this illustrated guide, discover fascinating and unusual information about...
Special Delivery
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lovely book to share with children in an expecting...
Eyelike Stickers: Trains
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hundreds of irresistible, reusable, and collectible stickers to mix, match,...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
It is twenty years since the events of La Belle...
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first book in an epic and romantic YA series...
Winter Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
WINTER LIGHT is the story of 15-year-old Mary Donahue...
Talent
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sandee Mason is convinced her life will change if she...
WITHIN THE FOLDS OF A SWAN'S WINGS
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if the one element that has always defined you...
The Good Girls
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
One of Us Is Lying meets Sadie in this twisty,...
Frozen 2: Dangerous Secrets: The Story of Iduna and Agnarr
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Iduna harbors a dark secret. On the surface, she...
All our Hidden Gifts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Maeve’s strangely astute tarot readings make her the talk of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Cassie needs a horse. She’s determined to move up...
A Higher Version of Me (The Destiny Clark Saga Book 9)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Just when everything seems to be perfect, it all falls...
A Happier Version of Me (The Destiny Clark Saga Book 8)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two guys. One girl. A big confusing mess. ...
A Healthier Version of Me (The Destiny Clark Saga Book 7)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
She broke his heart. Will he ever forgive her? ...
A Steadier Version of Me (The Destiny Clark Saga Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He wants her back, but she’s already taken. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Mastery of Earth (Legends of the Tri-Gard Book 3)
 
5.0
"Oh the feels this book gave me. Davi's officially back but still not really? His memories are all over the..."
Glass Princess
 
5.0
"This second entry was good, well technically fifth. I am really glad that the story picked up right after the..."
Depths: A Tale of the Little Mermaid
 
3.8
"Set in a Greek/Roman era, where not only one but three worlds are colliding, Arianna is a human girl who..."
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
4.0
"'My High School Rebel Boyfriend' by Kylie Key follows main characters Harper and Mitchell as they have to find a..."
Launch (Rise of the Anointed #1)
 
5.0
"This superhero tale is a lot of fun, with likeable characters, lots of action, and a thread of faith that..."
Princess of Death
 
4.0
"What I loved: Pirates, princesses, and a curse! What wasn’t to love and be drawn in by..."
Sting Magic
 
4.8
"What a start to the series! Sting Magic by Sarah K.L. Wilson is a fantastic, quick read that takes you..."
Heart Sister
 
4.5
"Emmet has just lost his twin sister Minnie, to a horrible accident. When Minnie's parents decided to fulfill her wish..."
The Hunt
 
4.8
"Oh where do I begin? The Hunt by Frost Kay is the first book in her fantasy series The Twisted..."
The Runaway (Barrett Boys #1)
 
5.0
" The Story: Michael is running from the mistakes of his past, both his mistakes..."
My Skull Possession
 
3.5
"My Skull Possession is a book which seems to be scaring people to death. Brighton wants to find out the..."
Twisting Minds
 
4.8
"The story: At seventeen, Claire Harper’s life has taken a turn for the worse – her mother..."
Fae's Prisoner (Crimes of the Fae)
 
5.0
"This is the book I didn’t know I needed! Fae’s Prisoner by M. Lynn & Melissa A. Craven is the..."
Fae's Prisoner (Crimes of the Fae)
 
5.0
"After reading Queens of the Fae, I had such mixed feelings about Griffin... but now I love him! This book..."
Just Shelby
 
N/A
"ARCs available for review @XpressoBookTours: http://xpressobooktours.com/2020/09/10/review-opportunity-just-shelby-by-brooklyn-james/?fbclid=IwAR2v9c-b9Z0YagynLTaMCNt-c-WW6nmWYZbuVBZYFoGNADs5c-DD6YayMGU"
Sword of the Seven Sins
 
5.0
" The story: Ari and Eva are young members of a society based on the seven deadly sins,..."
Things That Should Stay Buried
 
5.0
"Casey L. Bond has been on my reading list for years, and now I can finally say I have read..."
Of Thorns and Beauty (Twisted Pages Book 1)
 
5.0
"Dark and twisted just like I like them! Of Thorns and Beauty by Elle Madison, Robin D. Mahle is the..."
The Verity
 
5.0
"FEEDBACK Friends. FRIENDS. This book was so good. I apologize in advanced if it’s just a bunch of rambling..."
Emerge: Immortals of Indriell (Book 1)
 
4.3
"Emerge by Melissa A. Craven is the first book in her series Immortals of Indriell and is a fast-paced adventure..."