The Faithless Hawk (The Merciful Crow, #2)

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
849 0
The Faithless Hawk (The Merciful Crow, #2)
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 18, 2020
ISBN
978-1250191946
Buy This Book
      

Kings become outcasts and lovers become foes in The Faithless Hawk, the thrilling sequel to Margaret Owen's The Merciful Crow. As the new chieftain of the Crows, Fie knows better than to expect a royal to keep his word. Still she’s hopeful that Prince Jasimir will fulfill his oath to protect her fellow Crows. But then black smoke fills the sky, signaling the death of King Surimir and the beginning of Queen Rhusana's merciless bid for the throne. With the witch queen using the deadly plague to unite the nation of Sabor against Crows—and add numbers to her monstrous army—Fie and her band are forced to go into hiding, leaving the country to be ravaged by the plague. However, they’re all running out of time before the Crows starve in exile and Sabor is lost forever. A desperate Fie calls on old allies to help take Rhusana down from within her own walls. But inside the royal palace, the only difference between a conqueror and a thief is an army. To survive, Fie must unravel not only Rhusana’s plot, but ancient secrets of the Crows—secrets that could save her people, or set the world ablaze.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

absolutely fantastic novel with all the feels
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
THE FAITHLESS HAWK is one of my favorite reads of 2020. I laughed, I sighed, I cried, and this book even made me shiver- it is that good. I am pretty much a jumbled mess of thoughts, in the best way. Seriously. This series should be on the top of reads lists everywhere. This book is a sequel to THE MERCIFUL CROW, so you do need to read the first book before jumping into this one, but Owen does do a good job of providing context throughout, so that you can read the second one without having immediately read the first.

There is betrayal, magic, romance, and destiny all combined so beautifully within. Fie is a Crow Chieftain in a world where people are separated by their birth into castes, where they have Birthrights, a type of magic for people in their caste. Crows have no birthrights and are considered the lowest of the low. They scrape out the barest living providing mercy (death) to people who have the Sinner's plague. Without them doing so, the plague would spread with devastating consequences. They have no home except the road, as they follow plague beacons to deal with the ill. Fie has never been satisfied with their lot, and she wants more for her people. She struck a bargain with the prince that should have led to more.

However, the evil queen, Rhusana, a witch who can control people through a strand of their hair, is determined to wipe Crows from the face of the earth, and it seems as though her plots and schemes will lead to the Crows demise. Fie cannot allow this to happen, even when forces seem to be working against her at every turn.

What I loved: Owen broke my heart and stitched it back together constantly in this book. I felt just about every emotion in this book, and it seriously gave me chills in places. I will also admit that I cried twice. Any book that can give the reader so much emotion and so strongly is one worth reading. I think this sequel was even better than the first (and I really loved the first), for its ability to take us on so many important journeys with underlying themes about politics, perspectives, and prejudices. There are so many characters here who will always own my heart, and they speak to the soul with their motives and emotions. It is hard to even describe how well-written this book is.

The plot is perfectly paced with plenty of unexpected twists and turns that I totally did not see coming. I love to be surprised, and this book managed to do it in a way that made sense. The romance that made us fall in love is here, but changed and with an undeniable pull. The characters are so compelling, and the plot delivers in a big way.

Final verdict: I cannot recommend THE FAITHLESS HAWK enough. Be prepared for a massive book hangover and absolutely no regrets after reading this book. Owen speaks to the reader's soul with this highly compelling and beautifully composed YA fantasy series.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."