What Goes Up

Featured
What Goes Up
Age Range
14+
Release Date
August 18, 2020
ISBN
978-0062387981
Buy This Book
      

How do you forgive yourself—and the people you love—when a shocking discovery leads to a huge mistake? Acclaimed author Christine Heppermann’s novel-in-verse tackles betrayals and redemption among family and friends with her signature unflinching—but always sharply witty—style. For fans of Elana K. Arnold, Laura Ruby, and A. S. King. When Jorie wakes up in the loft bed of a college boy she doesn’t recognize, she’s instantly filled with regret. What happened the night before? What led her to this place? Was it her father’s infidelity? Her mother’s seemingly weak acceptance? Her recent breakup with Ian, the boy who loved her art and supported her through the hardest time of her life? As Jorie tries to reconstruct the events that led her to this point, free verse poems lead the reader through the current morning, as well as flashbacks to her relationships with her parents, her friends, her boyfriend, and the previous night. With Poisoned Apples: Poems for You, My Pretty and Ask Me How I Got Here, Christine Heppermann established herself as a vital voice in thought-provoking and powerful feminist writing for teens. Her poetry is surprising, wry, emotional, and searing. What Goes Up is by turns a scorchingly funny and a deeply emotional story that asks whether it’s possible to support and love someone despite the risk of being hurt. Readers of Laura Ruby, E. K. Johnston, Elana K. Arnold, and Laurie Halse Anderson will find a complicated heroine they won’t soon forget.

Editor review

1 review
Room for Discussion
Overall rating
 
3.3
Plot
 
3.0
Characters
 
3.0
Writing Style
 
4.0
'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be very enticing not only because of the fast pace it takes, but due to its more intense nature as there are fewer words to convey all of the emotions and stories being told. Even though the engaging format of novels-in-verse is compelling, it seemed like this book could have been longer to help fill the gaps that were left in terms of what is happening in Jorie's family life and how it has affected who she is and how she sees herself.

When Jorie finds herself waking up in the bed of a stranger, her upset at the situation she has found herself in is obvious. Being broken up with someone that she still has to see and do things with doesn't make her life any easier as she contemplates the fallout of what she has found herself dealing with in the moment.

It was interesting that there was a lot of scientific talk in the book, but for people who don't understand all of the jargon, the metaphors that are often used don't always resonate the way they surely would if they were more relatable to a larger number of readers.

Despite there not being quite enough to make the book feel as “whole” as one might like, there is a lot of room for discussion that can be generated from the textual references, metaphors, and emotional storyline. Jorie is a typical girl dealing with typical issues that are making her feel like life isn't easy or understandable. Everyone has been through something like this, even if they haven't acted in quite the way Jorie does in the story. Yet, that is one of the interesting aspects of this book, and books in general. They allow readers to explore the depths of someone else's life to help make sense of who they as readers are and how the books help define their own character through the eyes of the book characters themselves.
Good Points
There is a lot of room for discussion that can be generated from the textual references, metaphors, and emotional storyline. The book allows readers to explore the depths of someone else's life to help make sense of who they as readers are and how the books help define their own character through the eyes of the book characters themselves.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account