Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)

Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 11, 2020
ISBN
978-0062571052
Buy This Book
      
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster or lose everyone she loves in the finale of this acclaimed trilogy from New York Times bestselling authors Rachel Caine and Ann Aguirre. Perfect for fans of Illuminae and The Fifth Wave.

Space renegade Zara Cole may have finally met her match. Lifekiller—a creature that can devour entire planets—is spreading terror throughout the universe, and it seems nothing can stand in the monstrous godking’s way.

Zara’s street smarts may not be enough when their enemy could be anywhere, destroying civilizations and picking his teeth with the bones.

With human enemies, alien creatures, and mechanical stalkers on her tail, it’s down to the wire for Zara to save the galaxy—and the people she calls home—before the godking consumes them all.

Editor review

1 review
conclusion to The Honors series
Overall rating
 
3.3
Plot
 
3.0
Characters
 
4.0
Writing Style
 
3.0
HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors they unleashed when they brought Bacia the god-king, Lifekiller. Zara was an Honor from Earth, a person who is chosen for a spaceflight program with the living spaceships, Leviathan. Zara bonded with Nadim and ended up leaving the program when they encountered the terrible enemy that those who go on the Journey (the path they can be chosen for after the Honor year) must fight.

Zara and Nadim are accompanied by Bea, as well as Typhon and his crew, and the Bruqvisz, a lizard-like alien species with a thirst for battle, stories, and dance. They are all on the path to find and stop Lifekiller before he destroys the universe, but this is complicated by the other threads they have tangled along the way and the uncertain path forward.

What I loved: This third book brings pretty much all the plots to a close. There is a lot of action here, and I loved getting to learn more about the Bruqvisz, who ended up being some of my favorite characters. I really enjoy the humor in these books that pops up from time to time, and there's many laughs among the serious, the sighs, and the gasps. This book is great at capturing emotions, and the end is every bit as intense as you would expect.

What left me wanting more: This book felt a bit more scattered than the earlier books, and it was tough to tie up all the loose ends. It was harder to stay hooked in this book, because there is a lot of action and misdirections that take us away from the primary battle, and so the book seems to drag in places. The romance here also felt a little awkward/forced and I felt like I didn't really see the build to it, and it comes back at odd moments (though I get the relationship between adrenaline and attraction).

Final verdict: HONOR LOST gives readers a conclusion to the Honors series with great new characters and more world-building- plus plenty of action/adventure.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account