10 Things I Hate About Pinky

Featured
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
503 0
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
July 21, 2020
ISBN
978-1534416819
Buy This Book
      

The delightful follow-up to When Dimple Met Rishi and There’s Something about Sweetie, which follows Ashish’s friends Pinky and Samir as they pretend to date in order to achieve their individual goals, to disastrous and hilarious results. Pinky Kumar wears the social justice warrior badge with pride. From raccoon hospitals to persecuted rock stars, no cause is too esoteric for her to champion. But a teeny tiny part of her also really enjoys making her conservative, buttoned-up corporate lawyer parents cringe. Samir Jha might have a few…quirks remaining from the time he had to take care of his sick mother, like the endless lists he makes in his planner and the way he schedules every minute of every day, but those are good things. They make life predictable and steady. Pinky loves lazy summers at her parents’ Cape Cod lake house, but after listening to them harangue her about the poor decisions she’s made (a.k.a. boyfriends she’s had), she hatches a plan. Get her sorta-friend-sorta-enemy—who is a total Harvard-bound Mama’s boy—to pose as her perfect boyfriend for the summer. When Samir’s internship falls through, leaving him with an unplanned summer, he gets a text from Pinky asking if he’ll be her fake boyfriend in exchange for a new internship. He jumps at the opportunity; Pinky’s a weirdo, but he can survive a summer with her if there’s light at the end of the tunnel. As they bicker their way through lighthouses and butterfly habitats, sparks fly, and they both realize this will be a summer they'll never forget.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

cute fake dating contemporary
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky is spending the summer with her family at their vacation home, when the barn burns down. Pinky's mother immediately accuses her of doing so- likely with an irresponsible paramour, and to defend herself, Pinky says she has a totally responsible boyfriend. However, she does not actually have one.

Then, Pinky hears about Samir and how his summer internship with a DC law firm fell through. Samir has everything in his life planned and is exactly the kind of guy her lawyer parents would love. She asks him to come spend the summer with her as her fake boyfriend and says she can help him get an internship with her mother, the Shark, during the school year. It seems like a win-win situation.

Even after the truth about the barn comes out that it was definitely not Pinky, Pinky is still eager for her parents' approval, something that Samir brings her. As she and Samir spend time together, they find that they are opposites in pretty much everything- and that can definitely attract. Together, they launch into Pinky's summer project- protesting the razing of the Butterfly Habitat she loves in favor of a condo complex.

What I loved: I really enjoy that the girl here has the "bad boy" vibe, even though Pinky's rebellions are activist projects and adopting an opossum. The romance heats up the pages, and its easy to cheer for Pinky and Samir, even as they seem to be fighting about everything early on. Their respect for the other's opinions- even when they don't agree- and their insight into each other's personalities really makes this a great romance read.

I also really loved the view on activism, the legwork of it, and its importance to a community and making voices heard. Pinky is a passionate character, and I loved seeing that passion and determination build towards something great (even if her parents were not on-board). I also appreciated the growth of Pinky, Samir, and Pinky's relationship with her mother throughout the book. The characters here are really great.

What left me wanting more: I would have liked some more focus on Samir and his relationship with his mother (especially what happened when she found out he was lying)- we don't really get closure on that, except a couple comments at the end.

Final verdict: Great for romantic comedy fans, 10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute summery read with a couple that is easy to cheer for! With extra themes of activism and dealing with parental expectations, this is a great YA contemporary read.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
3.0
"Paola “Pao” Santiago loves science and hanging out with her best friends, Emma and Dante. She doesn’t love how superstitious..."
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
"KAMALA AND MAYA'S BIG IDEA is a picture book based on a true story about pursuing your goals and doing..."
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
"HARVEY HOLDS HIS OWN is a contemporary middle grade told from three perspectives: Maggie, Harvey, and Austin. Maggie is starting..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
Feast of Peas
 
4.0
"'Feast of Peas' by Kashmira Sheth, illustrated by Jeffrey Ebbeler, is a cute story that captures how something might be..."
The House of Madame M
 
4.5
"THE HOUSE OF MADAME M is a creepy and interactive book that invites readers to take a tour. They are..."
Like Best Friends
 
4.0
"LIKE BEST FRIENDS is a great picture book to teach about similes. The plot is fairly simple. A boy is..."
Paper Planes
 
4.0
"PAPER PLANES is a sweet picture book about evolving friendships when friends must move away. Mia and Ben are best..."
Good Guys, Bad Guys
 
3.5
"GOOD GUYS, BAD GUYS features children at play and divides them throughout by their actions and roles. The good guys..."
Rad!
 
3.5
"RAD! is a simple but colorful book about trying new things. The book follows five cats, Esther, Chester, Lester, Hester,..."
Thesaurus Has a Secret
 
5.0
"'Thesaurus Has a Secret' by Anya Glazer is a cute story about a dinosaur named Thesaurus. He loves words, but..."
TBH, Too Much Drama (TBH, #3)
 
4.0
"'TBH: Too Much Drama' by Lisa Greenwald is another one of her creative stories told in text messages, emails, and..."
Fresh Princess: Style Rules!
 
5.0
"FRESH PRINCESS: STYLE RULES! is a fun book about marking your mark. Destiny is starting at a new school, and..."
Willow the Armadillo
 
5.0
"WILLOW THE ARMADILLO is a cute picture book about reaching for your dreams and what it means to be a..."
Bad Brows
 
4.0
"BAD BROWS is a humorous picture book that follows Bernard when he wakes up for a day with brows that..."