Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
172 0
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 05, 2020
ISBN
978-1338326178
Buy This Book
      
Half-witch, half-mortal 16-year-old Sabrina Spellman has made her choice: She's embraced her witchy roots, and her power is growing daily. But will it come at too high a price?

It's not easy being half-mortal, half-witch. At least, not for Sabrina Spellman. She just discovered that her dad is Satan... and that it's her destiny to rule Hell.

As usual, Sabrina's got other plans for her future. She's figured out a way to trap her father... but he's caged in the body of her boyfriend, Nick Scratch. Now the love of her life is stuck in Hell... with Satan stuck inside him.

Sabrina knows there's a way to get Nick back while also keeping dear old dad out of commission. She just has to figure out what it is. Unfortunately, her loyal cousin Ambrose is unavailable because he's off hunting Father Blackwood, the evil former head of the Church of Night.

Fortunately, Sabrina's still got her mortal friends, Roz, Harvey, and Theo. So when her aunt Zelda, now the church's high priestess, mentions an ancient quest that might help open the gates of Hell, Sabrina and her friends are all in. But Zelda failed to mention that the quest has some perils of its own...

Editor reviews

1 reviews

deep characters and new insights make this a great companion to the Netflix show
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This book takes place in between Parts 2 and 3 of the show and follows the main characters through several points-of-view. Sabrina and her friends, Roz, Theo, and Harvey, are trying to find a way to save Nick, who is trapped in hell. Ambrose is traveling with Prudence to help her find her father, who has taken her brother and sister. Hilda and Zelda are managing to control a house of witches and warlocks who were displaced when the Academy was destroyed.

What I loved: The books are heavily introspective and delve into each character in a way that makes them more whole, flawed, and lovely. I particularly appreciated the insight into Nick in this book, and the beautiful thoughts of Nick, as well as Ambrose, Theo, and the other key characters. There is something really special about meeting these characters in a book, and Brennan really takes us deeper into their psyche and thought processes in a way that enhances the characters we know on the surface from the show.

This book focuses a lot on love, its necessity and its complexity. A lot of characters are driven by love, even if they don't want to be, and their other thoughts are in conflict because of it. There is the love of friends, the love between former-lovers-now-friends, between family, and between the families that people make. All of these are complex, beautiful, and so genuine in the book.

There is also a nice touch of adventure, with the quest(s) that the "Fright Club" (e.g. Sabrina, Roz, Harvey, and Theo) go on with the Lady of the Lake to find the tools they need to rescue Nick. I also really appreciate the touches of humor throughout, as there are subtle touches of comedy among the macabre. There are also some really insightful/thought-provoking moments throughout as well. A particular favorite of mine is the side conversation about the inherent misogyny of the Phoenix in the X-Men movies, with how powerful women need to be subdued/destroyed.

Final verdict: PATH OF NIGHT is an excellent companion book to the Netflix show that gives us deeper characterizations and new insights into the characters we love. Highly recommend for fans of the show or for fans of thought-provoking YA fantasy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
3.0
"Paola “Pao” Santiago loves science and hanging out with her best friends, Emma and Dante. She doesn’t love how superstitious..."
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
"KAMALA AND MAYA'S BIG IDEA is a picture book based on a true story about pursuing your goals and doing..."
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
"HARVEY HOLDS HIS OWN is a contemporary middle grade told from three perspectives: Maggie, Harvey, and Austin. Maggie is starting..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
Feast of Peas
 
4.0
"'Feast of Peas' by Kashmira Sheth, illustrated by Jeffrey Ebbeler, is a cute story that captures how something might be..."
The House of Madame M
 
4.5
"THE HOUSE OF MADAME M is a creepy and interactive book that invites readers to take a tour. They are..."
Like Best Friends
 
4.0
"LIKE BEST FRIENDS is a great picture book to teach about similes. The plot is fairly simple. A boy is..."
Paper Planes
 
4.0
"PAPER PLANES is a sweet picture book about evolving friendships when friends must move away. Mia and Ben are best..."
Good Guys, Bad Guys
 
3.5
"GOOD GUYS, BAD GUYS features children at play and divides them throughout by their actions and roles. The good guys..."
Rad!
 
3.5
"RAD! is a simple but colorful book about trying new things. The book follows five cats, Esther, Chester, Lester, Hester,..."
Thesaurus Has a Secret
 
5.0
"'Thesaurus Has a Secret' by Anya Glazer is a cute story about a dinosaur named Thesaurus. He loves words, but..."
TBH, Too Much Drama (TBH, #3)
 
4.0
"'TBH: Too Much Drama' by Lisa Greenwald is another one of her creative stories told in text messages, emails, and..."
Fresh Princess: Style Rules!
 
5.0
"FRESH PRINCESS: STYLE RULES! is a fun book about marking your mark. Destiny is starting at a new school, and..."
Willow the Armadillo
 
5.0
"WILLOW THE ARMADILLO is a cute picture book about reaching for your dreams and what it means to be a..."
Bad Brows
 
4.0
"BAD BROWS is a humorous picture book that follows Bernard when he wakes up for a day with brows that..."