Of Ice and Shadows

 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
241 0
Of Ice and Shadows
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
August 13, 2019
ISBN
9780062841223
Buy This Book
      
The long-awaited sequel to Of Fire and Stars—in which Mare and Denna travel to a new and dangerous kingdom where Denna must be trained to tame her magic by a mysterious queen who is not all she seems. Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and Tamora Pierce.

Princesses Denna and Mare are in love and together at last—only to face a new set of dangers.

Mare just wants to settle down with the girl she loves, which would be easier if Denna weren’t gifted with forbidden and volatile fire magic. Denna must learn to control her powers, which means traveling in secret to the kingdom of Zumorda, where she can seek training without fear of persecution. Determined to help, Mare has agreed to serve as an ambassador as a cover for their journey.

But just as Mare and Denna arrive in Zumorda, an attack on a border town in Mynaria changes everything. Mare’s diplomatic mission is now urgent: she must quickly broker an alliance with the queen of Zumorda to protect her homeland. However, the queen has no interest in allying with other kingdoms; it’s Denna’s untamed but powerful magic that catches her eye. The queen offers Denna a place among her elite trainees—an opportunity that would force her to choose between her magic and Mare.

As Denna’s powers grow stronger, Mare struggles to be the ambassador her kingdom needs. By making unconventional friends, her knowledge of Zumorda and its people grow, and so too do her suspicions about who is truly behind the attacks on Zumorda and her homeland.

As rising tensions and unexpected betrayals put Mare and Denna in jeopardy and dangerous enemies emerge on all sides, can they protect their love and save their kingdoms?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

a delight and an example
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
WHAT I LOVED:
One of my biggest complaints about Of Fire and Stars was its lacking characterization, but that’s been turned around and now the characterization is what makes this novel such an enthralling, fulfilling read. Denna and Mare spend the beginning of the novel together, but once Denna gets the opportunity to train and get control of her fire magic with Queen Invasya of Zumorda herself, she bids Mare a heartbreaking farewell and they remain separated for most of the novel.

This will be a dealbreaker for some readers who hate to see a couple separated from each other so soon in a sequel after they got together in the previous novel, but I’ll argue that it serves them both well. Awkward, antisocial Mare is now without Denna’s diplomatic skills, so she has to learn how to make political friends, strategize, and do things in a land where her title as a princess means nothing. Zumordan people even look down on her because she lacks magical abilities. Meanwhile, Denna has to fight. Everything she learned when she was intended to be a prince’s bride means nothing to other magical competitors she’ll have to physically and magically fight when her training with the queen comes to an end. The queen herself isn’t to be trusted either once she learns of Denna’s lineage.

If the girls had stayed together in the same place, they wouldn’t have found their independence, their strengths, and themselves. When the two meet again, they do so as women who have grown up, worked out the doubts and trust issues, and are now on equal ground with one another. Denna is in control and Mare is no longer afraid of or afraid for Denna.

WHAT LEFT ME WANTING:
The strides in both Denna and Mare’s characterizations are what carries this book, which is a good thing because the plot has some incredible problems, like the introduction of a seventh god not even the prequel Inkmistress hinted at and a villain who shouldn’t even be possible considering the events and ending of the aforementioned prequel. These plot holes are large enough that I can only hope they’re exclusive to the ARC I read and they were filled in before the book was finalized and put on sale. If not, we have a problem. I can’t easily double-check this either since it all comes about at the very end of the book.

Also toward the end of the novel, Mare–who has been learning to use a sword for two months and earning every advancement she made–is gifted a magical sword that literally has spells in it to make up the gap in the wielder’s swordfighting abilities and make them fight like a master swordsman. That’s almost exactly how the sword’s magic is explained in the novel. There was admittedly no way Mare would get her swordfighting abilities up to snuff for the final battle when the novel takes place over just two months, but the sword cheapens the hard work she’s put in and makes that effort on her part feel like it wasn’t worth anything.

FINAL VERDICT:
Though it’s equally as messy as its preceding volume in different ways, Of Ice and Shadows is a delight and an example of how to successfully improve on characterization in a sequel without breaking up the central couple or introducing new love interests. Though I still have many, many questions, this reads like the conclusion of a series and I don’t expect to get any answers. If what you need right now is joy regardless of quality, try Coulthurst’s series and read them in order by when they were released. Inkmistress is the strongest of the three overall, but they come together into a good story I won’t be forgetting any time soon.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Handpicked by Amazon kids’ books editor, Seira Wilson, for Prime...
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join Gray Malin’s menagerie of wild animals for a stay...
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Hattie the magician―she’s a natural performer, and you’re invited...
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When spring arrives, baby animals come out to play with...
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The delightful follow-up to When Dimple Met Rishi and There’s...
The Child of Chaos
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is what fantasy fiction should be." --Piers Anthony, New...
Want to Read Rate this book 1 of 5 stars2 of 5 stars3 of 5 stars4 of 5 stars5 of 5 stars Preview Star-Spangled: The Story of a Flag, a Battle, and the American Anthem
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
“O say can you see” begins one of the most...

Latest Member Reviews

Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"An intriguing and twisty book. The story: Callie is just a girl who loves to surf...."
The Hunt
 
4.5
"What a ride! The story: Tempest is our fierce heroine who wants nothing more than to become the..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"'Dating Nashville' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven follows some of the same characters that graced the pages of..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to start with this book. I practically finished it in one day (and I would..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"Growing up with the stories of the Nihryst, Adalina wants nothing more than to find them and break their curse...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
4.8
" The story: Jesse Kerrigan has it all: good looks, charisma, and popularity. Even though he’s..."
Fae Hunter
 
4.5
"An enjoyable tale of a young woman who loses her sister and her sight to the Fae, but that is..."
Dragon Rebellion (The Hidden Warrior)
 
4.8
"Fantastic conclusion! Dragon Rebellion by M. Lynn is the final book in The Hidden Warrior duology picking up weeks after..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
"The descriptions of Parkour are entertaining and opened my eyes to a new discipline that I was scarcely aware of..."
Dragon Rebellion (The Hidden Warrior)
 
5.0
"DRAGON REBELLION opens up with Jian and Hua taking refuge in Hua's family farm, but she hasn't awoken since she..."
Chosen (Gem Creek Bears, Book 1)
 
4.3
"When Tris escapes from being kidnapped by her boyfriend Corbin, she does the only logical thing. She gets the heck..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
"I enjoyed this book immensely. As with all of her books, Pam Withers masterfully builds up the characters and skilfully..."
Inebriated
 
5.0
"'Inebriated' by Katey Taylor is a hauntingly real look at the power of intoxication, whether it be in the form..."
The Path We Take
 
4.0
"'The Path We Take' by Kylie Key shows how the choices we make and the things we think we want..."
Outlawed
 
4.5
"The story: When her father forces her to travel back in time to correct the mistake he made, Maryanne..."