Agnes at the End of the World

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
676 0
Agnes at the End of the World
Age Range
13+
Release Date
June 09, 2020
ISBN
978-0316487337
Buy This Book
      

The Handmaid's Tale meets Wilder Girls in this genre-defying novel about a girl who escapes a terrifying cult only to discover that the world Outside has succumbed to a viral apocalypse. Agnes loves her home of Red Creek -- its quiet, sunny mornings, its dusty roads, and its God. There, she cares tirelessly for her younger siblings and follows the town's strict laws. What she doesn't know is that Red Creek is a cult, controlled by a madman who calls himself a prophet. Then Agnes meets Danny, an Outsider boy, and begins to question what is and isn't a sin. Her younger brother, Ezekiel, will die without the insulin she barters for once a month, even though medicine is considered outlawed. Is she a sinner for saving him? Is her sister, Beth, a sinner for dreaming of the world beyond Red Creek? As the Prophet grows more dangerous, Agnes realizes she must escape with Ezekiel and leave everyone else, including Beth, behind. But it isn't safe Outside, either: A viral pandemic is burning through the population at a terrifying rate. As Agnes ventures forth, a mysterious connection grows between her and the Virus. But in a world where faith, miracles, and cruelty have long been indistinguishable, will Agnes be able to choose between saving her family and saving the world?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

compelling and thought-provoking YA dystopian
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
AGNES AT THE END OF THE WORLD is a poignant YA dystopian that really speaks to humanity and the present. Agnes has grown up in Red Creek, a cult that is ruled over by the Prophet and resembles those we have heard of. Women are suppressed and are wed when they are as young as 14 to men with many wives. Illnesses are only to be treated with prayer, and death is God's punishment for fault. Agnes had a revelation when she was young and the Earth spoke to her as a voice and music she knew as God. However, when she brought this up, she learned quickly to suppress it, her Sunday School teacher beating her hands with a Bible until her finger broke- only the Prophet can talk to God.

Now, Agnes is in rebellion and aware of the dangers it carries. She meets with someone from the outside to get the medicine that can save her brother Ezekiel, who has type 1 diabetes and would die without the insulin. However, doing so goes against all the Prophet's teachings, and Agnes lives a life which is otherwise "pure." Things are changing though, in her world and in the Outside, as the outsider she meets for medicine warns her.

Agnes must make hard decisions about who she is, the religion that raised her, and her own destiny.

What I loved: This book is highly addictive and captivating. Agnes and her story are something unique and different that speak to organized religion and cults, the problems with a black-and-white world view, sexism, the manifestation of God (as Agnes experiences), and faith. During the book, we see the world from 16-year-old Agnes and, to a lesser extent, her 15-year-old sister Beth's points-of-view, both intriguing, multidimensional, and heartfelt. Complicated love shines through the pages, primarily for humanity and family. This book gave me all the feels and chills as I was reading it, particularly right now when a plague feels somewhat prophetic (of course manifesting differently and with different consequences).

This book has elements of magical realism and the wonder of the world- for things we know and those we cannot yet know. The complexity of faith and religion is also touched on throughout in really intriguing ways. This is a truly thought-provoking read that will stick with me for some time.

Final verdict: Compelling and poignant, AGNES AT THE END OF THE WORLD is a fantastic read about humanity, faith, and love. The complexities and intricacies of the plot and relationships are beautifully combined into a triumph of dystopian fiction. Would highly recommend for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES, THE HANDMAID'S TALE, and THE GRACE YEAR.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."