The Falling in Love Montage

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
981 0
The Falling in Love Montage
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
June 09, 2020
ISBN
978-0062957115
Buy This Book
      

Two girls embark on a summer of montage-worthy dates (with a few strings attached) in this hilarious and heartfelt lesbian rom-com that’s perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han. Seventeen-year-old cynic Saoirse Clarke isn’t looking for a relationship. But when she meets mischievous Ruby, that rule goes right out the window. Sort of. Because Ruby has a loophole in mind: a summer of all the best cliché movie montage dates, with a definite ending come fall—no broken hearts, no messy breakup. It would be the perfect plan, if they weren’t forgetting one thing about the Falling in Love Montage: when it’s over, the characters have fallen in love...for real. Ciara Smyth’s debut is a delightful, multilayered YA rom-com that will make you laugh, cry, and absolutely fall in love.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

conversational YA contemporary romance
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
THE FALLING IN LOVE MONTAGE is a beautiful YA contemporary romance that follows Saoirse (Seer-sha). Saoirse speaks to the reader with a very conversational tone, following the summer after her graduation from high school before she takes her next steps. Saoirse has sworn off relationships and prevents herself from ever getting close by only kissing curious straight girls. Her heart was broken about eight months earlier by her BFF and long-term girlfriend, Hannah. When Hannah dumped her, Saoirse was devastated and realized some hard truths about her own life and datability.

Saoirse's mother has early-onset dementia, and Saoirse knows that it may also someday be her own genetic fate. She also thinks about her father and his choices during that/this time, which are also affecting her life. Her own future feels cloudy, and she is not sure that the life plan she has had is what she wants anymore. When she meets Ruby at Oliver's party, she is not prepared for all the feelings Ruby makes her feel. After accidentally kidnapping a kitten, they start on something for fun. They plan to recreate the rom-com falling in love montage- but Saoirse has a plan to prevent herself from getting the feels. However, life does not always go according to plan.

What I loved: This book was so much deeper than I expected at first glance. While it does have some laugh-out-loud funny moments (Barbara, the wedding dress seller, is AMAZING), it also has other moments so true and sad that it made me tear up. Saoirse is dealing with a lot- not always in the best way, but dealing with it all the same. The book really shows a lot of character growth, epiphanies, and still manages to pay homage to the rom-com (however reluctantly Saoirse goes there). Ruby and Saoirse seem destined in the stars, and I totally want to peek into the future and see what's what there.

However, the biggest parts of the book- the most important parts- are Saoirse figuring out what she wants to be and how she wants to be. She faces romance, family, and friends with some avoidance and some fights, but she manages to really make the reader fall in love with her and take us along for the journey. This book gives a lot of feels, and it is a truly heartfelt read.

Final verdict: Heartfelt, comical, and ultimately beautiful, THE FALLING IN LOVE MONTAGE is a journey worth taking. Readers will fall in love with Saoirse and watching her highs and lows as she travels through the summer of decisions. Barbara may still be my favorite character, but there are so many to love in this book- they will definitely stick with you. Highly recommend for fans of LOVE, SIMON, THE LAST TRUE POETS OF THE SEA, and A CONSTELLATION OF ROSES.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Final Season
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player...
Sunny Makes a Splash (Sunny #4)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The latest in the New York Times bestselling Sunny series...
The Magical Reality of Nadia (The Magical Reality of Nadia #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the author's real life experiences, this rollicking, charming...
What Adults Don’t Know About Architecture: Inspiring young minds to build a more beautiful world
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Children are rarely introduced properly to architecture, but there are...
The Curse of the Crystal Cavern (The Pathfinders Society #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fresh from their hair-raising adventures in The Mystery of the...
The Mystery of the Moon Tower (The Pathfinders Society)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kyle is a new kid in town who likes to...
Fresh
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A hilarious and vulnerable coming-of-age story about the thrilling...
Sting Magic
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
She has the wrong kind of magic but the...
Poison Ivy: Thorns
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
There's something unusual about Pamela Isley--the girl who hides...
The Dead and the Dark
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Courtney Gould’s thrilling YA debut The Dead and the...
The Great Destroyers
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Blood, sweat, and death. Welcome to the Pax Games....
Illusionary (Hollow Crown, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this thrilling adventure, our magical heroine embarks on...
Lies My Memory Told Me
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
From the thrilling voice of Sacha Wunsch comes a heart-stopping...
Signs of Survival A Memoir of the Holocaust
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
RENEE: I was ten years old then, and my sister...
So. Many. Feelings Stickers: 2,700 Stickers for Every Mood
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
2,700 stickers for every mood! ...

Latest Member Reviews

Final Season
 
5.0
"Ben Redd enjoys playing football with his 6th grade friends, especially Tuna, even though sometimes the way they act worries..."
What Adults Don’t Know About Architecture: Inspiring young minds to build a more beautiful world
 
4.0
"This book is an interesting overview of a variety of architecture, although the vast majority of it is from western..."
The Curse of the Crystal Cavern (The Pathfinders Society #2)
 
4.0
"Kyle has settled in to life at Windrose with the help of camp mates and friends Vic, Beth, Harry, and..."
The Mystery of the Moon Tower (The Pathfinders Society)
 
4.0
"Kyle and his mother move back to Windrose, where his mother was raised, and she sends him to Merriweather's camp..."
Poison Ivy: Thorns
 
4.3
"Let me start with the artwork. This was so beautifully done and I loved every single panel. It really pulled..."
Lies My Memory Told Me
 
4.7
"What I Loved: In Lies my Memory Told Me, Nova is the daughter of the people who created Enhanced Memory...."
Signs of Survival A Memoir of the Holocaust
 
4.7
"What worked: This haunting memoir is about two young sisters who helped each other survive the Holocaust. Both of the..."
So. Many. Feelings Stickers: 2,700 Stickers for Every Mood
 
5.0
"SO. MANY. FEELINGS STICKERS is a fantastic and fun collection of stickers around emotions. With 2,700 stickers, it is difficult..."
Hi-Five Farm!
 
5.0
"HI-FIVE FARM! is an adorable board book adventure with opposites and hi-fives aplenty. The book features many barnyard animals offering..."
Sugar and Spite
 
4.0
"Jolina and her family have moved from Manila to the small island of Isla Pag-Ibig. After the death of her..."
The Dead and the Dark
 
5.0
"THE DEAD AND THE DARK is a deliciously creepy paranormal thriller/horror. Logan lives with her two fathers, who co-host a..."
Fearless
 
3.0
"Monica Garcia is thrilled to get an understudy role on Broadway. At 12, this is the first time she will..."
Revolution in Our Time: The Black Panther Party’s Promise to the People
 
5.0
"I've been looking forward to this nonfiction book since at least 2009, when The Rock and the River came out,..."
The Great Destroyers
 
3.3
"THE GREAT DESTROYERS is an intriguing alternate history that brings robot fighting into the Cold War. Jo is a teenager..."
Paradise on Fire
 
4.0
"Addy lives in the Bronx with her grandmother, Bibi, who has moved from Nigeria to care for her after the..."
Fresh
 
4.3
"FRESH is an entertaining and thought-provoking coming-of-age story. Elliott is a middle child, heading to college far from home at..."
Illusionary (Hollow Crown, #2)
 
5.0
"ILLUSIONARY is a beautifully written sequel in a strong YA fantasy duology. The book begins after the first ended, with..."
Bluebird
 
5.0
"It's 1946 and Eva and her friend Brigit leave behind destroyed Berlin for New York City. Eva carries a deadly..."
Incendiary (Hollow Crown #1)
 
4.3
"INCENDIARY is an intriguing YA fantasy with rebellion, magic, and intrigue. Renata was stolen from her parents as a child..."
Love and Other Sins
 
5.0
"Read it in one sitting and can’t wait to read the next one!!"