The Archer at Dawn (The Tiger at Midnight, #2)

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
484 0
The Archer at Dawn (The Tiger at Midnight, #2)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 26, 2020
ISBN
978-0062869241
Buy This Book
      
Romantic intrigue and electric action fill the gripping sequel to The Tiger at Midnight, a world inspired by ancient Indian history and Hindu mythology. Perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir and Victoria Aveyard.

A stolen throne. A lost princess. A rescue mission to take back what’s theirs.

For Kunal and Esha, finally working together as rebels, the upcoming Sun Mela provides the perfect guise for infiltrating King Vardaan’s vicious court. Kunal returns to his role as dedicated soldier, while Esha uses her new role as adviser to Prince Harun to seek allies for their rebel cause. A radical plan is underfoot to rescue Jansa’s long-lost Princess Reha—the key to the throne.

But amidst the Mela games and glittering festivities, much more dangerous forces lie in wait. With the rebel’s entry into Vardaan’s court, a match has been lit, and long-held secrets will force Kunal and Esha to reconsider their loyalties—to their countries and to each other.

Getting into the palace was the easy task; coming out together will be a battle for their lives. In book two of Swati Teerdhala’s epic fantasy trilogy, a kingdom will fall, a new ruler will rise, and all will burn.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

enthralling sequel to a unique YA fantasy
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
THE ARCHER AT DAWN is a fantastic sequel in the THE TIGER AT MIDNIGHT trilogy. This second book picks up where the first one left off, again giving us both Esha and Kunal's perspectives. Esha, the Viper, is torn between duty to her cause, her own desires for revenge, and her growing feelings for Kunal. She has little time to think of these personal conflicts, as she travels to the Sun Mela, a religious time of celebration and contest, and the time is nearing for the Crescent Blades (the rebellion led by her and Harun) to act.

Kunal is now becoming central to a lot of the rebel plans, and he is finding himself torn between his loyalty to the soldiers, the family he did not know he had, and the rebels whose cause he has taken. His feelings for Esha are ever-present, but when she seems to keep things from him related to the cause, he wonders if she actually trusts him. He is also torn by his friendships with soldiers- one of whom is working for a rival rebellion (the Scales) and cannot seem to leave him out of the plots.

The Sun Mela reveals Vardaan's new plots, as Harun and his father (rulers of Dharka) are there under the guise of a peace treaty, but Vardaan (disputed ruler of Jansa) is hiding Reha, the lost princess, and clearly has bigger schemes afoot. The timeline is shortened for the Blades' action, and they must free Reha and replace Vardaan. Vardaan is also running a contest of battle skills that Kunal will enter while they investigate to get closer to where they need to be.

However, nothing is quite as it seems, and all sides are playing the others with potentially devastating consequences.

What I loved: This book had me completely hooked on the contests, the mysteries, and the romance. This series is really unique, based on Indian history and Hindu mythology, and while the world-building is less in the sequel than the first, which laid everything out, we still get these connections and further information here. This did not feel like a filler book to flesh out a trilogy. A lot happens here, and the contest really keeps the pace fast.

The character development here really shines, as we witness the internal conflicts for both Esha and Kunal. These result in some interesting discussions of loyalty, romance, trust, and revenge. For instance, Esha's need for revenge can hinder her progress and cannot correct the past/cannot bring back her parents. She debates over the value and need for it as well as the internal feeling of hatred that penalizes mostly herself.

I also really loved the twist at the end that I did not see coming. I love being surprised, and this definitely surprised me. There are many political games being played, and it seems as though the bigger games are just beginning. It is going to be difficult to wait for the final installment in this trilogy.

Final verdict: Atmospheric and unique, THE ARCHER AT DAWN is full of magic, action, and truly unique characters. This sequel really builds on the first book to create an engaging and captivating story that is well written in its own right.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Gilded Wolves (The Gilded Wolves, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
*AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER* From New York...
Among the Beasts and Briars
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ashley Poston, acclaimed author of Heart of Iron, returns...
Warriors of Wing and Flame (Sisters of Shadow and Light, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Warriors of Wing and Flame, the spellbinding sequel...
Corona Daze: Eva's time at home during Covid-19
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"Angel's artwork is an inspirational blend of photographic images and...
Fae's Prisoner (Crimes of the Fae)
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Griffin O’Shea is a traitor. It’s what those outside...
The Mirror: Broken Wish (The Mirror, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Elva has a secret. She has visions and...
Swamp Thing: Twin Branches
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
#1 New York Times bestselling author Maggie Stiefvater (the...
Launch (Rise of the Anointed #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the biblical stories, Samson had great strength. The prophet...
How to Catch a Yeti
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the New York Times and USA Today bestselling team...
Along Came a Fox
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect story to encourage children to treat others as...
Rosa's Big Pizza Experiment (Rosa's Workshop)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Follow Rosa and her friends as they prepare pizzas! Each...
The Other Side of Midnight
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The sense of foreboding came out of nowhere. It was...
Light of Orion-Guardians of Orion Book 2
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Evil is gathering strength. When she learns the truth, it...
Mark of Orion-Guardians of Orion Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you like sinister demons, warrior angels, supernatural powers, ancient...
The Silvered Serpents (The Gilded Wolves, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Returning to the dark and glamorous 19th century world of...
Trouble Girls
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A queer YA reimagining of Thelma & Louise with the...

Latest Member Reviews

Swamp Thing: Twin Branches
 
4.3
"SWAMP THING: TWIN BRANCHES is a graphic novel about finding yourself, remembering history, and forging your own path forward. Alec..."
The Mirror: Broken Wish (The Mirror, #1)
 
5.0
"BROKEN WISH is a beautifully composed fairytale. The book begins with the story of Mathilda and Agnes, neighbors who have..."
The Gilded Wolves (The Gilded Wolves, #1)
 
5.0
"THE GILDED WOLVES is a fantastic YA fantasy. Although given a year in the 1800s and a historical setting, the..."
The Silvered Serpents (The Gilded Wolves, #2)
 
4.3
"That ending!!! THE SILVERED SERPENTS is an engaging YA historical fantasy that picks up after the first book ended, and..."
Among the Beasts and Briars
 
4.7
"Ashley Poston has crafted a new fairy tale for the ages! Among the Beasts and Briars may very well be..."
Warriors of Wing and Flame (Sisters of Shadow and Light, #2)
 
4.0
"WARRIORS OF WING AND FLAME is an intriguing conclusion to a YA fantasy duology about sisterhood. This book picks up..."
Sisters of Shadow and Light (Sisters of Shadow and Light, #1)
 
3.7
"SISTERS OF SHADOW AND LIGHT is an intriguing YA fantasy that focuses on the love between sisters. Zuhra has lived..."
Foreshadow: Stories to Celebrate the Magic of Reading and Writing YA
 
5.0
"FORESHADOW is a fantastic collection of short stories with a focus on discussion and writing. Each story is undeniably well-composed..."
A Cloud of Outrageous Blue
 
4.3
"A CLOUD OF OUTRAGEOUS BLUE is a historical fiction read that takes the reader to 1348-1349. Edyth grew up with..."
Slingshot
 
4.7
"SLINGSHOT by Mercedes Helnwein is a firecracker of a debut. This YA contemporary is set inside a shoddy boarding school..."
Raybearer (Raybearer, #1)
 
5.0
"RAYBEARER is a lush and imaginative YA fantasy that had me captivated from the start. The book follows Tarisai, who..."
A Golden Fury
 
4.0
"When I started A Golden Fury by Samantha Cohoe, I’m not sure what I was expecting. A historical fantasy? A..."