The State of Us

The State of Us
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
June 02, 2020
ISBN
978-0062950314
Buy This Book
      
"Dre and Dean have got my vote!"—Adib Khorram, award-winning author of Darius the Great Is Not Okay

When Dean Arnault’s mother decided to run for president, it wasn’t a surprise to anyone, least of all her son. But still that doesn’t mean Dean wants to be part of the public spectacle that is the race for the White House—at least not until he meets Dre.

The only problem is that Dre Rosario's on the opposition; he’s the son of the Democratic nominee. But as Dean and Dre’s meet-ups on the campaign trail become less left to chance, their friendship quickly becomes a romantic connection unlike any either of the boys have ever known.

If it wasn’t hard enough falling in love across the aisle, the political scheming of a shady third-party candidate could cause Dean and Dre’s world to explode around them.

It’s a new modern-day, star-crossed romance about what it really means to love your country—and yourself—from the acclaimed author of We Are the Ants and Brave Face, Shaun David Hutchinson.

Editor review

1 review
beautiful and highly devourable YA contemporary romance
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot
 
5.0
Characters
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
THE STATE OF US is a really fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows the children of two political rivals. Dean's mother is running for POTUS as a Republican, and he has spent his life in the political spotlight, as she was first a war hero and then governor of Florida. She is running against Andre's (Dre) father, who is the Democratic candidate. Dre was only recently thrust into the political spotlight, as his father was not previously a politician, and even scoring the party's nomination had seemed unlikely.

Dre is out and vocal about his political opinions. Dean is not and keeps most of his personal opinions separate from his public life. When an incident leaves them alone in a room together, they begin to connect over their shared experience of being the child of a candidate. They begin to message each other following that, and they find that their friendship could blossom into something even better- if politics don't get in the way.

What I loved: Dean and Dre are highly likable characters who seemed fully developed. It was easy to fall in love with them and cheer for their relationship. The romance is slow-building but really strong, and they developed a great relationship throughout the story. The star-crossed nature of the romance only added to the appeal. Their banter and chemistry leaps off the pages.

The political discussions are inevitable in the book, and it was interesting to see so many sides- Democrat, Republican, and those in between on a diversity of issues. There are some valid points about disagreeing with someone you love and yet still caring for them anyway (parent-wise), as well as a lot of discussions about LGBTQ+ rights that were woven into the story well. The ultimate relationships with parents are loving and that was also really lovely to see (at least for the main characters - there's some mentions of 'conversion therapy' threats for a secondary character). The book also takes care to explain some concepts (aro/ace, drag) that readers may or may not be familiar with, and these were really well and carefully done.

Final verdict: Highly engaging and thought-provoking, THE STATE OF US is a star-crossed YA contemporary romance that is completely devourable. Highly recommend for fans of RED, WHITE, AND ROYAL BLUE, ONLY MOSTLY DEVASTATED, and WE CONTAIN MULTITUDES.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account