Nightshade (Alex Rider #12)

Nightshade (Alex Rider #12)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
April 07, 2020
ISBN
978-0593115312
Buy This Book
      
Following the shocking events of Never Say Die, Alex Rider's world has changed: his biggest enemy, the evil organization Scorpia, has been destroyed. Alex is hoping his life can finally go back to normal, that he can go to school and spend time with his friends--but very quickly everything changes. A new and dangerous criminal organization--Nightshade--is rising.

When Alex discovers they've planned a mysterious attack on London, he will stop at nothing to take them down. But protecting his home city means facing off a ruthless new enemy and putting his life at stake, again. And this time, there's no one to save him if he makes a mistake.

The #1 New York Times and internationally bestselling Alex Rider series is back with a vengeance in this edge-of-your-seat adventure. Perfect for fans of James Bond and Jason Bourne!

Editor review

1 review
Each book is better than the last!
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot
 
5.0
Characters
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
Alex is settling back into school with his best friend Tom, trying to forget all of the missions he's been on in the last year and a half since his uncle died. Of course, Mrs. Jones needs him desperately. She makes the mistake of not telling him she is sending a car to pick him up and Alex's instinct to protect himself goes overboard in an effective but somewhat humorous way. Jack is not happy about Alex going back on a mission, especially when they find out what it is. There's been some criminal activity involving kids Alex's age, and in order to find out who is behind this, Alex is going to pretend to be Julius Grief and go to the super high security MI6 prison on Gibraltar. There, he will befriend Freddy Gray, who was stolen as a child, brainwashed, and turned into a ruthless, highly skilled killing machine. Alex has to study up on all of his doppelganger's activities and personal interactions with the other prisoners, as well as the way that Julius would have acted in all situations. With the help of a stuffed animal from Freddy's past, he manages to make a connection, and the two decide to escape. Alex manages to do this without killing all of the guards that Freddy wants to kill, and the two are soon back in Kavos Bay, Greece where 25 children like Freddy have all been carefully trained to be the operatives for Nightshade, a deadly organization with no mission of its own that works for hire for different nefarious groups. It takes a while, but Alex figures out the target of their Leap of Faith mission, and works to get himself involved so that he can stymie it. If he succeeds, will he be able to go back to being a typical teen, or will he put himself right in the center of Nightshade's target?
Good Points
The most brilliant part of the Alex Rider books is that they are written in a hard hitting, adult style that is incrementally tweaked to adjust to younger readers (for example, the print is still slightly larger than adult books). Horowitz is the master of writing the Reluctant Hero; we get tantalizingly small doses of Alex's ordinary life before he is taken off on yet another mission. Even though he is reluctant, he is fantastically good at his job, and wants to make things right in the world. The twists and turns of the adults' forays into counter espionage, as well as Mrs. Jones' backstory, add another interesting layer to this. Nightshade is a new organization for Alex to take down, and it seems like there will be another book to deal with them. As always, the details about jumping out of planes, evading security, and being on the run are well drawn and intriguing. It won't be long before MI6 finds that many of its recruits will cite Stormbreaker (2000) as their impetus for joining the secret service!

While this series is great for fourth grade and up, this book had a little more human-on-human violence than the others. Freddy is very vicious, so this starts out with more brutal killings than most books. This does, however, serve to highlight Alex's compassion and dislike for killing.

There are four series in my library that I make sure are being held together by whatever means necessary: Horowitz's Stormbreaker, Ally Carter's Gallagher Girls, John Flanagan's Ranger's Apprentice, and Shan's Cirque du Freak. I don't know that I could work in a library that didn't have the complete Stormbreaker series. Just couldn't. I have told my daughters that my personal copy of Secret Weapon must always stay with me; I'll need it to be handing it to people who visit me when I am very old and still thinking I am a school librarian!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account