Superman Smashes the Klan

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
539 0
Superman Smashes the Klan
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
May 12, 2020
ISBN
978-1779504210
Buy This Book
      

The year is 1946. Teenagers Roberta and Tommy Lee just moved with their parents from Chinatown to the center of Metropolis, home to the famous hero, Superman. Tommy makes friends quickly, while Roberta pines for home. Then one night, the family awakens to find their house surrounded by the Klan of the Fiery Kross! Superman leaps into action, but his exposure to a mysterious green rock has left him weak. Can Roberta and Tommy help him smash the Klan? Inspired by the 1940s Superman radio serial "Clan of the Fiery Cross," New York Times bestselling author Gene Luen Yang (American Born Chinese, Boxers and Saints, The Terrifics, New Super-Man) and artist Gurihiru (Avatar: The Last Airbender, The Unstoppable Wasp) bring us a personal retelling of two different immigrants finding ways to belong.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

great graphic novel about confronting racism
(Updated: May 07, 2020)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
SUPERMAN SMASHES THE KLAN is based off of an old radio broadcast from 1946, which featured Superman helping a family of Chinese Americans against the Clan of the Fiery Cross (a stand-in for the Ku Klux Klan). In this book, we follow the Lees, Chinese Americans who have moved from Chinatown to Metropolis after the father, Dr. Lee, has gotten a new job with the Metropolis Health Department. However, not everyone is glad that the family has moved in.

Roberta (Lan-shin) is a young girl who is not sure about this move. She always feels a bit awkward around others, and being new in town is tough. She and her brother find a group of children playing baseball and begin to make new friends. However, a lot of them say things that are really racist. Roberta really hates it, but her brother seems to be able to brush it off. One of the boys who said some really horrible things goes home to his uncle, who begins to induct him into the KKK, targeting the Lees, who he felt took his job at the Health Department and his nephew's place on the baseball team.

Superman and Inspector William Henderson, who also faces the hate from the KKK as he is black, are there to help. However, the Lees seem to have an unshakable target on their backs, and the KKK begins to really escalate their attacks.

At the same time, Superman is confronting his own feeling of being "other" due to his origins. The book includes flashbacks to his childhood and his rejection of his past to better fit in. As he speaks with Roberta and helps the Lees, he begins to accept his own origins and abilities.

What I loved: This is really a well fleshed out comic- we have backstory for Superman and a great main character in Lan-shin (Roberta). The racism here is pervasive and presented in a way that makes it clear how awful and threatening it is. Even the scenes where it seems less violent, such as the things the other children say to group all Chinese Americans into one group, come across as clearly wrong, and I really appreciated that these microaggressions are shown alongside the more violent racist events to give the full spectrum.

The illustrations here are really fantastic and suit the story perfectly, with the right amount of speech and narrative text to keep the comic on-track and easy to understand/follow. I also really enjoyed the glimpses into Superman's own past that really make this story three-dimensional, and I appreciated the focus on Roberta as a main character- through her eyes, we can see a lot.

The end of the book also contains some great explanations about the making of the story, historical context, and the author's own past that is really fascinating, and I am so glad it was added to the book. It really adds so much to the story and informs readers who may not be aware of the full context and it also brings up how far we still have to go when facing intolerance in the present day.

Final verdict: A thought-provoking and fantastically composed graphic novel, SUPERMAN SMASHES THE KLAN is a great look at racism and the need for social activism.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."
By the Book
 
5.0
"'By the Book' is a charming ode to both romance and literature. Mary Porter-Malcolm sees life as points..."