Forged in Fire and Stars

 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
385 0
Forged in Fire and Stars
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 05, 2020
ISBN
978-0525954125
Buy This Book
      
"Fans of Leigh Bardugo's Grishaverse will flock to this new series." --Booklist

Games of Thrones meets An Ember in the Ashes in this action-packed fantasy from the internationally bestselling author of the Nightshade series.

Ara has always known the legend of the Loresmith: the blacksmith who served alongside the kings and queens of Saetlund, forging legendary weapons to arm warriors and protect the kingdom. She's been told it's her fate to inherit the title and become the next Loresmith. But since the monarchy's downfall in a vicious conquest years before, Ara has never truly believed she would be able to take up her duty.

But when the lost Princess Nimhea and Prince Eamon steal Ara from her quiet life with a mission to retake the throne and return Ara to her place as the Loresmith--Ara's whole world turns upside down.

Suddenly, Ara must leave her small mountain village and embark on a dangerous adventure where she will uncover new truths about her family's legacy, and even face the gods themselves. With a mysterious thief as an unexpected companion, and dark forces following their every move, Ara must use all her skills to forge the right path forward--for herself, her kingdom, and her heart.

From internationally bestselling author Andrea Roberston comes a gorgeously written new fantasy series perfect for readers of Leigh Bardugo's Grishaverse or Sabaa Tahir's An Ember in the Ashes series.

Praise for Forged in Fire and Stars:

"An epic and classic fantasy." --School Library Journal

Editor reviews

1 reviews

enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
FORGED IN FIRE AND STARS is an engaging YA fantasy/adventure. The book begins in the past, when Saetlund was under siege by Vokkans. The Loresmith gives his life to save the royal twins and his own child who has not yet been born. We then travel to the future to meet Ara, his then unborn daughter. She is now a teenager, who has known that her legacy is that of the Loresmith. However, this legacy is typically passed down through teachings. As her father was unable to teach her, she does not possess the full powers of the Loresmith.

When she is captured by the royal twins who escaped, Nimhea and Eamon, she learns that she must petition the gods for their favor to become what she is destined to be. Together, they embark on a quest to find the gods and allow Ara to fulfill her destiny as the Loresmith, with the ultimate goal of taking back the kingdom.

What I loved: The world-building here is incredible. We get backstory on the legends, mythology, and the world as it is in the past and now. There are also some interesting discussions about religion, power/ethics, and governments that arise throughout. The characters are fully realized, and the core group that travels together are all incredibly three-dimensional and people that I really began to love during the novel. This story is beautifully woven throughout the book.

This first novel is really about the quest, and through it, the world around is completed. Their journey is not only action/adventure, but a lot of character-building and ethical discussions that make this a really engaging read.

Also, I would highly recommend going back to the start of the book once you get to the end, because it gives new meaning to some of those (I'm being vague to avoid spoilers). This was a book I wanted to go through again immediately after reading.

What left me wanting more: Although I really loved the book overall, as a small point, there are some places where the plot gets a little slow, and I would have liked a faster pace. These may be ironed out more in the final version of the book.

Final verdict: Enthralling, atmospheric, and beautifully woven, FORGED IN FIRE AND STARS is a YA fantasy that asks interesting questions and introduces great characters in a new series. Highly recommend for fans of Adrienne Young, Sabaa Tahir, and Claire Legrand.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Hello!Lucky, the creators of My Mom Is Magical! and...
Early One Morning
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join a little boy searching the farm for his breakfast...
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A little tree, guided by her family circle and forest...
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
One girl’s simple act of kindness causes ripples in her...
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this sequel to The Kinder Poison—which People magazine proclaimed...
The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...

Latest Member Reviews

The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
"THE CRUELEST MERCY is an intriguing second book in an enthralling YA fantasy series. After the rush and danger of..."
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
4.0
"What worked: This was a fun take on Crazy Rich Asians meets descendants of Empress Regent of China. Gemma..."
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
"THE BOX IN THE WOODS is a fantastic continuation of Stevie's story with a whole new cold case to solve...."
 
4.7
"Miles "Pudge" Halter seeks for a "Great Perhaps", and attends Culver Creek, a boarding school. Yet, he finds himself with..."
 
5.0
"To say that this book was one of my most anticipated releases for 2021 is an understatement. After the impact..."
 
5.0
"Oh my goodness what a way to end this series! I honestly took a little longer to finish this book..."
 
5.0
"I absolutely loved this sequel. The first one was such a good set up for this book. Nita is free..."
Not Even Bones
 
4.3
"So, this book was not what I was expecting it to be. First, it takes place in the real world...."
Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet
 
5.0
"What worked: I loved this engaging, heart-felt story with one strong Chicanx protagonist. Think I'M NOT YOUR PERFECT MEXICAN DAUGHTER..."
All our Hidden Gifts
 
4.3
"ALL OUR HIDDEN GIFTS was a riveting and darkly captivating YA fantasy/thriller/horror read. Maeve is a teen girl and not..."
The Lost Girls
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
The Outsiders
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."